We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel/Restaurant with Fabulous Views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Verchaix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalets La Terrasse de Verchaix
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Verchaix
Reviewed July 25, 2012

La Terrace is perched on a hill overlooking the Giffre valley with stunning views of Samoëns and Morillon. Owners Phil and Louise are veterans of the tourist industry and so know how to look after their guests. The hotel is clean and comfy and the food is simple and well-cooked. Spending a lazy Sunday afternoon having lunch on their balcony and gazing out over the valley is one of the highlights of our holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Chalets La Terrasse de Verchaix
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 145 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

What a great little find! My husband and I spent 4 very relaxing days at La Terrasse de Verchaix in late March. Louise and Phil are very welcoming and experienced hosts who have excellent knowledge of the area and will help you get to and from the slopes everyday. The hotel has great views of the valley and a lovely dining room where we enjoyed first rate food and wine. The lounge was the perfect place to relax sipping a cup of tea after a hard day's skiing. The hot-tub on our last day was a real treat, and the room (although small) was very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and had an excellent power-shower! We cannot fault anything - our trip was just what we had been looking for i.e. great skiing and a relaxed and pretty hotel to come back to in the evening. The staff was very friendly and really do try their best to make your holiday one that you will remember.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

What a find! A lovely chalet hotel to be based to venture around the Grand Massif ski area as well as a wonderful place to relax. The hotel has great views of the valley and the rooms are nicely decorated, clean and very comfortable. Phil and Louise are fantastic hosts and they really care that you have a lovely time during your stay with them. The food is amazing, tasty and robust - rivalling many excellent full service ski hotels I have previously visited. A lovely visit and I will surely be back with friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Can't recommend Phil and Louise's hotel chalet highly enough. We booked quite late but got two rooms for us and our three daughters; good value when there are rooms with enough beds for more than two people. It's always such a pleasure staying in chalets which are owner run as they make so much effort. The hotel is a big project started 6 years ago; they have worked so hard and still have great plans for the future to make it bigger and better. You do feel like you are really helping and encouraging people with passion and ambition by staying with them rather than supporting some faceless corporate set-up. The hotel is off the beaten track with little in the village to entertain you so it is quiet. A car would help if you want to explore a little; Samoens old town looks lovely but the buses from Verchaix aren't too regular. But in some respects it's slight remoteness is it's attraction as it doesn't feel too much like a ski resort, more like a nice break in a very pleasant hotel with the family, with a good ski area only 10 mins away. Views, food, wine, service, hot tub, cleanliness, balcony, staff, Sky, ambiance etc. etc. all exemplary.

Room Tip: Room 3 has double and 2 bunks. Room 4 lovely views and balcony but not much room to sit on the loo...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bagdhad-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Well, my second visit to La Terrasse is over and I'm already planning my third. Phil & Louise greeted me like great friends and welcomed my wife like a lost sister ! The hotel is looking better all the time, they work tirelessly and everything is to a high (but still homely) standard, the room we had was stellar, so clean you could eat off the floor and THE VIEWS !!!!!!!!!!! They have continued to invest heavily in financial terms and in effort, new beds, more finished rooms and great plans for further development. But this hotel to my mind is all about Phil & Louise, you could not wish for greater hosts, they are friendly (incredibly), welcoming, funny and incredibly hard working, nothing is too much bother (actually nothing ever seems like any bother). It is like staying with terrific friends.

The skiing was utterly breathtaking, glorious skies, snow like you dream about and this is March at a "low-lying" resort, it was amazing, some of the best skiing we have ever enjoyed. Phil & Lou were again only too happy to drive us to Morillon or Samoens to the base of the bubbles which is incredibly convenient in their lovely new bus. I would recommend the Grand Massif resort very highly, it was a very family friendly resort (even though we were without kids this time) there is skiing for everyone down to the very beginners, but the off-piste (of which there is miles) would test anyone. It is not as expensive to eat as it can be at the likes of Courcheval etc, and there are lots of options for food and drink.

I honestly cannot give better feedback for La Terrasse and Phil & Lou, it is the experience of staying in a hotel you always dream of, it is just like staying at home with friends. All the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, polite and good company. The worst thing ? Simple, leaving. See you all soon.

Room Tip: In my opinion, all the rooms are good, obviously out the front of the hotel have the best views, but...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadiesean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Our group of 6 stayed here in March 2012 for 6 nights and we were all extremely impressed. Nothing was too much trouble. I have special dietary requirements and was amazed at how helpful Chris, the chef, was, tailoring meals to suit me. The staff were delightful, the food excellent and the rooms, though not large, very clean and the beds comfortable. All this plus amazing views. The whole stay was totally relaxing. It is a beautiful area, with plenty of great walks in the vicinity, and with Phil and Louise's help with lifts in their minibus we managed very well without a car. The ski slopes are conveniently near too. We intend to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRiley0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Great welcome from Louise & Phil who are very present and visible in the hotel. The other staff are very friendly and helpful as well.

We stayed in family rooms, Room 3 has a wonderful view of the mountains, but be warned the church bells ring on the hour, half hour and I think 15 mins from 7am - 10pm with extra special ringing at 7 in the evening, our friends in room 1 didn't hear them although they didn't have the splendid view. Rooms are reasonably spacious you could just about have squeezed a family of four in the family rooms as they have a double and a bunk bed.

We were on half board and the quality of food was very good. Breakfasts were a treat as you didn't know what hot speciality would be served - my favourite was the french toast with bacon, yum. Dinners were of a good standard too, amazing lemon meringue pie - no choice was offered though so if you are particularly fussy you might want to see what was on in the morning. Good selection of wines and kir petillant by the glass which we very much enjoyed in the hot tub prior to dinner.

The chalet/hotel is quite remote, I was expecting it to be in a village with a few shops, but it is haut verchaix so the lower bit would be about a 20 min walk down hill so if you want an evening stroll there is little around of interest. The ski bus is not terribly frequent, although Phil was very amenable about offering a bus trip down to Morillon at 9.30 and picking up from Samoens in the afternoon as would have had to take 2 ski buses to get back from there. Therefore if you are an independant type I would recommend hiring a car.

Skiing in the area is good with a selection of resorts to choose from. Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: If you like a nice view go for the front facing rooms - beware of the church bells though !
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joaniebinedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verchaix
1.7 mi away
Hotel le Morillon
Hotel le Morillon
#1 of 6 in Morillon
142 reviews
1.7 mi away
Residence Grand Massif
Residence Grand Massif
#3 of 6 in Morillon
161 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
1.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#6 of 6 in Samoens
62 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#4 of 6 in Samoens
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets La Terrasse de Verchaix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets La Terrasse de Verchaix

Address: Chef Lieu | Samoens, 74440 Verchaix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Verchaix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Verchaix
Price Range: $342 - $810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalets La Terrasse de Verchaix 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets La Terrasse de Verchaix comprise of a luxury 5 bedroom chalet sleeping up 15, and a modern spacious 4 bedroom apartment with terrace sleeping up to 12. We offer bed and breakfast, and self-catering in both properties, with catering options available. 50 minutes from Geneva airport. Ideal spot for winter and summer holidays. Large sunny terrace with panoramic views of the valley. Café bar in the summer serving food Ideal location for winter skiing and summer cycling, on the route of the Tour de France. Visit nearby Annecy and Chamonix. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing