We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better hotels and resorts in Isla Playa”
Review of Hotel Olimpo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Olimpo
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Isla
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“There are better hotels and resorts in Isla Playa”
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Stayed here from 16th -18th July.

The hotel has a pleasant situation overlooking the bay at Isla Playa, and the hotel trades on this.

The rooms at the back of the hotel suffer from the noise and smells from extractor fans. The rooms themselves whilst clean are sterile and unwelcoming. The ensuite bath was worn and the toiletries were in cheap sachets and unappealing. Instead of providing individual rolls of toilet paper, there was a lockable container such as in public lavatories holding the toilet paper.

The carpet on the stairs was worn on the steps and in need of replacement. We were also concerned about the electrically controlled metal shutters in each bedroom. What would happen if the shutters were closed when there was a fire and no means of escape via the corridor?

Breakfast was only adequate. Orange juice dispensed from a machine was the same as that bought in a carton. The two other hotels we stayed at during our trip provided freshly squeezed orange juice which was delightful. The coffee was terrible. One morning only soya milk was provided for cereals. Attempts to obtain fresh milk which had been previously available proved fruitless and we were provided with the UHT variety. There was no attempt to keep the hot food warm or replenish it. Two mornings in a row we had to ask for this to be done.

With the exception of one or two staff, the rest were surly and had attitude. Nothing at this hotel made us feel welcome and would not stay here again.

This is definitely not a 4* hotel. 3* maybe!

As for the resort itself, well the beaches are safe for children but the resort lacks any character. It has been created as a resort in recent years. This is not Northern Spain at it’s best.

There are many other delightful resorts with better accommodation, good, safe beaches and excellent places to eat in this part of Spain.

An on a final note, the little village of Isla itself which is just over a mile away from the resort is a treat and has an outstanding restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelvoiceuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    67
    31
    15
    16
See reviews for
57
84
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Mobility having stopped most overseas travel, the ferry to Santander gave the only way of reaching Spain without long car journey or flying, both not viable,
Hotel Olympo booked via Brittainy Ferries. is only 30 miles from Santander and in a most attractive, green & mountaious part of Spain. The Hotel isaccessible via ramps, has good lifts, rooms with large balconies offering beautiful views. The steep steps with no handrail to the small cove/beach below the front of the hotel is not really a problem as the coast has many beautiful beaches easily accessible and within a mile or so from the Hotel. A car though is essential, parking is easy.
The breakfast is very good, catering for most nationalities although the clientel is mainly Spanish.The Bar/ caferteria offers snacks and many excellent restaurants are within easy acces giving an alternative to 'eating in'..
Overall, the Hotel and the surrounding countyside, mountains & beaches supplied a superb break.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elliven_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

The Olimpo hotel is in a lovely location overlooking a fantastic sandy beach. We took a car on the ferry to Santander, and Isla Playa is about an hour's drive and there is plenty of parking at the hotel. The grounds surrounding the hotel are nicely planted and pleasant to walk around, with a short path leading down to the beach. There is a very small beach by the hotel itself, but you can normally then wade across a shallow stream to the main expansive beach. The hotel operates a rowing boat for a nominal charge when the tide is in, as it is impossible to wade back at high tide and in fact quite dangerous to swim because the current is so strong.

The rooms were clean and well furnished with nice balconies overlooking the beach. Breakfasts were very good with a wide selection of hot and cold choices, but we found the main restaurant had a somewhat limited menu and was rather expensive. However, the hotel has a cafe which also offers food throughout the day and evening and may suit many people better, although the entertainment later in the evening was rather loud.

The swimming pool was uncrowded and perfectly adequate. Most of the guests were Spanish, with a few British people mostly booking through Brittany Ferries. I would definitely consider staying here again if returning to the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank busyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

The hotel is in a fantastic location with superb rooms and facilities.
However at the end of September the village area was very quiet and very few of the restaurants/shops were open in the evening.
Would recommend for a couple of nights at that time of year any longer and you would need to travel around the area for choice of restaurants etc.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suse3554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

I have recently stayed at the Hotel Olimpo with my husband and 2 year old daughter. The hotel is in a very peaceful and beautiful area (Playa de Isla about 40 mins from Santander). The hotel itself is set up overlooking the gorgeous beach and has a lovely outside pool area and steps (quite steep!) down to a private beach which is lovely and a little boat is moored up to take you across to the main beach if necessary; although you can wade across at certain times depending on the tides!! The hotel rooms are lovely - we had a suite which was 2 bedrooms, separate bathroom and toilet and balcony- the rooms were extremely clean and very nicely decorated. The hotel has a restaurant (very posh; waiter service, set menu), a cafeteria (more relaxed, bar snacks, sandwiches etc) and a discobar (which we never ventured into as parents of a 2-year-old!!). The staff were all very nice especially the staff in the cafeteria/bar - be aware that they speak very little english if at all so some basic Spanish is vital!! The hotel caters well for children without feeling too much like a families only hotel; there is a children's section in the pool and some children's activities available at certain times during the week(all low-key - no hyperactive groups of kids racing around all over the place!!). There was a singer in the bar 3 times during the week - all Spanish music but all the better for it!! It was lovely to see the local Spanish couples dancing to the live music and the kids trying their best to join in!! No Hokey-Cokey or Birdie Song in sight - it was a welcome relief!! All in all we really enjoyed our stay - Isla is a very small, quiet seaside resort so a car is a must if you want to visit more 'touristy' places. I would recommend Santillana del Mar, Castro Urdiales, Santander and Noja as trips out or for more nightlife/restaurants etc. Hotel Olimpo is a great quiet base for visiting the local area; definately worth it's 4 stars!!!

  • Liked — The location and the staff
  • Disliked — Restaurant would have been better if buffet-style
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank smonksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We visited the hotel in June and it was every bit as good as the last review I wrote about my visits up to 2001.

Having translated the Spanish reviews (Google)I am wondering if some mischievous hotel owner wrote them as they are rubbish.

There is no parrot and the ants are outside!

The hotel is clean and welcoming. Reception is friendly and efficient. The rooms are clean and provide all you need for your stay. The restaurant does a daily menu and will make you another dish if the menu is not to your liking. The cafeteria meals are good and plentiful (and cheap- you wouldn't get that much for that price in the UK). The staff there are also friendly and efficient.

The area is lovely and the hotel quiet (unless there's a wedding) and you can walk into Isla village (5mins) for shops, restaurants and four other beaches.

The only downside for those disabled or with small children is the steps...but it's built on a cliff! I would prefer to see the steps from the pool fitted with a rail.

We plan to go again in 2008!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jolly-holiday53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2007

Great hotel. Very clean, tidy & friendly staff. Excellent food at breakfast & lunch. Lovely shops & restaurants within walking distance of hotel. A few Spanish words are helpful as this is not an 'English' resort. Have booked again for 2007!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KayDee143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla
0.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Bella & Spa
0.3 mi away
Astuy Apartamentos
Astuy Apartamentos
#2 of 11 in Isla
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alfar Hotel y Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Liber & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pineda-Playa
Hotel Pineda-Playa
#12 of 17 in Noja
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Rocas
Las Rocas
#9 of 11 in Isla
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olimpo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olimpo

Property: Hotel Olimpo
Address: Finca Los Cuarezos | Isla Cantabria, 39195 Isla, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Isla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Isla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olimpo 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Olimpo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimpo Hotel Santander
Hotel Olimpo Isla, Spain - Cantabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing