We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and relaxing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Livadaki Village Hotel
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for a week in September. The accommodation was basic and a little on the small side but was spotlessly clean and very well maintained. Maria is a lovely lady, buy her book if you get the chance! We would stay here again. Word of warning not good if not very mobile and probably a little quiet for kids. Ps the pool is stunning with the most beautiful views over the sea.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    76
    33
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
160
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Well this hotel was a little hidden Gem off the beaten track but well worth the short walk to town. Maria made this hotel she is a very warm helpful and caring host and myself and danny had plenty of chats and laughs with maria. I was surprised this hotel was only 3 star as i have been in 4 start hotels that do not match this standard. The rooms were bright and airly and very clean. The hotel was peaceful and the views stunning higly recommended.

Maria myself and danny will be back soon we miss you already and the book you write is proving very interesting and inspiring

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just returned from a week's holiday at the Livadaki. Had an absolutely fabulous time and feel relaxed and refreshed. The room was small but ample for what you need i.e. extremely clean and very comfortable. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever had on a holiday.
Being up a hill away from the actual seafront meant that there was no noise to disturb your sleep, which is a definite plus point. The breakfast is more than enough to start your day, much healthier than the usual greasy fry-up you get in some places. Sophia is so lovely, and both her and all the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. We asked for extra pillows and we got them within 10 minutes!! The view whilst having your breakfast on the terrace is breathtaking, just like a picture postcard! We climbed the hill behind the hotel up to the old town of Scala. It was no mean feat in the extreme heat, but boy is it worth it when you get to the top! The ice-cold drink at the taverna there was like nectar; needless to say, the walk back down was a lot easier. There was nothing I didn't like about my holiday in Kefalonia, in fact, I can't wait to go back. Please do give it a try, take no notice of the one or two negative reviews, these people must be very hard to please, as in my opinion the Livadaki Village is a little hidden gem! We also made some very nice friends there who loved it too and would return also.

Room Tip: We stayed in foom No. 6 on the ground floor which had a good size terrace and a nice sea view. I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank welshgirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Livadaki Village Hotel's main appeal can be described in one word... "view"

That doesn't go to say the hotel itself isn't lovely, because it is! We booked through Thompson and stayed for 2 weeks, we paid extra for a sea view. I would guess that all rooms have some sort of sea view because of the location of the hotel but ours... wow... 180 degree view all the way from the mountains behind the hotel to the vast expansive beautiful sea. We got up early one morning just to watch the sunrise from the balcony... heaven.

The hotel is in a lovely quiet location, it's clean, fresh and friendly. There are always lots of staff around to help if you need anything, and Sophia the owner is a delightful lady who really cares about making sure her guests are happy.

Yes, there is 'that hill' we walked it most days in the midday sun without too much effort (but with a little moaning). We walked it once at night... then we got a taxi which was 5Euros, I am sure it is safe, but I am a little afraid of the dark and therefore a wuss!

Skala itself was a little small (to us) there were plenty of good restaurants, but few shops etc except supermarkets. If you're after a quiet holiday (as we were) it is perfect.

Kefalonia... so so beautiful. Hire a car, I cannot stress it enough. You have to see it. Our favourite places were Fiskardo and Assos.

Room Tip: As I mentioned we paid extra with Thompson and had a room with a lovely vaulted ceiling and a breath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Kent, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first visit to Kefalonia and certainly will not be our last. Stayed at the Livadaki, and was very pleased with our room, basic, but very clean and all that you needed, had the best weeks sleep of my life. The pool was cleaned every day, and the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Sophia, the owner, was a lovely host and we enjoyed having a chat with her at the end of the day. She is a great lady and was most helpful. Scala is a great place, you can walk into the town or you can go up into the mountians, there is something for everyone. My husband and I would not hesitate to go back to the Livadaki, we were made so welcome, and had the most relaxing holiday, and have nothing but fond memories of the hotel and Kefalonia. Barbara and John Long - Kent.

Room Tip: You probably get a better view from the upper level, however, we were on the ground level and the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barbara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Mill, Pontypool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

It's 10 years since our last visit to this charming island and we weren’t disappointed. There’s just something about Kefalonia that makes you instantly relax. Scala was new to us and we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of restaurants and the outstanding beach despite some early reservations, having read some comments beforehand.

The Livadki Village Hotel is in a terrific position above the town and although I’ve slightly downgraded it for the purpose of this review, it was only that you would need to be quite fit to navigate the hill, although taxis are of course available.

Great view from the hotel patio and pool area. Very welcoming and accommodating staff. Rooms clean on arrival and visited every day by staff who kept the standard high throughout the week.

If there was one niggle it would be the breakfast selection, which was the same every day and got a bit tedious after day 4 or 5. Simple fare but a small variation mid week would have brightened this otherwise very pleasant visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was our first time to Kefalonia in fact it was our first time ever to Greece and we could not have picked a better Island to visit.

After some research we decided to stay at the Livadaki Village Hotel and for us it was a perfect base and just what we wanted from a holiday. The Livadaki is out of the main resort of Skala and like other comments on trip advisor it is up a very steep hill. However, the views from the hotel are amazing. A Car Hire or a Moped is a must so that you can explore this beautiful island.

The Livadaki is spotlessly clean, very peaceful and ideal for the perfect base for you to enjoy your holiday.

Before we arrived we emailed Sophia (the owner) to upgrade our room and we wasn't disappointed at all. Our room was very big (in fact I think it was classed as a suite) the views were amazing from our very large patio - well worth the extra cost if you can afford it. Unfortunately though the sky TV reception was very poor.

Breakfast at the hotel is basic and consists of breads, two different cereals, yoghurt, olives, tomatoes, processed ham, processed cheese, orange slices, coffee, tea and watered down juices (I think I have covered it all here). However, it does set you up for the day and was more than enough for us. The two ladies who provide breakfast for the guests are lovely and very friendly and before your holiday is over they will have made sure that you greet them every morning in Greek!!

The only thing that the holiday missed for me was the option to have an evening meal at the hotel or even a little bit of entertainment. Some nights it would have been nice to just eat something at the hotel and relax there instead of having to get ready to go into the main street in Skala to eat.

Sophia the owner is a lovely lady and was always there with her lovely smile greeting you as you came and went from the hotel.

In all we had a great holiday, our room was beautiful with amazing views. We saw the Island and we fell in love with Kefalonia.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a top floor (only 2 floor high anyway) well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willdells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
1.5 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
2.2 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
224 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hotel Palatino
Hotel Palatino
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livadaki Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livadaki Village Hotel

Property: Livadaki Village Hotel
Address: Skala | Kefalonia, Skala 28 082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Hotel Class:3 star — Livadaki Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Livadaki Village Hotel is located near Skala, (900 m.) on top of a hill, away from noise and traffic, yet close enough to reach the beach on foot(600 m.). It has been built in grounds planted with olive trees, flowers and vegetables, with great views of the Ionian Sea and the mainland. Its architectural style brings memories of the traditional atmosphere of old Kefalonia, while it offers all modern facilities.There are two suites, and 23 twin/double rooms, 7 triple rooms, with sea view or garden view balconies or terraces, nicely furnished, beds with anatomical matresses, satelite TV, direct dial telephone, internet access, fridge, air con, WC, shower.Lounge with great views, satelite TV, Bar, snack bar, reception, free WF, library. Extended verandas where breakfast is served in the morning, snacks and drinks later on. Breakfast is continental buffet style.Pool with great views, with children's section and jacuzzi, with sun beds and parasols around.Parking Area.Small, picturesque chapel on top of the hill,with great views, nice for marriage ceremonies ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing