We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful stunning hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful stunning hotel”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Have just returned from a 7 night holiday at this hotel and had a fabulous time, with stunning views, the staff really helpful and friendly. We stayed in one of the suite rooms with Jacuzzi which was Fab. The only thing I would say is that there are a lot of steps around the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room as the views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    310
    99
    39
    18
See reviews for
187
488
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you want to totally relax and unwind spend some time at the Mareblue Apostolata Resort & Spa, providing you are able to cope with lots of steps! It is modern and impressive, a little shabby perhaps, which is more than offset by the friendly staff.
The hotel is built into the hillside which means there are stunning views from virtually every room. You can watch yachts, fishing boats and ferries crossing the bay from the dining room terrace and the lovely bar outside reception, with the Greek mainland was sometimes visible on the skyline.
Our first day was cold and we focused on the little negative things such as thin towels, bedding that was too small for the beds, not all areas spotless…. Then the sun came out and we decided this was actually the best all-inclusive hotel we have stayed in on any Greek island.


The positive aspects:
A lovely large room with a huge balcony and two showers
Excellent food with lots of choice
Very good wine from a bottle, not on tap!
Bottled water available and no restriction
Very friendly and helpful staff
Beautiful setting
Two stunning pools
Free Wi-Fi

The negative aspects:
Spirits and liqueurs available on all-inclusive were local and of very poor quality
Coffee and hot water at breakfast was rarely hot
Not always clear what you were entitled to on all-inclusive
Table tennis table positioned in the middle of sunbeds and too near the pool
20 euros fee for using the room safe quite steep

This is a beautiful hotel that we would highly recommend. A car is essential to explore the island and at this time of year the roads were very quiet. There is free parking at the hotel. Otherwise you can walk into Skala along the main road, although this is not a particularly pleasant walk. In fact Kefalonia is not the island for serious walkers, but if you just want to relax and work off the lovely food going up and down the steps, book in at the Apostolata Resort & Spa and enjoy!

Tips:
Ask for the wine list if on all-inclusive, it is not always offered
Email your preferences for the type of room you would like

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gelly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The location of this hotel is away from the resort of Skala, although they do run a mini bus service up until 5.30pm so if you want to eat out in the evening you need a hire car or a taxi. We hired a jeep for 3 days to explore the island, which was fantastic. The pool is gorgeous and the area around it nice. The weather turned towards the end of our stay and there really isn't much to do at the hotel in bad weather. We went half board and so the food was pretty good as we didn't eat there all the time. We exchanged an evening meal for a lunch once or twice and to be honest the lunchtime food was pretty basic. Breakfasts were good though and so were the salads! Our room was VERY basic but clean and tidy. We were ground floor so had no balcony, which was a shame. The TV in our room didn't work but we weren't there to watch tv! There are ALOT of steps all around this hotel but during the day they can ferry you around by golf buggy if you need it. Had to pay for a safe deposit box, which I don't like and drinks were VERY expensive at the hotel. All Inclusive does not mean you get every drink free and the local wine is not much to shout about, I recommend the rosé. The evening entertainment was a little lacking for our taste but I think it went down well with the 'older generation'. I am in my forties! Kefalonia is such a beautiful island, my best tip is to get out and explore.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room facing out to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 625flarebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at the Apostolata Resort & Spa in May - overall, we had a lovely time. The hotel staff were all very friendly and made us feel welcome. The holiday had been booked by friends so until we arrived, we had no idea what to expect. On arrival, we were very pleasantly surprised by the wonderful Reception, the welcome and our spacious room which overlooked the pool.

The room was comfortable with a little terrace so that we could sit outside which was a plus! We stayed on a half board basis which was probably not ideal for us as we rarely eat breakfast, although we did manage a few evening meals. The only disappointment for us with the food was that there was only one night of the week when there was traditional Greek food and we missed it as we ate in the A La Carte Restaurant that evening! We could not fault the A La Carte Restaurant though, as the food was absolutely wonderful and the service was excellent.

The downside to the Apostolata is its location - there is really no beach as such (it is rocky) so it is much better in Scala if you like the beach! There is a bus operated by the hotel free of charge, but the service stops early evening, so although we managed to get the bus into Scala a few times, we generally had to get a taxi back and when we wanted to venture further away from the resort, again, we had to get a taxi both ways.

The entertainment was good a couple of the evenings we were there, but we found the prices of the drinks very expensive compared to bars and restaurants in Scala and elsewhere.

All in all though, we had a very good holiday!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valandkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have just had a ten day holiday at this hotel that was thouroughly enjoyable. The staff were very helpful and friendly especially Joanna the cheeky one. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious with a gorgeous sea view, they are also very well maintained by the daily cleaning staff.The food was excellant and catered for all tastes, we chose all inclusive which was well worth the money.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems it would be advisable to ask for a room in the main building of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotelrooms with daily fresh towels (if needed). Beautifull views. You can see the sunrise if you have a room with see view.Nice pool with good sunbeds and large umbrellas. The staff is truly fantastic, we had some medical problems throughout the holiday and they were very helpful. The breakfast was very good but no fresh orange juice, if you want you have to pay 2 euros a glass.
A few minor things the hotel can improve in is the wifi and dinner. The wifi was awfull, it was hard to get a connection. Seems the server is to small for the amount of guests as i couldnt get an ip adress most of the time.
The dinner in my opinion could have been a lot better. The salad bars are fantastic though. And the drink prices at dinner are way to high. The cheapest bottle rose is 14 euros (0.7l) and wasnt very good. Glass of wine is 5 euros. A litre wine in skala restaurants was 6 or 7 euros and very tastefull!
Conclusion : Great hotel to chill at poolside, nice hotelrooms, good breakfast. For dinner go to skala town a few nights to enjoy good food instead of the hotel food.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a very nice week at this hotel, room was very spacious clean with a lovely sea view.
The nearest town Scala is about 7K we walked it one day took about 1 hour easy walking, there is a free bus from Hotel we took it back, I don't think I would tackle the trek back to the Hotel ( a few steep hills )
The food was mostly good but could have been a bit hotter, my wife is vegetarian she found it a challenge some times but was helped by the chef, staff were always helpful and friendly.
I don't think we will return to this Hotel it's just a little out of the way for us, but if you want to stay put or hire a car it may be just the place for you.
I must just ad a mention for George he is a great asset to the Hotel nothing is too much trouble for George, Thank You George.

Room Tip: try for a room close to restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobwhiters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
21.7 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
805 reviews
17.8 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
271 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
27.9 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apostolata Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostolata Island Resort & Spa

Property: Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Address: Porou Skalas | Kafalonica, Skala 280 86, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Skala
#11 Family Hotel in Skala
#14 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Apostolata Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrender to comfort at the Apostolata Island Resort & Spa. Beautifully situated on a hillside slopping gently to the sea allowing dazzling Mediterranean views. Enjoy pampering spa treatments, sailing, swimming, followed by delicious meals. Visit the village of Scala, famous for its Roman Villa or explore the village of Poros all within easy reach of our Kefalonia hotel. Discover the personal service and amenities of this hidden gem, a perfect retreat for a relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apostolata Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Apostolata Resort And Spa
Mareblue Apostolata Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing