We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

In summary - good hotel, friendly reception, nice clean rooms, nice clean pool.
We stayed half board, buffet was nice, we did this as we like to eat out, and Greek food is such a treat.
Some nice touches, we arrived late, so they made sure we had dinner before checking in. On departure, they provided a room to shower and change in as we left late too.
Scala is a infrequent courtesy bus / taxi (6 euro) away, it is probably why you chose Kefalonia, a smallish town, with nice restaurants / bars, cute town square.
The hotel does not have a beach. So be prepared to travel, hire a car in advance they were tricky to get last minute, but you need to explore this lovely island anyway!
Hire a boat from Scala, great fun, and a different way to see the island, and dolphins in our case.

Negatives, not many really - there was a banging door on the (our) first floor, I suspect this was the staff but I should have complained really. Pool service for the free towels couldn't provide them first day "they're still at the laundry".

I dont regret staying at the hotel, it was really nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    276
    91
    39
    18
See reviews for
176
447
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

It is rather difficult to find 5 star hotels in Kefalonia and when you do, you should not be sure that they are 5 star or 4 star or 3 star!

We picked Apostolata resort for its proximity to Poros (port), since we only had two day for vacation.

I will be very specific for its pros and cons as to be useful to other readers who are looking a place to stay in Skala area.

PROS:

Amazing view to the Ionian sea.
Quiet hotel at night, which guarantee you a peaceful sleep.
Mainly all nationalities except for Greeks, which makes it more quiet.
Very big rooms with balconies all with views to the sea.
Very cheerful, kind and smiley people working for this hotel!
Huge and clean pool with amazing view!
Due to its location on a cliff and the steps all over, you thing you are on a picturesque village.
Very close to Skala, where to my opionion you can find one of the best beaches of Kefalonia.

Cons:

Wifi not working.
Quality of meals (breakfast and dinner) unacceptable for 5 star hotel. To be more specific. No fresh orange juice, only if you paid 2 euro extra. No espresso coffee, only with 3 euro extra. Not fresh bread.
As far as the dinner is concerned I would say that no Greek would eat that food!
It does not represent the wealth and the flavors of Greek cuisine. Good selection of Greek wines though.
Very ugly smell in the bathrooms of mold and drainage.
Tv (old style) not working also. No NOVA of course.
Empty mini fridge in the room.
The towels that we were given in the pool are changed every three days.....and I could keep on telling you more.

Overall this is a beautiful hotel that has not been renovated properly and since it only serves people out of Greece it has very low standards on the amenities offered. I am sorry to say that, but it is the solemn truth for a hotel that cost 200 euro per night!

You can stay in Costa Navarino for 260 euro. If you have visited the place you can understand what I mean.

Personally I had a great time, I am only speaking from the business point of view.

Many BRAVO to the staff of the hotel! I loved their smiles!

Overall a

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank M-ASIA-TRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel didn't disappoint with stunning ocean views, clean apartments and surroundings and a good variety of enjoyable food and drinks as part of the all inclusive package. It definitely isn't suitable for anyone who doesn't like steps... There are a lot of them but the brochure was very clear with their warnings regarding the resort not being suitable for people with mobility issues. The hotel is quite remote and Skala itself is quite a walk but only 6 euros in a cab and there are plenty of high quality restaurants at very reasonable prices. Porros is also worth a lunch visit.
I would strongly recommend boat trips around the island as kefalonia is very beautiful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DEBBIE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

I read the reviews of all the people prior to our stay, and I won't lie I began to worry I set my expectations very low, worried about the service we were going to receive as all inclusive guests and the place. When we got there it was amazing the first impression is dam good - we were the last off our coach and we went through many hotels comparing and judging others so we knew the variances of the hotel, and it's safe to say ours was the best. The service we recieved was fantastic, throughout, and that goes from the reception staff through to the bar girls and the animation team. Everyone was fantastic, everyone spoke English which I was surprised at. Granted the hotel is a fair walk from town - both skala and poros, but you have everything in the hotel, and the complimentary shuttle bus to both towns are fantastic. Believe it when they say there are a lot of steps! Two flights of steps from reception down to the restaurant, three more down to the pool, and two more down to sea, with rooms scattered inbetween, I genuinely do not know what people were complaining about, it was fantastic, rooms cleaned daily, the rest of the hotel cleaned every morning. The spa facilities were incredible. The pool fantastic and it looks better than the photos. Plenty of choice for food and activities, throughout the day and the evening. The only thing we weren't happy with was Thomas cook, I promise you do not book excursions with them, we paid €45 each for a discover Kefalonia trip in which we had to pay for our own lunch and entry to the places we went, but a shuttle bus journey to skala shows we could of had it for 20-30€ kind of heartbreaking! Thomas cook was our only complaint. Our only regret was not visiting photos it looks beautiful!! You are in for a lovely holiday here! Enjoy! We will be returning!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cffd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great hotel, everything was perfect, clean, tidy, grounds well looked after. Views are to die for. A must is the gourmet restaurant on the upper level it was just beautiful.

Would def recommend , only thing missing was some Greek music and entertainment, however George (animation team) was entertaining just by himself.

Room Tip: All rooms were good but a sea view is a must, but you don't need to upgrade because nearly all h...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank FloBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is amazing.. The views, the food, & the staff were all just fantastic. I couldn't recommend it enough.
The walk into Skala takes around 50 minutes, it's 2.5 miles so can be a bit difficult in the heat but there's a frequent shuttle bus and taxis are only €6.
I can't recommend this hotel enough.. It's very special and we will definitely be returning..

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank AllyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We returned for our honeymoon at Mareblue as we were blown away by the whole experience last year. We were not dissapointed with any aspect of our stay. From arrival to departure we found all of the staff friendly helpful and attentative. The weather was overcast at times but gave us a break from the sun. We enjoy the terraced area down by the rocks where the sunbeds & umbrellas are as comfortable as the main pool area. Food from the pool area and the buffet restaurant was very good with ample choice each day. On our last night we dined in the a la carte restaurant with glorious views out to sea. The whole Sea Bass was superb and the extra touches of welcome drink, bottled mineral water & local liquer were much appreciated. We have been fortunate to have room 520 which is in the hotel and has views of 180 degrees looking down to Scala & across to the sea & beyond. Please see balcony photos. Coutesy bus provides good service into Scala for shopping or visiting local bars. Will go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IsabelDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
21.7 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
14.0 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
27.9 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apostolata Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostolata Island Resort & Spa

Property: Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Address: Porou Skalas | Kafalonica, Skala 280 86, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Skala
#11 Family Hotel in Skala
#14 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Apostolata Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrender to comfort at the Apostolata Island Resort & Spa. Beautifully situated on a hillside slopping gently to the sea allowing dazzling Mediterranean views. Enjoy pampering spa treatments, sailing, swimming, followed by delicious meals. Visit the village of Scala, famous for its Roman Villa or explore the village of Poros all within easy reach of our Kefalonia hotel. Discover the personal service and amenities of this hidden gem, a perfect retreat for a relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apostolata Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Apostolata Hotel Skala
Mareblue Apostolata Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing