We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic holiday at La Terrasse de Verchaix”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalets La Terrasse de Verchaix
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Verchaix
Reviewed March 24, 2011

This is our third stay at the hotel and once again we had a fantastic time. Phil and Louise are constantly up-dating the hotel and it is a clean, comfortable and welcoming place to stay. Louise's meals are great and plentiful. The hot tub is always a welcome sight after a days ski-ing. We shall certainly go back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkiFan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 146 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2011

Stayed in the family room for a long skiing weekend. Was unfamiliar with this part of the ski area having previously stayed in Les Carroz. The hotel is in an excellent location with the dining room and our room having lovely views of the slopes in Morrilon. Easy 5 mins drive to the ski lift in Samoens and up to top within 20 mins. Verchaix is very quiet however and would not suit party animals!

The hot tub overlooking the slopes is a must!

Phil and his team were very friendly and we found the whole weekend very relaxing. The hotel is spotlessly clean. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cp26577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

For the second year we stayed in this great place with the nice owners Philip and Louise.
They really make you feel at home. The rooms are small, but everything is there and the view from the windows is stunning. Louise is a marvellous cook and serves you delicious meals and cakes at tea-time. From the hotel you are (by car) in some minutes in Samoens and Morillon to go skiing. Super that we could use our laptop on free internet in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

My husband and I along with our son Archie (aged 7) stayed at the Chalet Hotel La Terrasse de Verchaix during half term week in Feb 11. What a lovely hotel. Phil and Louise have worked wonders and it felt like a home from home. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Lovely Ellie is a great addition to the staff, she is so cheery and chatty and always has a smile on her face. You have to stay there just to sample Louise's cooking; very impressive. Our room was quite small but bright and furnished really well (but had no wardrobe). The lack of hanging space is a minor issue and one we had no trouble working around. The hot tub was a favourite with most of the children staying at the hotel. It's a nice touch! We had 6 days skiing planned and both Phil and Louise are extremely knowledgeable about the local area. The ski bus stops just around the corner from the hotel and takes around 10 mins to get to the slopes. All in all a great skiing holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warren786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stayed at Terrase de Verchaix for a ski-ing holiday. Louise and Philip were extremely welcoming and helpful, and the food was plentiful and excellent, from the braekfasts through to afternoon tea and cakes, and the restaurant quality evening meal. The bar is reasonably priced with a good selection.

The location is convenient for ski-ing with easy access to the ski-bus and a short trip to the lifts into the Grand Massif area The hotel has lovely views from its dining room, terracce, and south facing rooms. It is in a quiet hamlet, so not for those looking for night life.

Rooms are fairly small but comfortable, and well equipped. The ski room is excellent, warm and spacious for equipment & boots - no scrambling through a heap of skis as in many hotel ski rooms.

Hot tub is great to relax in after a days skiing - with robes provided - a nice touch.

I would certainly stay there again, nothing was too much trouble for the owners and thier staff.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank v-whitbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Louise was very helpful when booking our stay as i had lots of questions. The hotel is immaculately clean and very friendly.My only tiny critisism is that the lounge area could be more comfortable and more secluded from the dining room.I will definatley go back, we want to try the area in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karennod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We had a great stay at La Terrasse. Phil and Louise are superb hosts, and the food and service is excellent. We particularly enjoyed taking tea and cakes in the sun, on the terrace, overlooking the slopes. Louise cooks meals to die for - make sure you ask for the tartiflette, which is as good as you'll get anywhere. All in all, a great place for a skiing holiday or long weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verchaix
1.7 mi away
Hotel le Morillon
Hotel le Morillon
#1 of 6 in Morillon
142 reviews
1.7 mi away
Residence Grand Massif
Residence Grand Massif
#3 of 6 in Morillon
161 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
1.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#6 of 6 in Samoens
62 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#4 of 6 in Samoens
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets La Terrasse de Verchaix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets La Terrasse de Verchaix

Address: Chef Lieu | Samoens, 74440 Verchaix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Verchaix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Verchaix
Price Range: $168 - $738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalets La Terrasse de Verchaix 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets La Terrasse de Verchaix comprise of a luxury 5 bedroom chalet sleeping up 15, and a modern spacious 4 bedroom apartment with terrace sleeping up to 12. We offer bed and breakfast, and self-catering in both properties, with catering options available. 50 minutes from Geneva airport. Ideal spot for winter and summer holidays. Large sunny terrace with panoramic views of the valley. Café bar in the summer serving food Ideal location for winter skiing and summer cycling, on the route of the Tour de France. Visit nearby Annecy and Chamonix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Chalets La Terrasse de Verchaix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing