We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8th Visit - 9th already booked....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Andreas Studios & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“8th Visit - 9th already booked....”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was unbelievably our 8th visit and we enjoyed it just as much as ever. Elisabeth the owner tries so hard to maintain high standards in her accommodation - and yes there are rules but these rules only help to make it a pleasant place to stay. As older visitors we do not want loud noise, energetic games in the pool and generally rowdy behaviour. This time we were among a large number of repeat visitors which in itself is a testament to Elisabeth's dedication to maintaining a high standard of accommodation. The studios and apartments are simple but spotlessly clean, as is the pool area and most of them have wonderful views right down to the sea!

This time whilst we were staying, two guests were unwell and Elisabeth went that extra mile to take them to the doctors in the nearby town and sort out their treatment. And for the first time since we have been visiting, she was required to deal with a "difficult and unruly" guest which proved a bit of a problem, but she did so magnificently.

We'll be there next year and we don't think we shall be the only ones returning!

Room Tip: If you book early enough, request a first floor sea facing studio/apartment - the views are just stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBrownies37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    18
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
29
71
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brechin, ANGUS Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have jsut returned from a week in Skala, kefalonia, staying at the Andreas Studios. This was a last minute booking due to the appalling weather in the UK, so because of the price I wasn't expecting much. We have visited Skala on six previous occasions - the last being almost 10 years ago so we pretty well knew what to expect with regard to the village.

I was very agreeably surprised at the cleanliness of our studio, the beautiful pool and the stunning view at the Andreas. However, on our arrival late on the Tuesday night there was no one on site to meet us and we were eventually shown to our room by a young man who spoke little or no English - Elisabeth, the owner, was nowhere to be found. Good Start!

As another reviewer has pointed out there were a lot of rules - most of the issues I would have thought were common sense, but I suppose there are people who will cause problems.

I was not particularly impressed with the extractor fan in our bathroom (Room 114) which made one hell of a racket everytime we switched on the bathroom light - it has obviously been an ongoing problem because it is held together with sticky tape! We ended up visting the toilet and doing other necessaries in the dark because of the dreadful noise.

We finally met Elisabeth the next day and I got the distinct impression that guests are actually a bit of a nuisance - they move sunbeds and create havoc around the pool - even the sun brolllies bases had been outlined in blue marker on the poolside floor - just in case anyone dared to try and move them as well!!

We were not allowed to bring water from outside onto the pool area - if we wanted water we had to buy it from the pool bar. Now, normally, I don't have a problem with that but at 2 Euros for a large bottle when you could buy 6 from the supermarket for 1 Euro 70; that was definately a rip off!! Sorry, Elisabeth, we rebelled and brought water in "from outside" and drank it when you weren't watching!!

We attended the Saturday BBQ along with eight other guests and it was very enjoyable as we were all aroud the same age group and hit it off really well.
However, when you arrive in resort on a Tuesday and the BBQ isn't until the following Saturday, it isn't really the best opportunity to meet with other guests. We all agreed that our 15 Euros per person cost actually funded the big family get together that happened at the same time as the guests' BBQ. The food was not particularly good either.

The Studios are situated outside the village up a very steep hill. Fine going down in the morning but a bit of a trek coming back after a day at the beach. It's a shame that all these new apartment blocks "with pools" are being built at the expense of the smaller establishments in the village centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JacquieSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Just returned from week long stay, having joined friends, who were staying for two weeks. Second time in Andreas, third time for my friends. Appts at top of Skala's main street - away from noise and surrounded by olive grove. Views breath taking. Not too far down to supermarkets and bakers shop.

Rooms very clean, simple but what one would expect from a studio. Hairdryer supplied - take a travel iron. Linen changed during the week. Rooms cleaned and bins emptied everyday.Pool area lovely and as everywhere else very clean. Weekly b/q very enjoyable - plenty of food. A good way to get to know other guests. The European Championships were on whilst we were there - bar stayed open so we could go through the agonies of England's penalties! Rules are mostly basic common sense, like showering before going in pool and keeping shutters closed. Air conditioning and safety deposit box same price as last year. Not sure about the registration form - is it a legal requirement or for Elizabeth's marketing purposes. We were asked to fill in form and return within two days of arriving - difficult to make comments re appts ( as requested on form) within two days.

Accomodation can be used as many did as a base to explore area, with a hire car or as we did using local taxi - 15Euros to Ketalios or Poros. We went on day trip to Zante with Capt Vangelis from Skala beach - enjoyable day out. We did Ithaca trip the previous summer - can recommend. Capt Vangelis trips mean a later start and earlier return than if doing same trip with Thomsons. In the week I was there we ate in a different restaurant each night. Can recommend Taverna in Old Skala and Capt Jerry's in Ketalios.

Elizabeth wants her guests to enjoy their stay - she was very helpful with info and lent us a brochure giving info on walk up to Old Skala - we did this last year - an early start advisable. She does welcome back returning guests!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawkeye151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My fiancee and I have just returned the Andreas apartments which we found to be very clean, tidy and spacious however with far too many rules & regulations in place set by the owner Elizabeth to make it a relaxing place in which to base our stay.

As soon as you walk into the accomodation you are greeted with literally pages of laminated "rules sheets" containing what are nothing short of common sense. We found this a rather unwelcomed greeting, the sheer volume and explicitness in which these are laid out for you to read upon arrival it is as though you have gone straight back to being at school!

As with other reviewers who did not enjoy their stay here, we too were invited to the weekly BBQ but chose not attend. We also avoided the pool area as you are forced to only consume drinks and snacks purchased from the bar at hugely over inflated prices. As such, we were ostristiced by the owner and many of the others guests - many of whom are regulars and part of Elizabeths "favourites" and of her clicky click.

Other low points were towels and bed linen only changed once, location at the top of a steep hill
and no privacy whatsover on the ground floor balcolnies - totally overlooked by neighbouring rooms and main pathway into the pool area and complex.

I would urge anyone who values their own privacy and to do their own thing to consider carefully before booking here.

Room Tip: TOP FLOOR IS A MUST - no privacy whatsover on the ground floor balcolnies - totally overlooked by ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bristolcamber85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous 2 week holiday in Kefallinia, staying in the Andreas Apts in Skala. The owner Elizabeth is a real character and is rightly proud of her establishment, having been presented with 4 gold awards from Thomson. She really tries to ensure that all who stay with her are provided with the peaceful and relaxing stay the studios allow. It did take a while to fit in with the rules but once we understood why we did not find it a problem. The place is immaculate and worked on every day to keep it that way. It is in a stunning position in an olive grove and pine forest surrounded by a beautiful selection of flowers and shrubs. We were able to rest and relax in a peaceful setting with food we were happy to enjoy every day (although there were very Tavernas available a short walk away). We hope to return next year for another memorable 2 weeks in paradise.
If we had any criticism at all, it would be that being sun worshippers we would like to be by the pool earlier than 10 in morning. Apart from that, can’t fault it.
Lorraine and Steve, Devon.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view of the sea although the sun did not reach some balconies. Other rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We chose the Andreas apartments to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary but realized we had made a dreadful mistake after a couple of days.We have been coming to Skala for the past 20years and stayed in many different studios/apartments but never felt so uncomfortable in our lives, we arrived on the Thursday and on the Friday morning were asked if we would like to attend the weekly Bar-B-Cue but we declined,from then on we were on the black list and certainly not one of the gang,our neighbours would not have a word said about Elizabeth (the owner) they have returned year after year to the Andreas attended the Bar-B-Cue every week,sat around the pool bar daily and only ever used two Tavernas in the seven years they had been coming to Skala,so obviously The Boss would humer them,the apartments,pool and the grounds were everything we had hoped for and we could not fault them,even the staff were lovely but Elizabeth who is not a Kefalonian but from Athens we found to be a very very rude women. Barrie A. Gloucestershire.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Barrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This was our first holiday in a studio and we were very pleased with how clean and tidy we found the Andreas apartments to be. The pool side is immaculate and that is down to the hygiene rules that are applied, which in my opinion are very worthwhile.

Skala as a resort is fab and suited us as a couple as we wanted a relaxing holiday in the sun with good quality restaurants for the evening.

We had read many of the reports about these apartments before we left and were a little apprehensive on arriving because we didn't want to put a foot wrong on the first day - not exactly how you want to feel on your holiday. There was a collective nervousness amongst all the guests we spoke to about how we would be treated and this led to much hilarity during the course of the holiday as we teased each other about who was likely to get told off first.

We attended the bbq on the first Saturday of our holiday but decided not to repeat this the following week. Whilst it was a sociable evening we felt the local restaurants provided better value for money. We gather there was a poor response to the bbq in the second week which led to it being cancelled. We were then advised that the bar was to be closed for a few days and whilst this didn't affect us (as we preferred to drink in the local bars) it seemed strange to withdraw the facility when clearly staff were available to keep it open. We also noted that it then opened for Elizabeth's family and that they broke a number of the poolside rules.

Towards the end of the holiday it was evident that the resort was closing for the season, something we knew ahead of booking, however we didn't expect the apartments to begin their maintenance with such gusto whilst guests were still present.

All in all we had a really lovely holiday, met some great people and fell in love with the island. We will certainly return, but will probably look for different accommodation.

Room Tip: The front apartments are in full sun all day, and whilst this sounds great it can be overpowering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris and Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.6 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#8 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#118 of 140 in Cephalonia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
2.4 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
15.3 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andreas Studios & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andreas Studios & Apartments

Property: Andreas Studios & Apartments
Address: Skala 28086, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andreas studios & apartments skala 280 86 kefallonia ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Andreas Studios And Apartments Ii
Andreas Studios & Apartments Ii Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing