We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing home style cooking”
Review of Socrates Taverna

Socrates Taverna
Ranked #9 of 57 Restaurants in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved this restaurant, once we went there we didn't bother looking for any other places to try. Really welcoming and friendly staff, great wine and tasty home-style food. Definitely try the specials!

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank laurenlamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having been in scala for 10 days we visited various restaurants for meals comparing each one with the last we have been to Makis grill ,very good Apostolis not good , Manolis ok ,Old times which was number 1 on trip adviser was far the worst and not worth paying the taxi fare !! Then we went to Socrates and enjoyed the food so much we went on our last 3 days and enjoyed every meal we had there if we had come across it first I’m sure we would have eaten here every night !! Great food great staff nothing too much trouble thank you for making our holiday memorable!! Elaine David &David !!

Date of visit: June 2019
3  Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely food and friendly helpful staff highly recommend the lemon pie is to die for .prices are very fair and portions are quite generous

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank gailngaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Last time in Skala we would run past here during our morning run and intended to try but didn’t get around to it. This time we did and now we regret we did not go last time. The food was great, friendly service and nice surroundings. This was the only place we went twice in our weeks stay. Will certainly go again when next in Skala. Skala has many good restaurants, this one stands out which is not easy

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank debg951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2019

Sadly didnt find the Socrates Taverna until our second week in Skala;A beautiful family run Taverna with excellent freshly prepared tasty Greek food, a lovely atmosphere with a truly helpful and friendly team of Dimitris and Elaine keeping things on track . Loved the beef liver and onions and moussaka. look out for the daily specials and their awesome lemon pie. So sad we didnt find this until our second week as there was much on the menu we would have liked to try but ran out of days but so glad we found it, has to be the number 1 place to eat in Skala for us. Perfect and thank you x

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Socrates Taverna also viewed

 
Skala, Cephalonia
Skala, Cephalonia
 
Skala, Cephalonia
 

Been to Socrates Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing