We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AMAZING & SUPERB!!!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Alkionis

Villa Alkionis
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Alkionis
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Villa Alkionis
Dining area
The fully equipped spacious kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
Infinity swimming pool
Relaxing holidays
Lounging area
Share the magic...
Skala town and beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Skala, Cephalonia, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
333jude
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING & SUPERB!!!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

What a stunning villa this is! We booked it directly with Phillip, and he was brilliant from day one. He personally met us at the airport, guided us to his amazing villa, then showed us round everywhere. The place was spotless, and the towels and linen changed a lot more regularly than we've ever been used to! The large binoculars provided, were a Godsend, as we saw the dolphins and loggerhead turtles from the patio - and that made our holiday! Phillip's father was lovely, and cleaned the pool loads of times. He even brought his little dog Isla with him, and she's gorgeous! The outside area is enormous, and we spent nearly every evening using the barbecue and eating out there, watching the beautiful sunsets. Skala was a little too busy for our liking, but we can't recommend The Pines restaurant highly enough, and Solomos supermarket was superb. Poros was very pretty, and Sami harbour was beautiful. Argostoli was busy, but really enjoyable - even when we had the most amazing thunderstorm we'd ever seen! The beaches are all gorgeous, but our favourite was Kamenia - crystal clear water, which was very shallow for a good way out. About halfway between Mounda beach and Katelios. Fabulous butchers in Skala, that had the most delicious fillet steak for our barbi!!! We were so very sad to leave, but on our last morning, Phillip's father came again (with Isla), to give us a little gift from Phillip! Totally unexpected and very very thoughtful. What a lovely family and an absolutely stunning place. We'll definitely be back!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ita216
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing villa - relaxing holiday!”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely villa in a superb location just a few minutes from Skala. The booking process was simple and straightforward. Phillip answered questions promptly and his mother met us at the airport and escorted us to the villa. The villa was spotlessly clean and just delightful. Phillip and his father visited the next day to check all was ok and clean the pool. Philip also purchased some lovely fresh fish for us to BBQ. The facilities at the villa were superb and we were quite happy spending our days at the villa. Porus was the next village along and we loved the fact that this had less tourists than Skala it also had an excellent supermarket ( very friendly owners) and restaurant by the port. However we would also recommend the patisserie in Skala ( superb ice cream and baklava) and the Old Times restaurant! We would not hesitate to recommend this lovely villa if you want a relaxing holiday !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position of the villa and the general facilities and feeling of spaciousness!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavinia10...
Petrosani, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite location”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a perfect 10-day vacation at Villa Alkionis and appreciated the whole estate as well as the services provided. The astonishing scenery, the fragrant herbs nearby, the miraculous natural path that led to the sea, the waves reaching the shore, and even the rain, made our stay memorable. Not to mention the swimming pool, the outside amenities, and the little cat that added fun to our evenings by the pool.
More important, our perfect stay was possible owing to a perfect host: Philippos, whom we were delighted to meet and change a few ideas with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and villa designing
Liked least: Everything was perfect
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabulousd...
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Villa Alkionis is the most relaxing and beautiful accommodation I ever stayed at. We spend one week there and wish we could stay longer (read: forever). The villa is very comfortable and stylish but you want to be outside on the large and very private terrace, overlooking the Mediterranean sea, with only boats and dolphins passing by! Many nice seats, sunbeds, and even a huge hammock around the pool. You can stay in the shade or take in the sun, whatever you prefer. The swimming in the sea down the rocks is spectacular. Making day trips is also a great experience: Kefalonia is our favorite Greek island, so many stunning beaches, clear waters and beautiful villages. The owner Philip takes pride is his beautiful villa and makes sure your stay is comfortable. Very hospitable family. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and the stunning views
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter456
Partridge green
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Perfect place to escape from reality. A week of paradise. Only sacrifice to make for its perfect location is having to drive a couple of miles for an evening out! Not a problem for us!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCLAKL
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular in every Sense”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent 4 weeks at Villa Alkionis, with family and friends visiting throughout our stay. Everywhere we looked we saw the Ionian Sea. Totally unobstructed views! We treasured the privacy. No neighbors (but for a few goats who passed by on the hillside), no noise, no problems! The expansive outdoor space is unbelievable.....it truly left nothing to want. The movie and music collection was totally unexpected, with a wide range that served all interests, as well as a large flat screen tv. There are sliding doors throughout the villa with screens everywhere, providing breezes all day long. The photos and description Phillip, the owner, has written about the villa is true to form. No exaggerations. He and his family were most welcoming and took extreme care in the upkeep of the villa and infinity pool, which has a state of art purification system without chlorine. Nothing could have made our stay better. It was perfect for us. Thank you Phillip for making our family holiday so wonderful! Kristine L.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, wifi, outdoor space , pool
Liked least: We should have stayed another month
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare M
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I simply cannot fault this villa - everything about it is brilliant.

The villa itself is ideally situated between Skala and Poros, in its own secluded plot. It's very idyllic to say the least, with the only real noise coming from the main road above the villa, which is minimal.

When we arrived, we were greeted by Phillipos, and shown around the villa. He had kindly provided a welcome basket containing wine and some biscuits, and also stocked the fridge with some beer, juice and cold meats, which was very thoughtful.

All of the outside spaces are well maintained, and offer fantastic views across the sea. There are four main areas -a semi shaded garden area, where you can play boules, the main pool area, a dining area, and an entertainment area where you can play ping pong, darts and giant chess. All of these areas have sun loungers and/or seating so you can relax anywhere you wish.

The infinity swimming pool is slightly on the small side but still big enough for a family of 6 to play and relax in (we managed to fit in two lilos, an inflatable crocodile and a rubber ring into it with bit of space left over to swim).

Inside, the villa itself has been kitted out with almost everything you could possibly need during your stay - there's not many places that can offer this. The wifi was particularly useful!

Downstairs it's open plan with large sliding windows which again offer fantastic views of the sea. The dining and lounge areas are comfortably furnished and are perfect for unwinding at the end of the night.

Upstairs, there are three decent sized, simply furnished bedrooms, all with balconies overlooking the sea. The double bedroom with ensuite is a bit small, but still adequate, and the beds are all comfortable.

All in all this villa made for the perfect base for our holiday, and provided everything we needed during our two week stay.

We've had an absolutely fantastic time at the villa and we will definitely be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing