We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location ++++++”
Review of Panorama Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Skala B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location ++++++”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great hotel and in a great location! Dino and Margarita are so hospitable. Rooms were a good size and were kept very clean. The view over from the balcony looked the lovely square and you could see the beach as well. I will defintely be coming back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 it had two balconies and really good size! I think one of the biggest rooms. Rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irene118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you’re after a well-run, clean and brilliantly located base in the heart of Skala, then Panorama is perfect. The quality of the accommodation is great value for the money and, frankly, I would be astounded if you could find any better anywhere in Greece for the price.

The room was large and simply decorated, with wardrobe, a double and single bed, fridge, a couple of chairs and a dressing table area. Air conditioning was extra but well worth it in mid-August at 49 euros for the week. The shower area was surprisingly large and the shower itself was excellent. Our first floor balcony was very spacious and, despite overlooking the main town “square” (a triangular area with a small fountain and a few benches) was a pleasant and relatively peaceful space; there was no noise from the hotel bar below and traffic was virtually non-existent. The view of the pine trees, beach and sea beyond was a lovely bonus. Whilst the furniture was a little tired, the bedding and towels were clean and the room itself was kept spotless throughout our stay.

Breakfast was another nice addition, again considering the price of the rooms – tea/coffee, juice and toast served in the surprisingly stylish bar area. A full English could be bought for 5 euros, but why go all the way to Greece for that? Later in the day the bar was a nice spot for a happy hour cocktail (6-9pm) or a nightcap to round off the evening, with competitively priced drinks, snacks and desserts.

By far and away the biggest plus point for this hotel was the location. With the beach across the road, main street around the corner and great sea views, we couldn’t fault the position. There was even a supermarket next to the bar within the same building complex.

Skala itself is a busy resort full of people looking for a quiet time; yes, there are lots of Brits (you can tell who they are as they line the beach, bars and tavernas silently engrossed in their ipads and tablets, ignoring each other) but we also found ourselves in the company of French, Italian and Dutch families and couples. In response to the demographic, the menus on offer at the restaurants are slightly more ambitious and cosmopolitan sounding than we’ve found in other Greek resorts. However, we found that anything we ordered that wasn’t a traditional Greek dish was a poor imitation and best avoided, particularly at the “Italian” Il Destino a few doors down from the hotel. Our favourite meal was at a small taverna off the main street, next to the church, called Ta Pitharia – lovely house wine and fantastic fresh sea food, with fish deboned at the table. Round the corner, Captain’s Bar has great, unique cocktails and a nice atmosphere; aside from that, everywhere else was pretty average.

All in all, Panorama was a great base in a perfect location, but Skala itself was a bit “blah” for our liking and, although not blighted by crazy nightlife, lacked the character of other resorts in Greece.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mango_Espadrille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I went to this hotel for two wks it was most basic room I have had in skala on arrival at hotel my room was full of flys on patio doors we had to kill them with a newspaper fridge didn't cool the water or drinks it leaked water all over the floor and breakfast is a joke tea/coffee and juice and two portions of toast I was sick of toast it gets to stage were you cant be bothered to go to breakfast no tea making facilities for a cup of tea and after two wks on leaving I stripped the bed to find the bed I had been lying on was very badly stained from wee and other things I wont mention it was discusting to see I wont go there again its a adults hotel so we wanted a quite base you have to pay for air con

Room Tip: go to a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skem
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Panorama, and I can't add any more to the comments about Dino and Margareta, they were fantastic. Once I got over the initial shock of how basic our room was and how uncomfortable the beds were, we never looked back. The shower was excellent, and the view from most of the balconies in the hotel overlooked the pretty main square which led down to the sea less than 100 meters away. The friendly service and location of this hotel guarantee the guests will come back year after year.
Skala resort itself is quite small, but there are more than enough bars and restaurants to keep you going for a fortnight, and I suggest that you should turn right out of the Panorama Hotel for the Akri Bar (funkiest bar in Skala with the best views and cool breeze.), El Greco and Aquarius restaurants.
I urge anyone travelling to Kefalonia to hire a car for a few days and see as much of the island as possible, because it offers some of the most spectacular sights such as Myrtos Beach, Antisammos beach, Mellasina Lake, Assos, Fiskado and Agis Familia. There are many other sights to see, but we ran out of time! We will definitely go back to the Panorama in future to catch up on what we missed, but we will ask for one of the rooms with 2 balconies.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with 2 balconies to get a bit more room and a good breeze flowing through when the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkemBlueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. We spend very little time in our rooms just somewhere to sleep and get clean after a day on the beach. Dino and Margareta are great hosts and ready for a chat. We had some in depth discussions with Dino about a variety of subjects he is a very interesting guy. We recomend his wife's cakes. Great location close to the beach and at the bottom of the main drag.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjonec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed here the 18th-25th june 2013. i had a fantastic time. Dino is lovely always there for a chat or if you needed anything always happy to help. rooms are exactly what you want on a holiday you dont spend much time at the room only sleeping and maybe a few hours in the evening prefect for that. its really close to the beach and lots of restaurants you couldn't ask for anything more and very quiet relaxing place, would definitely come back next year. was by far one of the best holiday hotels i have ever stayed. Thanks Dino

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I wont go back due to the poor standard of the hotel room it was very basic and I didn't like the cleansiness around 100 baby flys in room when we arrived the bed was not made everyday and every 3 days for clean sheets and towels you have to pay for air conditioning and safe and breakfast was a joke toast with butter or jam tea or coffee and juice it was very poor for the price you pay its very noisy on a night from veta bar with the music

Room Tip: if you want a good room look some were eles
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skala hotels
88.8 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
46 reviews
86.4 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
88.4 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
87.0 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
86.6 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
233 reviews
88.8 mi away
Big Village Hotel
Big Village Hotel
#5 of 9 in Skala
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: Skala 180 10, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing