We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mareblue Apostolata Resort And Spa Hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apostolata Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
W Lancs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mareblue Apostolata Resort And Spa Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

10p holds it at two star according to the “Hotel Stars Union” a European umbrella body.
I have considered this review for a couple of weeks. The hotel welcomes you with a spectacular lobby and very friendly staff, true there was a whiff of sewage in the air the evening we arrived but it soon cleared with an offshore wind.
The first thing to strike you in the lobby is a friendly and helpful staff and the inset glass panels in the floor through which you could see the gymnasium spa swimming pool – two way glass though - as a member of the party said you must consider your underwear if you come to the bar in a skirt.
The rooms are large, luxurious and well air conditioned, true as usual you must check the patio door is shut if you turn the a/c on but there were several bottles of water and ample tea, coffee and milk etc for “in room drinks”.
The hotel is built on a hillside, in Greek terms a gentle slope but a pathway connects the front door of the lobby to the dining room ground level entrance whilst at the back of the lobby is a lift taking you down two floors to the same dining room.
As we had arrived in the evening after a quick shower we headed for the buffet dining room (All Inclusive) where there was a good choice of well prepared delicious food though unusually waiter served wine and after a meal repaired to the comfortable bar.
The hotel is luxuriously styled and exquisitely clean with extremely helpful staff but lacks the extra for more stars. Ask the staff and most things are available but don’t look for a sewing kit – the 10p holdup - or spare blanket or pillow in the room, you have to get them from reception which can be difficult if you wake up cold at 2am.
Accessibility is a problem. Within the hotel the connecting paths are very typically Greek, steep and crumbling (slightly) concrete, single steps abound, between our room and the dining room were seven and if you leave the hotel it is on top of a headland and 4 kilometres from Skala. The hotel operates a courtesy bus to Skala which stops at 5.30 pm so if you fancy a meal at a Taverna you will need a reception to get you a taxi or walk. The next town in the other direction is 7 kilometres away and again when we visited we had to phone for a taxi to get back. The site is remote and in Septembet there are few taxis around.
Not suitable for the older traveller.

Room Tip: Virtually all are Sea View for garden view read car park view and avoid rooms below the swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Easyroller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    276
    91
    39
    18
See reviews for
175
448
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was my boyfriend and I's first experience of Greece and we were very impressed. The scenery in Kefalonia was stunning, as were the views from our room. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

The food was delicious with a large choice of fresh salads and soups which changed every day as well as main meals. For breakfast there was everything you could want. My only complaint is that it was impossible to try everything!!

If you are considering this resort i would recommend hiring a car as it is very out the way and you would have to walk 2-3 miles before you come across a shop or bar. However the free shuttle into Skala was very convinient and we used it a great deal.

The room was fine, nothing spectacular but the pool and views were lovely so what more could you ask for??

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieCud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed 7 days as part of a reasonably priced package.
The Hotel is in an attractive location with easy bus access to Skala and Poros.
All facilities are of a high standard and the service given by a highly competent and friendly staff is superb.
Food is mass catering of a so-so standard, but the a la carte restaurant is real treat.
We would go again to this hotel and would recommend it.
We were allocated to Room 201 which is spacious,very convenient and has a fine sea view, Unfortunately there is a noisy air exhaust duct on the roof above this room which seemed to be running for 24 hours per day.
This was a real nuisance

Room Tip: Avoid Room 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nudgermanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was my first experiance of an all inclusive holiday. I stayed here with my husband and two friends in sept 2012. I was entranced by the position of the hotel, the setting is beautiful set on a hillside looking over the beautiful Ionion sea, our room was modern and comfotable. I was suprised by the poor quality of the food, this, we were told was one of the best three hotels in Greece! The staff were lovely except one barmaid! all of the restaurants were good, but the food unfortunately was international cuisine, which was a disapointment in greece, not something i would wish to experiance again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annenkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Overall a very nice stay and food good for all inclusive
The staff were very helpful and cheerful
Fantastic pool
A little out of the way so would recommend car hire to really appreciate the island
Special thanks to the lovely lady at pool bar; fantastic iced coffees and Georg for his unique service
I still wonder in this day and age why there is no efficient waste disposal system in a holiday island....I hate paper disposal into bins
I also feel that an extra charge of 3 euros for fresh orange at breakfast is blatant opportunism as is a 3 euro charge for key to safety deposit box in room
Management may well wish to reflect on these charges as the overall cost of staying all inclusive here is not cheap

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nimrod101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skala, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This holiday was great. food very good, Staff Lovely and always helpful. Our Apartment was great we even had a pink Jacuzzi,two balcony's, very large bed and very nice sea views. Kethalonia is lovely, miss it all ready, The longest swimming pool you have seen. spoiled for choice of food in Dinning room and great views from the whole site.hotel bus to towns driven by a very happy Driver

Room Tip: Look in the brochure
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MirlinMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a little gem of a hotel. Nice and cheap, excellent views, absolutely 4 stars and a great little island around it.

The rooms are the best part, with stunning views over the sea. Great staff and plenty around the hotel to do for all age groups. We had an amazing week.

Notable is a little resort of Skala itself, which is possibly the best on the island for food and drink. So many great little tavernas hidden away in the streets.

We miss this holiday after our recent ones. This hotel retains it's Greek character while we feel a lot of hotels in the Ionian islands tend to try and change their identity to suit a certain nationality of guest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kye e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
21.7 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
16.1 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
0.1 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#10 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
27.9 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 8 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apostolata Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostolata Island Resort & Spa

Property: Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Address: Porou Skalas | Kafalonica, Skala 280 86, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Skala
#11 Family Hotel in Skala
#14 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Apostolata Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrender to comfort at the Apostolata Island Resort & Spa. Beautifully situated on a hillside slopping gently to the sea allowing dazzling Mediterranean views. Enjoy pampering spa treatments, sailing, swimming, followed by delicious meals. Visit the village of Scala, famous for its Roman Villa or explore the village of Poros all within easy reach of our Kefalonia hotel. Discover the personal service and amenities of this hidden gem, a perfect retreat for a relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Apostolata Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Apostolata Hotel Skala
Mareblue Apostolata Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing