We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantatic hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wow, wow, wow, fantastic hotel, even more fantastic staff. (special thankyou to Christina in the bar, who always had a smile and a warm welcome) having said that all the staff from reception at booking in, bar staff, restauarant staff, were all fantastic. The hotel is definatley worth the star rating that it has, its clean and efficient, the Al a Carte restaurant is a must, beautifull meal and service. Only one very small thing that I felt that could be improved and that was the air conditioning,towards the end of our week (back 27th May) it had got quite hot, and the air con did not seem adequate, but this is the only thing that I was not 100% happy with, everything else including the food (which I know some people were not happy with) was fantastic, and we would most certainly return to the hotel and Skala.

Room Tip: high floor near to reception, a doddle to go to the pool, not so good coming back though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradleybirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 891 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Apostalata 5* resort and I can honestly say we were thrilled that we booked this hotel. The staff are all so friendly and polite, the hotel is immaculate and very well run. We booked half board however decided to upgrade to all inclusive once we had spent our first day as we were so pleased with what was available. The restaurant and food was fantastic always something different to choose, unless your so fussy that you go abroad just to eat 'English' food! The free Al a carte dinner was amazing the best I've experienced and we have booked many all inclusive hotels throughout Greece, Turkey and Spain! The view from our room was fantastic, whilst the hotel is set upon a slight hill and there are lots of slops and steps to tackle to get to the pool area and beach, it is well worth it as the view is to die for. The entertainment is not something we would choose as part of our holiday but I must say it was classy and entertaining not a karaoke in sight!! We will definitely recommend this place to family and friends and be back next year!

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a room near the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NICOLA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Just been reading some previous reviews during the same time that we stayed here and I am wondering if these people were at the same hotel where we stayed.
From the time we set foot in this hotel the staff were brilliant, 1000% helpful all of them and always so happy and clearly worked together as a team.
The food was really very good indeed, lots of variety, always hot and the salads were so fresh. The restaurant area was super clean and the waiter staff worked hard, although they could of been a little more cheerful, but that's my only complaint.
The bar staff were great, again very happy and always did their best to ensure we were served quickly and if things were busy they would bring our drinks over to us and serve us at our table. The entertainment was also very good, something different each evening, not to everyone's taste but then you can't please everybody (at least there was no bingo!)
The hotel itself was really lovely and set in some very well kept gardens, it is very hilly though and there are lots of steps but there is always a member of staff passing to give you a lift in the golf buggy. The hotel is kept to a very good standard and is genuinely attractive and always very clean. The pool area is lovely, the pool is well maintained and the pool bar and restaurant well stocked with snacks and drinks, never had a problem getting a sun bed or a seat. Again the staff here are happy and work very hard to please you.
I have saved the best person to last, George, the entertainments guy is a very special guy, always happy and helpful and can't do enough for you he is a credit to the team - thanks to him he made our holiday special.
It is advisable to hire a car to get about the lsland it's such a pretty place to visit - not much in skarla to be honest but it's worth a visit if just for a cocktail on the beach.
I will defiantly be returning to this hotel next year and I think beyond because I loved it - keep up the brilliant work guys and George we love you. X

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed in May 2014 and had a lovely time. We were lucky to see Dolphins from our sea view room (sea view room is a must) very modern spacious room, food could not fault, entertainment was every night mainly live music, bar manager at reception makes the best mojito! Staff really friendly and helpful. We were half board so didn't get use of all facilities and no soft drinks or water included at dinner but available at breakfast. Rented a Car from express in skala very reasonable and staff gave some great recommendations for our trips. Would love to visit again! Thankyou for a beautiful holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Just returned from a seven day break... following a leisurely coach transfer by coach from the tiny airport we stayed at this gem. It was a Thomas Cook all-inclusive deal. The hotel is set dramatically on the side of a valley leading to the sea a couple of hundred metres away. My wife has mobility problems, but staff were always on hand with a fleet of golf buggies to ferry us throughout the resort. Food was excellent and inclusive booze was local. Service really could not have been faulted.
We hired a car (delivered to the hotel) and made several trips to Skala and the surrounding area - v. pretty.

We have fond memories of our dramatic view over the Ionian Sea towards neighbouring Zakinthos.

Room Tip: Sea view essential !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

stayed for a week half board in may 2014
i havent been to greece before so it was hard to compare to other hotels, but i have to stay i was very impressed, the staff were so friendly and helpful, we stayed in a superior room over looking the sea because we rung before to upgrade free of charge, great room , only two minor annoyances, one being pipes tapping throughougt the night in the walls, not too loud to wake me but slightly weird whilst drifting off to sleep, and the other being one of two showers was in the toilet cubicle, so when me and my partner showered whoever got the shower with the toilet in found the cubical filled up very quickly with water and steam, and it was a little off putting as the toilet took hours to dry afterwards and the floor was wet , but apart from that the room was brilliant, nice t.v , the bed was to singles pushed together as i heard was custom so we didnt mind too much except we did fall down the middle a couple of times, bowl of fruit on arrival and bottle of water in fridge, we didnt eat the fruit but it wasnt replaced througout the whole trip nor the towels in the bathroom, we didnt phone reception and ask as we hardly used them, but i did hear that if you leave a tip for the cleaner they would replace them? but this might just be hearsay. the two pools were amazing, one was so big but it sometimes was hard to find a sunbed that wasnt taken up by sunbathers, so its a good idea to get there early in the morning and leave a pool towel on one to reserve it as many others did. the sea was a 5 minute walk downwards, its a little steep but you can ask reception to get a buggy driver to drive you down, there is no sand just rocks, sunbeds and a patio area, the last day we left they did install steps going into the sea , which was great for snorkelling and swimming !!! the nearest beach is a village called Skala , 5 minutes drive away and with the free complimentary shuttle bus running every hour or so it was easy to jump on and go for lunch etc. if you are not too fussy about what you eat then you will love breakfast and dinner (not sure about lunch as we were half board) the buffet has a wide selection of all sorts of foods which changes dailey, so we were satisfied and we never went hungry. the drinks were a little pricey, so its easier to go into town were they were half the price. other guests at the hotel included quite a few older people, so the entertainment at night was a little dated with the music, so we didnt stay in much to watch it. very clean facilities, great tennis courts, didnt try the gym or spa facilities due to lack of time and money but would definately go back to try it!! over all great hotel, great location, money well spent, note: do NOT hire out bycycles from sunbird rental company in Skala as they were rusty and broken and we could barely cycle anywhere, but we did hire out a jeep (cant remember which company but we did see a lot of 'express' hire which seemed reasonable, if you ask at reception where to hire a local suzuki jeep in skala or do an internet search you will find a good deal, book online as you can save up to 50%, it cost us 100 euro's for two days + petrol 35 euro's) to travel all the way to the other side of the island (3 hours driving slowly stopping off here and there) had to be over 23 , loved the driving experience , bit scary on the mountains but as long as you take your time and respect other road users you will have no problems, you get given a map but its hard to get lost as there are only a few main roads and they are well signposted! we also hired out a boat from 'dophin ski club' in skala, also cost around 140 euro's including petrol , high light of our trip, had it from 10-4, found some beautiful bay's to stop off and swim in clear blue waters, easy to drive , felt safe and very happy with the boat hire, well recommended! overall so happy to have experienced our trip to Kefolonia, and the hotel was everything we could have asked for :)

Room Tip: ask for a superior sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Collins16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one week from May 10th. Check in very good, we were in room 522 overlooking 2 small pools and a great view towards Skala. Sea view rooms seem to be good value, otherwise it's a car park view. The rooms are at varying distances from the reception, the restaurant is 2 floors below reception, accessible by lifts and the hotel buggy which is very handy. You need to really research the hotel if you have any mobility problems, with regard to your room choice. The reception staff were very good and the main bar which is in the reception area also provided a good service thanks to the 2 waitresses, they will need extra bar staff to cope as more people arrive. We were A/I beer was ok but the spirits were local and seemed to be different brands each time you ordered, same with mixers, not very good, There did not appear to be any upgrade available for the drinks, local beer was 4 euros and named spirits varied between 4 & 6 euros if you were not A/I, thought this was expensive. Pool area was very clean, good service from pool bar , ignore the signs for the beach, there isn't one, only a rocky area to gain access to the sea, not for the faint hearted. What will spoil this hotel is the restaurant, the salads and sweets were very good, but the cooked meals were awful, we have never left as much food anywhere, everything was cold and undercooked. Show cooking consisted of small cuts of either pork, chicken or turkey thrown on a hot griddle and then placed into the trays on top of previous cooked pieces, we did get roast beef once and also a roast pork another night. Breakfast was worse, not enough staff, tables inside not cleared, language problems, asked for hot water but got coffee. We waited one morning for the waiter to replace the bacon tray and then found it to be stone cold, survived on toast and cereal. I understand that it is early in the season but everything should be up and running, we had walls and staircases being painted, simply not good enough!

Room Tip: Do your research,sea view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
16.2 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
21.7 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
0.6 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#3 of 6 in Agia Efimia
305 reviews
27.9 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
520 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apostolata Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostolata Island Resort & Spa

Address: Porou Skalas | Kafalonica, Skala 280 86, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Skala
#11 Family Hotel in Skala
#14 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range: $76 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apostolata Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrender to comfort at the Apostolata Island Resort & Spa. Beautifully situated on a hillside slopping gently to the sea allowing dazzling Mediterranean views. Enjoy pampering spa treatments, sailing, swimming, followed by delicious meals. Visit the village of Scala, famous for its Roman Villa or explore the village of Poros all within easy reach of our Kefalonia hotel. Discover the personal service and amenities of this hidden gem, a perfect retreat for a relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apostolata Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Apostolata Resort And Spa
Mareblue Apostolata Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing