We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Regina Dell Acqua Resort
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab hotel”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just returned from one week in the Regina dell aqua hotel, we had two rooms, one For us and one for for our two grown up children. We tried to think about something to criticise because the holiday was so good, but could not think of anything. Our room was a sea view and was excellent, the room and especially the bathrooms are really good and spacious, probably the best we have stayed in and we always go five star or min four. The hotel is only small thirty eight rooms I think but it's better for that, the staff all get to know everyone, it was all just so relaxing. We did not eat in the hotel in the evenings though so can,t comment on that, there was just so much choice in Skala, and everything we had in all the different restaurants was really good. Rooms excellent, position excellent, staff excellent, pool area excellent. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Go for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tortoise01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    69
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
155
536
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

What a fantastic hotel this is !
I can’t add much more detail to what has already been said, but felt that I couldn’t return home without posting another very positive report – both the staff and the hotel itself deserve it.
Anastasia and all the staff really can’t do enough to make your stay as relaxing and welcoming as possible.
Most of my highlights of our holiday revolve around food ! They include an evening meal at the hotel which I considered excellent. If you want traditional Greek cuisine you might be better finding one of the many local tavernas, but if you want a really good quality cosmopolitan meal, served with efficiency and a simply superb setting, then have at least one meal at the hotel (my “Caribbean Pork” was amazing – I hope the chef reads this).
Breakfast choice was good and the local honey is particularly delicious ! Anastasia told me that they try to source quite a few ingredients from small local villages only.
We tried a few of the Skala tavernas previously mentioned in these hotel reports and all were very good, but the only one we went to twice was Old Times (15 min walk toward Poros – just past the “boat thing”). Perhaps not as cheap as the ones in Skala and a more limited menu, but superb quality and lovely atmosphere.

Back to the Regina – I will be recommending this hotel 100% to anybody thinking about visiting Cephalonia !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihateliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at the Regina Dell Acqua for 2 weeks in July and have to agree with the majority of reviews regarding how good it is. The place is spotlessly clean and the staff are very friendly and work very hard to make your stay enjoyable.We had a sea view room and our stay was more enjoyable because of this. We even got up one morning to watch the sun rise from our balcony at 6-30 am, which was a spectacular sight. The breakfasts were good, with a variety of choices to suit many tastes. The food in the restaurant was excellent but make sure you are really hungry when you go down there as the portions are big! We enquired about having an early breakfast one morning as we were going on a trip before the breakfast room opened, this was no problem as the evening before a bag was brought to our room with a some sandwiches, cake, fruit and some cartons of drink for us to take with us in the morning.
We really enjoyed our stay and will be going back one day

Room Tip: Must have a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevazoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Whilst we were in Skala it was our wedding anniversary and the rep recommended the Regina Dell Acqua Hotel for a special dinner and spa treatments. As guests of Thomas Cook we got 40% off our spa treatments so two massages cost 60 euros which was great value. We went back that night for dinner which we had pre-booked and we had a lovely table in the gazebo decorated in white linen with flower petals scattered over the table. We were greeted with a complimentary champagne cocktail and had a wonderful meal; the fish meze for two was a highlight. I would highly recommend he hotels restaurant for a special occasion as the food and service were excellent. It was more expensive than the restaurants in the centre of Skala but well worth it for a one off.
I can’t comment on the hotel itself as we didn’t stay there but the couple of times we visited we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly and the pool area looked lovely.
If I was looking for a hotel in Skala I would definitely look at this one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamM2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Have just returned from the best holiday we've ever had after many very good holidays. A truly outstanding hotel on a stunning island. We were welcomed with cold drinks and biscuits and our cases taken to our room. Although we did not have a sea view the room was spacious and beautifully furnished with a big bathroom which had a jacuzzi bath& separate shower.( We actually didn't miss not having the view). All the food was excellent from the huge choice at breakfast, the bar menu in the day and the restaurant menu in the evening,we could not fault it. We could not imagine a more beautiful setting to sit and have an evening meal and we ate there many times during our stay. All the staff were so welcoming and could not do enough for you. The bar tenders and waiters were brilliant. They work so hard in the hottest weather and yet everything is done with smiles, chat and banter. We spent alot of time around the lovely pool, it was quiet, comfortable and very relaxing and an absolute treat when lemon scented, ice cold towels were given out in the afternoons. We can not fault this hotel on any level from the cleanliness , the food, to all the staff who worked so hard to make this the most relaxing and enjoyable holiday we've had. The only downside is that we had to come home! We can't wait to go back, thank you Anastasia and all your staff for a truly fabulous and memorable holiday. Jackie & Rob Bridges 610

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have recently returned from the Regina Dell Acqua Resort in Skala after having the most fantastic and relaxing holiday. It was our first, but certainly not our last visit to the fabulous Regina hotel and the lovely, small town of Skala. We arrived on day one to lovely hot weather and a stunning, idyllic view of the beach, just a flight of steps down from the hotel and were greeted by Anastasia who went out of her way to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible! Given biscuits and cold drinks and our suitcases were taken up to the rooms for us. Our room was just big enough for the three of us, my wife, teenage daughter and I. The size was made up for by the cleanliness of the room and the beautiful sea view just out on the balcony! A spacious bathroom with a large whirlpool bath which was very relaxing, although the shower took a bit of figuring out! We ate at the hotel restaurant just once, although the food was lovely and the setting, by the pool was just perfect, definitely worth a try!! We stayed put for most of the week around the pool area and the beach. The beach is lovely and quiet, with cheap sunbeds (only 4 euros a pair) and a gorgeous sea. The shop is also just a 2 minute walk across from there... perfect for an ice cream or water stop!! The atmosphere at the pool was lovely and lots of small touches by the fabulous staff really topped off the experience! The waiters working very hard at the pool bar were always on hand to assist you and were lovely to chat with. The drinks at the bar were quite expensive but the food was lovely, especially the club sandwich which was immense! Massages by the pool were available along with Iced towels scented with lemon, complementary every day!!! Very fresh and relaxing. The swimming pool was very clean and cool, great to just dip in and out of. In the evenings we wandered down to the town of Skala for a meal and a walk around... a very enjoyable part of the day! Must tries are the Pines, Galera and Aquarius restaurants, all in the town with excellent food and atmosphere! Also a quick mention to the bakery in the town (with cakes to die for) and the Paspalis bar (lovely for a drink to finish off the evening) The breakfast at the hotel was also good, a variety of choice with something for everyone, hot or cold. Overall, we had an amazing, brilliant experience, the staff made you feel very friendly and comfortable and were a pleasure to be around at all times and the whole atmosphere of the holiday was just perfect for eight days away!

Room Tip: A Sea view room is well worth requesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macsat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

I returned from a week's holiday with my two teenage daughters (15 and 19) at the Regina Dell Acqua Resort 4 days ago and I WISH I was still there! I can say without any exaggeration that it was the most lovely, totally relaxing holiday I have ever had. All three of us felt comfortable from the moment we arrived at the hotel and were welcomed with a cold drink and little biscuits in reception looking out over the Ionian Sea - we could hardly believe the beautiful setting we had found ourselves in.

Our room was clean and cool and the bathroom was amazing with a big separate shower and a massive whirlpool bath - bliss.

We had intended to spend our week exploring the island and being adventurous but the pool and the bar and the gorgeous sea just across the road wove some magic and apart from wandering down to Skala centre on a couple of evenings we stayed put! This is real evidence of how wonderful the bar staff are and of the friendly environment that they have created. My two girls are used to villa holidays and a private pool and were anxious that they would feel uncomfortable in a more 'public' setting but they were just totally relaxed - we spent the whole week together lying in the sun, giggling and chatting (and people watching....!) drinking gorgeous cocktails and iced coffees and swimming in the very quiet pool. A complementary 25 minute massage by the pool for each of us and ice cold towels in the heat of the day every day were lovely touches - my girls panicked if they were in the pool and thought they were going to miss the cold towels!

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis - breakfast had the usual cereals; fresh and dried fruits; yoghurt; juices; bacon, eggs and sausage; breads (and a toaster) cake and pastries; coffee and tea - yes, the same every day, but LOTS of choice and good quality. We actually ended up having lunch every day at the pool bar and all of our evening meals but one in the hotel restaurant. The menu is really varied - we all had something different to eat every night - and we enjoyed EVERY meal. The same staff work the pool bar and the restaurant all day, every day and their friendly attentiveness made us feel like family rather than just guests. There was live music on two nights which was entertaining! On our last night our table was decorated with rose petals - another lovely touch. I thought the food was excellent in quality and value - I think the fact that we only ate out once is clear testament to that. I really cannot agree at all with the recent review from 'a chef' that criticises the restaurant - such negative criticism just doesn't fit with our experience at all.

Security was a big consideration for me travelling with my daughters but not once did we feel uncomfortable or unsafe. My younger daughter announced on the second day that she wants to go back to Regina Dell Acqua next year - me too!

THANK YOU to all of the staff at this lovely hotel - you have given us some lovely memories.

Nic, Aimée and Katie

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
1.8 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
21.5 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
18.7 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
1.2 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
15.7 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Dell Acqua Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Dell Acqua Resort

Property: Regina Dell Acqua Resort
Address: Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Skala
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Skala
#4 Family Hotel in Skala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regina Dell Acqua Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aristocratic, sparkling, luxurious, fascinating, unique! Regina Dell’ Acqua Hotel is the Queen of Kefalonia and her rooms are the jewels to her crown. To offer the utmost in hospitality, every effort has been made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Regina Dell Acqua Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Dell Acqua Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing