We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveler rating
129
114
46
20
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
129
114
46
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews emerald bay kali river holiday activities swimming pool activity room front office view from the balcony housekeeping team play area arabian sea room service is restaurant offers table tennis very pleasant stay om beach karwar town sea facing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 318 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2017

We took off on a brief holiday after a long time - we could not plan for more than 3 days, so this was an obvious choice. That it is a Sterling resort was a kind of a certificate ! The resort choice did not disappoint us ! Karwar by itself does not have much to offer, but the river and beach were a stunning combination. Maybe we will make it back in December !

Room tip: Select the sixth floor for the best view, preferably a suite
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minddotor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Karwar, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Dear Sir,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Karwar – Emerald Bay.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.

We are grateful to you for trusting us for your hospitality needs and like always, it is a delight to host valuable guests such as you. We are glad that the resort’s proximity to nature added much joy to your stay. Fellow travelers would find your room tip much handy.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our expansive range of resorts.

Sincerely,

The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017

I was recently here on my birthday and spent 3 days on a hoiliday. The place was peaceful with fantastic views. The food was also good. The staff were friendle. The resort also helped in sight seeing activities

Room tip: Get a room with a view to the bay. As higher a floor as possible.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venkatraman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Karwar, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Dear Sir,
Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Karwar – Emerald Bay.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. At Karwar – Emerald Bay, we seek to bring together the best of hospitality and nature at our strategically located resort. Providing the highest standard of hospitality and dishing out gourmet are aspects that we take great pride in and we are elated that you could make most out of them.Thank you for sharing your room tip.

We await the chance to host you and your family again in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

front office service and restaurant taste is very good.Superb location. Stayed in Sea facing rooms.Location is very good. All staff members were very helpful.Excellent resorts.Rooms are excellently designed.Everyone in my family enjoyed a lots.. Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay in Karwar
less

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Manoj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Karwar, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Dear Sir,
Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Karwar – Emerald Bay.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. At Karwar – Emerald Bay, we seek to bring together the best of hospitality and nature at our strategically located resort. Providing the highest standard of hospitality and dishing out gourmet are aspects that we take great pride in and we are elated that you could make most out of them.We are grateful to you for recommending us to fellow travelers.

We await the chance to host you and your family again in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017

My wife and I were gifted four nights by someone who's a member; and we chose this resort in Karwar.

The location is not optimal, considering there's not much to do in Karwar itself; however, our interest was in driving around with just a base to lay our heads at night. Therefore this location was not a major issue.

Coming to the resort itself, it is not as fancy as some other Sterling properties. It seems to cater mainly to the people who have work on the naval base there. That said, there was nothing lacking in terms of facilities.

We were upgraded to a suite which, though not sea-facing, was very comfortable and spacious.

The positive aspect of our stay there was the food and the staff. The food was excellent. Everything we were served was prepared very well, presented very well, and was very tasty. We varied our meals with continental and Indian dishes; and we loved every one of them. Kudos to the cooking staff.

The staff, both in the restaurant and in the front-office, were very polite and courteous, and catered to all our needs even when it meant going out of their way to do so. And, they did it all with a smile.

If I can think of room for improvement; it would be the air-conditioning in the restaurant. Only a very few of the air-condioning units are turned on; and even in those units the thermostat is kept at 27-28 degrees; and there is no air circulation. This makes the dining room very warm and uncomfortable. Considering that Karwar is hot and humid, this setting does not really help.

One final point to note for future guests - there are frequent power outages at the resort. Yes, they do have a backup diesel generator which is promptly turned on, but it does take a couple of minutes. The main issue with this is that if one is using the bathroom at that precise moment, it goes completely dark in there, and there is no way to continue one's business without being able to see; and nor is one able to get out of the bathroom because of the nature of one's business in there.

UPDATE: I have selected "Not sure" for the questions about smoking rooms and non-smoking rooms. I am a smoker, but I never smoke inside any room - I tend to step outside, either onto the balcony/verandah, or outside the building itself. Our suite had balconies; and I requested an ashtray to be brought to me. I used the ashtray outside on the balcony; and therefore do not know if they have smoking rooms (or any rules at all about smoking).

SECOND UPDATE: Oh yes, this resort is directly on the highway; and as of this review is still affected by the alcohol ban; therefore; though they have a bar-room it is not functional and no alcohol is available on the premises.

Cheers

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdossgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Karwar, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Sir/Ma'am,
Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Karwar – Emerald Bay.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.

We thank you for a detailed description of your stay. It gives us immense joy in knowing that our gourmet options were the highlights of your stay. They are aimed at pampering your taste buds in the typical Sterling way! Thank you for commending our staff members. They take great pride in exhibiting our pan-organizational standard of hospitality. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and absolutely empathize with you. The Resort Management Team is working to ensure that our guests face no inconvenience and enjoy their holiday to the fullest.

Exclusive Sterling hot deals are up for grabs on our website, we hope you don't miss out on this limited offer.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

Remembering stay at Karwar , excellent place to stay , good food & cooperative staff , only concern food is costly beautiful place to visit enjoyed with kid very clean & quite place one should visit the karwar

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GopalZ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Karwar, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Sir,
Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Karwar – Emerald Bay.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.

We are pleased to know that you had a memorable stay with us.Our resort is aimed at providing a holidaying experience like no other where our guests can connect, spend time with their loved ones and enjoy the hospitality of the highest standard.We thank you for sharing with us the aspects that we need to improve. The Resort Management Team has taken note of your valuable suggestion.

We look forward to welcoming you for all hospitality purposes.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews