We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service”
Review of Chalet Isabella

Chalet Isabella
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Verchaix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Isabella
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Jimmi and Sarahjane run this chalet brilliantly. It's a lovely property, but their commitment to looking after their guests is what really stands out. They take you to your choice of ski station when you want to go and pick you up in response to a quick text when it suits you. The food is lovely - home cooking with flair. On a white-out afternoon after coming off the slopes early, the fire was lit for us in the lounge, tea and cake were waiting for us, with a massive choice of DVDs. The hot tub is also lovely to relax in. The ski area is brilliant, and you're given good suggestions for planning your skiing (and lunch/gluwein stops). I highly recommend Chalet Isabella if you want relaxed comfort in very nice surroundings.

Room Tip: Views over the valley
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BargeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Isabella
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

I’ve just returned from a long weekend break at Chalet Isobella. When we arrived, my luggage hadn’t been put on the plane, Jimmy was absolutely brilliant and went out of his way to collect my ‘lost luggage’, so I could get my skiing started! Jimmy and Sarahjane were lovely, relaxed hosts, with really good knowledge of the area. We had a great break and look forward to making a return trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous short ski break with my my wife and two children. Chalet Isabella is a gorgeous traditional chalet that has been lovingly restored whilst maintaining many of the original features and provides wonderfully comfortable accommodation. The hosts were excellent throughout our stay and the food was superb. We all felt very welcome and enjoyed the Chalet experience. We would happily choose Chalet Isabella again next year!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Chalet Isabella is run by Sarajane and Jimmi who, with their three children aged 12, 9 and 3, also have their home in the chalet. You could not wish to meet nicer or more laid back people. But the website that our decision to book was based upon promises things that the chalet simply does not deliver on.

We had booked a specific room at the front of the chalet with a view in advance of arrival, and spoken to Sarajane two days before arrival. However, once we got there we were shown to another room at the back and told that someone else was in the room we had booked and that we would move the next day. Not the end of the world, but disappointing and no real apology was offered. There were no bath robes in the room, so we asked for them and were told that there were not enough for everyone in the chalet, and that we could also have those the next day.

We moved into our proper room as promised the next day, and it was fine. However, the attention to detail about both cleaning and looking after a room in a luxury chalet was missing. Underneath the bed had not been cleaned for a long time and one light bulb in the bathroom remained not working throughout our stay despite mentioning it.

The antique bed was still in antique condition and far from comfortable. And the promised goose down duvet was a double sized feather and down one, so much heavier than it should have been and also too small for the bed. Making the bed consisted of pulling up the duvet and straightening the pillows, the bottom sheet was never pulled flat. Not a real problem, but just another example of a lack of the attention to detail that you expect in somewhere that advertises itself as luxury.

Toiletries are not provided, although liquid soap was provided when I asked.

The chalet is a LONG way up above Verchaix, so you are totally reliant on Sarajane or Jimmi to take you to or from the slopes. Whilst this worked fine most of the time, there were occasions when it was unclear if someone was on their way to pick you up when you had asked, and inevitably some delays when the chalet was full.

Sarajane is a very competent cook, and we enjoyed the food. Other guests we spoke to felt that it was too much home cooking and not enough luxury. Most nights there was a three course meal, with cheese offered as fourth course on some nights. Hot options for breakfast were always the same – boiled egg or poached egg. The home made cakes were always lovely. Tea, coffee and chocolate were always available and often delivered to your room without you even asking.

The website had promised champagne on your first night, but none was ever provided. However, every night there was a generous glass of good sparkling wine, with optional cassis, as an aperitif. We felt this was better than champagne on arrival – all they need to do is update the website to reflect reality.

In our opinion, Chalet Isabella is a good mid-range chalet, run as a mixed family home and chalet by really nice people. It is in a stunning old building with great views that has retained its charm, which is matched by that of your hosts.

Room Tip: Make sure that you confirm a room at the front for the best view
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimeToTravelAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

This is the second time my family of 5 have stayed at Chalet Isabella and it won't be the last.
The Colemans go out of their way to ensure a wonderful stay.
The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The surroundingsare picturesque and beautiful and the food is marvelous.
Cannot top this for the price..we will be back again.

Room Tip: The from rooms have great alpine views.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesterBrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We have just returned from our third stay at Chalet Isabella and can’t recommend it enough. The recently refurbished rooms are fabulous; the food was delicious and plentiful and best of all we were made to feel truly welcome. The owners seem to get the balance absolutely right between being friendly and social without being intrusive. Our daughter (8 years old) became instant best friends with the owner’s daughter Isabella who I assume the chalet was named after. The couple who own the chalet were always happy to ski with us and show us the best runs in the area and also offered to drive us to neighbouring resorts if we fancied a change of scenery. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them. The Chalet is quietly located which suits us perfectly, the owners drop you at the lift of your choice and time of your choice each morning and were there to pick you up if you text or phone as you are heading down the mountain at the end of the day and on returning to the Chalet there was always a freshly made cake waiting for us. The rooms are generously sized, tastefully decorated and many had excellent views as far a Mount Blanc. The communal areas are comfy with roaring fires. Samoens is a traditional French ski town with plenty of skiing for all abilities and has become a firm family favourite for us to the extent that we may look to purchase a place there ourselves one day. Until that day we will remain regular visitors to Isabella.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimKateFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We traveled to Chalet Isabella, Samoens in March for a 'luxury' long weekend ski trip. The trip was on Chalet board basis ie breakfast, dinner and afternoon tea. We had booked a triple room for 3 adult friends sharing but on arrival were met by bunk beds. The chalet was a considerable way out of Samoens but advertised as offering inclusive private transport in and out for guests. This was not available in the evenings unless the chalet girl happened to be going out and no taxi service was available either so effectively one could not go out in the evening. Meal portions were small with no seconds offered.
The trip was in contrast to our previous experience with Peak Chalets in St Juan D'Aulps, Portes du Soleil which was fantastic.

Room Tip: Specify if you do not want bunk beds.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chalet Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Isabella

Address: le Magnin D en Bas, 74440 Verchaix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Verchaix
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Verchaix
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing