We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean And Very Remote Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gangotri's Tarang Karwar Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Karwar B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good, clean And Very Remote Resort”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

After complete research of resorts in karwar we booked 2 rooms in this resort. It's not as expensive as Devbhag beach resort. There was another option, lotus resort. Even that was very expensive. Estuary view was another one, but did not like their response.

Tarang was good, very clean rooms, good property. Well maintained swimming pools and lawns. Staff was very friendly. Don't forget to drink tender coconut if you visit here.

Problem was, we travelled by bus. This resort was very remote. Every time we had to call for auto when we wanted to go anywhere. But staff helped us getting auto on time. Near by there is a beach, about 15 min walk. Very clean and almost no one :). It was very good to play.

We paid 2k, pet day. Food was not that great. No much options, taste was not that great

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karthikcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    10
    6
    17
See reviews for
38
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Driving down to the Konkan from Belgaum, we stopped by this place for an overnight stay. It is close to the beach (did not go to the beach tho), and the resort also has a decent pool (which was maintained well too). Was impressed by the room size and decor. Staff were very helpful in general and the cook did an excellent job in whipping up a decent but homely dinner for four of us at a very short notice.

Property looks family / children friendly with a lot of open space.

its a little away (2 km towards the beach) from the NH, but then one would presume that the traveller has his/her own mode of transportation.

I am definitely coming back to stay here for a vacation.

Room Tip: (1) All rooms are good, but one may want to avoid rooms dorectly facing the pool. (2) Staff, thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank avravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Hotel is located 2 kms inside from the highway. Food Quality is pathetic as well as the room service is pathetic. The payment needs to be made upfront but you don’t get the prompt service. The phones don’t work, the ACs don’t work, The TV remotes don’t function properly. Most of the menu items are not available. You are at the mercy of the cook. Since the resort is located at such a place you are dependent on the resort food for dinner. You have to remind the Hotel staff to clean the room. Ask for fresh towels every day. The room service does not do anything on its own.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mountaineer12Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Tarang Resorts provide home stay accommodation call Saraswati Home Stay. It is really a pathetic place charging high cost to customers. It lacks basic necessities like clean beds, toilets. I guess there were bedbugs, too! The house used by the management is still under construction and it is completely unfinished. Our toilet had a big slot for window without even a window frame in place. It is like bathing in open. There is no service available at this place, not even single cup of tea. The approach road is so narrow that a bigger car hardly fits on the road. We give thumbs down for the infrastructure, facilities, amenities and service.

Room Tip: Never stay at this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Jayant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had planned a trip to Karwar with 2 other families. All three families stayed in this resort called Gangotri's Tarang Resorts on the outskirts of Karwar. This review is intended to warn you in time so that you dont make the same mistake as us and spoil your holiday.

The resort asked us to pay 100% upfront to confirm the booking which we did. At 3000 bucks per night per room with children costing extra is very high for a small town like Karwar.

We reached the place at 5pm on 27-Oct-2011 having travelled close to 600km from Pune. We ordered lunch at about 6.30pm so that we can have a peaceful dinner at 8pm and go to bed. But the resort staff had something different in mind. They started preparing for the dinner at around 8.30pm. It took 30 minutes to get 4 roasted papads. The entire dinner spanned more than 3 hours and we could sleep only about midnight.

The hot water is considered the ultimate luxury in this hotel. You have to literally beg the staff to get some hot water in your room tap. On the morning of 29-Oct-2011 they made wonderful arrangements such that there was NO water supply in the rooms in entire hotel. They kept saying "We have switched on the motor, water will come in 10 mins" for more than 2 hours. Breakfast was never ready even when we had ordered for the morning breakfast at previous night itself. The room service was quite irritating with the waiters making numerous mistakes. There is a person who claims to be the resort manager but never makes any attempt at improving the service. Well, we had given up on the service part in 3 days so he must have given up long ago. He does not even stop to listen to your complaints.

There is good sized swimming pool but the tiles have turned green with algae. You can see the panels and machinery at the swimming pool and it is very clear that the water never gets cleaned.

The resort does not help you in any way to find the nearby attractions. Our great resort manager said "There is nothing to see in Karwar!!!". We had to find out the attractions and people ourselves to get us the activities as per our needs.

There are frequent power outages making the AC, water heater and other electrical equipment to fail quite frequently. Especially on evenings when you turn the AC on, all lights dim for 2 seconds and then the AC trips. Go begging again with the staff to reset the stabilizer to restart the AC.

My sincere advise to all of you who are planning a trip to Karwar is to avoid this resort at any cost.

Room Tip: Rooms are okay. But the terrible service will spoil your vacation in total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank PuneVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

On my trip to karwar,I had no option but to stay in a resort which look like a house turned hotel.
Rooms are ok,food is good but services is below average.Electriity backup is also average.There is swimming pool as well.Good part is that resort is just a walking distance from the karwar Beach.You can enjoy morning walk in the mystic breezy sea side.

Youw ill find people drying small silver fishes across the town.

An average stay ..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VIKRAMCHANDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We booked 3 rooms and stayed for 2 nights during one of the long weekend. The resort is bit out of the way but just 5 mins walk from the beach.

What I liked:
- Cleanliness
- Service
- Most of the different dishes during our dinner
- Pool (it was one of the most cleaned swimming pool I have ever enjoyed)
- Proximity to the beach
- Personal touch of the owner and the people working there

What could have been better
- Though very clean, but the style is little out dated, but doesn't matter
- Some dishes were not so good but that's okay as most of the local dishes were fantastic
- It is bit costly but we enjoyed

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sourindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karwar
3.3 mi away
Leisure Vacations Westend, Karwar
0.7 mi away
Majali Beach Village
Majali Beach Village
#3 of 4 in Karwar
59 reviews
1.2 mi away
Karwar - Emerald Bay, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Navratna Deluxe
Hotel Navratna Deluxe
#6 of 14 in Karwar
8 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aditi Comforts Service Apartment Hotel
17.0 mi away
Honey Beach Cottages
Honey Beach Cottages
#1 of 7 in Ankola
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gangotri's Tarang Karwar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gangotri's Tarang Karwar Resort

Property: Gangotri's Tarang Karwar Resort
Address: Maldarwada, Devbagh, Chittakul, Sadashivgad, Karwar 581 352, India (Formerly Leisure Vacations Tarang Resort)
Location: India > Karnataka > Uttar Kannada District > Karwar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Karwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing