We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compelling Weekend Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jungle Lodges Devbagh Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Karwar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Devbagh beach resort was in my must visit places for a long time. However, the relatively long distance from Bangalore was a deterrent till now. However, we decided to take the plunge when a friends couple suggested we go for a weekend getaway during the first week of Nov 2012.

We took an over night bus (SRS Travels) from Bangalore to Karwar. The boarding point was Anand Rao Circle, below the flyover, where SRS has a reasonably big bus bay. It was raining heavily that night and we had a tough time getting to the place with the kids, luggage etc. I always wanted to drive to Karwar, but my wife was not as enthusiastic. By the end of the trip, the whole ordeal of boarding the bus both ways, and the overall inconvenience of commuting with kids and luggage in taxis, buses etc lead us to wonder if taking the car was the better choice! Our next weekend trip is definitely going to be a road trip!

We got to Karwar town by 10:15 AM, which was about 1:30 hrs late. It was quite a tiring journey, as we did not get the Volvo - it was a regular semi-sleeper, with seats at the back, just ahead of the last row. From the place where we got down, we got into a couple of auto rickshaws and went to the resort office, which is a nice 2-storey house about 5-6 km away from the bus stop. We were given access to a flat on the first floor, where we freshened up, and then went to a nearby restaurant "Udupi Coffee Shop" or something for breakfast. It was quite ill maintained, but we were all hungry enough to disregard the surroundings.

Once we reached back, we were taken to the boat jetty by jeep, where a boat was waiting for us to be taken to the resort. It was a 10-15 minute boat ride.

The resort is located in an isolated, casuarina-lined "island" - it is actually a peninsula, but access through the mainland seems to be restricted. There are 22 cottages in total. We took the cottages 9 and 10, which are at the far end. These cottages were in a quiet corner and it was also quite close to the beach - in fact we could see the waves from the verandah!

The weather was inclement when we arrived on Thursday, 1 Nov. Cyclone Neelam was working its way along the TN/AP coast in the Bay of Bengal, and its effects were to be seen as far away as the Karwar coast. In fact the whole day was dark and gloomy, and a constant drizzle kept us indoors for quite a long time. In the evening, we went out onto the deserted beach. The kids had good fun all evening, though I couldnt take then into the water much. The rain had resulted in the surf becoming muddy, and the resort personnel advised us against getting too far into the water.

Later in the evening, we could not do an outdoor camp-fire, due to the drizzle, but they served barbecue chicken and other starters in the dining area itself.

The next day was bright and sunny, much to our liking. Everyone else went for the water activities like water scooter, banana boat etc, while I stayed back with my younger son - I wasnt too keen on getting pushed into the salty water from the banana boat!

Later, we spend a lot of time on the beach, which was much better than the previous day. The est part is the fact that it is practically deserted - only the people staying in the resort have access to the beach.

In terms of food, I would rate the place about 7/10. It was reasonably good given that this is an eco-resort - nothing flash, just good, tasty, wholesome food.

The cottages were old, but we did not really care much since we were outside most of the time.

The service is something I would give a 10/10 - this is definitely an USP of this place. Every single person in the resort is extremely helpful and were willing to go out of the way to make us feel happy and relaxed.

Overall, I thought the 7.7K per night deal was worth it, given that the 4 of us had a great time for the 3D/2N we spent in Devbagh. Our friends also enjoyed a great deal. The location, the beach and the service were the truly outstanding attributes of this place.

We left the place Saturday, 3 Nov morning after breakfast. We had the whole day to spend since out return was only at 11 PM. So we took a taxi and went to Palolem Beach, Goa, which is just 35 km from Karwar. Our bus (Paulo Travels) was also starting from Goa, and we managed to get in from Canacona instead of from Karwar. So we got a lot of time that afternoon in Goa (around 12 noon to 9 PM), most of which we spend in the sea. We have this place which we particularly like - Papillon Beach Huts and Restaurant- which is right on the Palolem beach towards the southern most end of the beach.

We got back to Bangalore Sunday morning, around 9AM - this time we got a Volvo with both sleeper and semi-sleeper options. The return journey was a lot better than the onward.

All in all, it was a lovely weekend trip, as is always the case when we chose a Jungle Lodges Resort.

Room Tip: Take cottages 11, 12 which are at the far end. they are the closest to the beach and are the most pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psree16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 206 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have stayed in a lot of jungle lodges and this one is one the best locations. Some positives:
* All the cottages or loghuts face a lovely beach. * The beach was just a few steps from our cottage. * As this resort is located virtually on a island where the only other thing is a fisherman's village, it has almost complete privacy. The only people you will meet on the beach are the ones from the resort * Food is pretty good. Even for veggies. * Camp fire every evening just on the beach is also good. * Activities are limited but we did not get bored in our 3 night stay mostly because of the lovely beach. * Ayurvedic spa is also decent. * Hammocks! Some negatives: * Accommodation is VERY basic. I have posted a photo of cottage interiors. It just does not justify the 8k odd price they charge for the cottage. * Some cottages are aging with electric problems (fan or gyser not working etc) * Cleaning service of cottages is tad slow. Having stayed in other jungle lodges, the accommodation should be upgraded. E.g. River tern lodge rooms are much better. If this is done, this is a great place.

Room Tip: * Cottage 9-10 are the oldest and really aging. * We stayed in cottages 11-12 and they were ok. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Feet2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Am so glad we selected Devbagh Beach REsort for a reunion with college friends. It was a great place. Kudos to teh staff who were really courteous and helpful at all times. The program arranged for by the resort was great viz. Dolphin boat ride,nature walk, water sports, barbecue by the beach. Gave you enough time to yourself and at the same time provided enough options to keep you entertained. Dont expect some super fancy place. This is an Eco resort and the facilities are basic but extremely clean and well maintained. The loghut we stayed in was great - spacious, clean and tidy. Food was good too - basic and homely but very tasty. And they sure feed you a lot out here.
Its just about 3 hours from Goa so thats very convenient too. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a lovely weekend holiday with family or friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shwe_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had been to Devbagh 12 years ago when we were newly married and we wanted to renew the experince and show it to our kids too. We were a little apprehensive because there's a saying "All journeys to the past are disappointing". We were holding our breath till we landed on the island. But to our relief, it was the same magical place , hardly changed, the peacocks calling to each other in the Casurina trees and the waves kissing the sands.
Technically Devbagh is not an island but a peninsula located at the mouth of the Kali river . The first time around we didnt know this but this time we found it from Google maps! It is connected to land at the back but I guess it is thickly wooded and marshy and there is no road. Once you are on the beach, towards to your left it is more of river , waves are less, as you walk towards the right, it is more of proper sea. The life guard was telling us not to swim at the river side because it may all of a sudden become deep. The beach is very private because there wont be anyone other than the resort guests there. But the beach isn't very long , once you walk some distance there is a fishing village there , and there your privacy ends.
Jungle Lodges is a government owned property but this is the only place where I have seen governmet staff giving great service. The staff are genuinely warm and welcoming and they really want to please you. Most of them do not speak English on the island but they all speak Hindi and Kannada. The cottages and loghuts are basic in natue but all are air conditioned and well maintained. From any cottage, the sea is 3 minutes walk.
The restaurant is a open sided structure and the seating is a bit limited. When crowds are more the place is really not sufficient. Breakfast and lunch are served here. Dinner is served near the beach where they start a barbecue at 7 pm every night in season. They put chairs on the beach where you can sit and enjoy your dinner enjoying the breeze and the sound of the waves. The food is very good and very much homestyle and almost always south indian.
They have dolphin watch rides, banana boat rides and nature walks. Apart from this there is nothing much to do other than enjoying the sea and the solitude. If you are a person who is not totally in love with the sea, then you may get bored after a day. There is no television. 12 years ago there was no mobile connectivity and they used to talk to mainland on walkie talkies. On the first day of the stay my kids bitterly complained about the lack ov TV. By the second day they were running around the place and trying to locate peacocks, identify the insects ( which are in plenty) collect shells on the beach and enjoy watching the crabs fight with each other. This may be the only place of its kind where I can make them understand there is more to life than Doraemon and T20 cricket.
Take a book when you go. You get all the time in the world to relax and read, lying in a hammock. Time moves at snail pace and you really will start feeling there are more han 24 hours in a day. Enjoy every moment of it, because once you are back in the mad city , you are going to long for it.
Parents with small kids, please take note. There are lots of insects in the walking paths, including ants. make sure your kids dont get bitten.
One last thing, even though the accomodation is very basic, the place is pricey, think we are paying for the exclusivity :)

Room Tip: There are two kinds of cottages, the red stone ones and the brick ones. We found that the brick ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vidya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We went for 1N stay this sept end,except for clean rooms nothing is great.The high prices (Rs 7600 per couple)they charge are not worth paying for .Beach is small and there were no umbrellas /chairs on beach side so it was tough to relax in beachside ...it was quite hot , at least they could have planted few umbrellas.Food though non veg was manageable but for vegetarians was not that good.Before booking we had enquired about water sports on phone and were told by staffs about availability but after checking in we were quite disappointed to know that none of water sports (like snorkelling, banana boat rides,kayaking etc as advertised )would be available until Nov,guess only one speedboat was there.So it was basically a bit boring day as we had nothing to do apart from lazing on hammock.
I am sure Any other star hotels with same prices would have given better facilities.
We had good expectations from Devbagh beach resorts as we liked another JLR property - Kabini river lodge a lot,but overall devbagh was a disappointing experience.Was unlucky in spotting any dolphins.

Hope resort guys improve existing facilities and make it more attractive.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank travelle1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A trip to Karwar: Day 1:: It was a 3 days trip to Karwar. We took a train from Bangalore in the night at 10.40 and reached Hubli in the morning by 7.30. From Hubli we took a bus to Karwar. It was not a good bus, I mean it was not Volvo or deluxe bus; anyway we reached Karwar at 11.50. After reaching there I was amazed it was a small green city situated at the sea side. We went to the resort office and from there by boat we went to the island resort it is 7km away from the mainland. While going to the island, I saw dolphins. They were such lovely creatures that I saw first time. Finally we reached the island resort - it was beautiful, and what I liked was that is was very natural; they did not modify the island by planting garden trees or plants. Everything was so natural. We booked a small cottage which was facing the blue sea - the place was so calm it gives you lot of privacy. I personally don�t like overcrowded places; I want to be alone and just want to feel the nature and that�s what I got. We enjoyed the lunch - food was delicious, especially the fish. After lunch we just relaxed for some time and then we trekked towards the beach. There were lots of water sports, but am a hydrophobic so I didn't take the rides. I just enjoyed the waves, we saw the sun set while coming from the beach. It was truly awesome - if you like photography, you can click snaps. When you view sunset from the mountain and when you view it in the seaside, both have different beauty. We spotted scorpions and other creatures in the jungle. After that in the evening they arranged barbecue, in the night when you watch sea in the dark, while having barbecue and while sipping your beer it gives you a different relaxation. We spent the evening drinking and talking to each other - it was so romantic. After dinner we tried going to the jungle but after going a few steps, got scared and came back. It was a great experience. We slept late in the night and next morning we got up early and they took us for trekking around the island. We saw a temple there. Since he loves fishing, he was enjoying the fishing and I was doing my photography. Later we came back, had breakfast. After some time they took us for boat riding. We saw dolphins again and we saw the nearby islands. We came back, had lunch, spent some more time in the island and then we left the island by 4am and I made the promise to myself to visit this place again. Day 2:: After leaving the island resort, we went to Devbagh beach resort, we went to the resort office and in the same way they took us to the resort by boat. This resort is entirely different from the island resort - both have different beauty. Devbagh has long beach and green pine trees. Tents and cottages are situated by the beach side. We spent the evening by bonfire, barbecue and beer. They arranged the chairs, stools on the beach itself. Entire evening till the night we were just sitting there and watching the sunset and the waves. When sun rays fall on the waves, it looks like liquid gold. We saw the changing color sky appear orange, then red and then dark and then darker. We had our dinner on the beach and I was not feeling like going to my tent but we were so damn tired I went to the tent and slept. Suddenly I got up in the midnight and I heard the sea sound - it was more as compared to the day time because you can hear them more clearly in the silence of the night. We got up and walked towards the beach to see the waves. It was looking attractive in the dark. We went back and slept. Next morning they called us for trekking but we were feeling lazy to go. After that we both held hands and walked by the beach side to the forest. We saw people with the fishing nets. We watched the way they caught fish; then we roamed around the beach, fishing and after lunch, went back to the beach resort. End of the day I was feeling sad to come back, but I promised myself again to revisit the place and left for Bangalore.

Room Tip: Choose any room but do not go in summer, best time is from Sept till Jan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pranita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

What a place to stay. We were pleasantly surprised when we landed in karwar at their office. We were taken in a boat towards an island which was like a mystery place. Walk down 100 mts and u see cottages, hammocks, sounds of air gushing, peacocks, the waves striking the beach.....the whole place was set in a jungle with white sand beach. The cottages were as good as any room very clean with AC and had power back up too. But for all the couch potatoes....no TV. We didnt miss it. Even when the night sets in the place is lively. The food was very good and the people were very polite. In season time u can do lots of activities which were not costly. The walk along the beach was the best way to get close to the sea. Would be coming back again

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nits_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karwar
23.5 mi away
Sanskruti Quality  Resort
13.3 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
0.5 mi away
Leisure Vacations Westend, Karwar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
301 reviews
2.2 mi away
Karwar - Emerald Bay, A Sterling Holidays Resort
23.1 mi away
Om Beach Resort
Om Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Gokarna
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Lodges Devbagh Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Lodges Devbagh Beach Resort

Address: Opposite Kodibag Post Office, Karwar 581303, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Uttar Kannada District > Karwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Karwar
Price Range: $55 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A young Rabindranath Tagore once made a moonlit tryst with destiny on the magical Karwar shoreline. A midnight boat ride with his friends on a river that had transformed into a silver moon glade and a trek across the bathed-in-white sands of the Karwar Beach, was the young Rabindranath's epiphany. The place where he found his calling. That night he penned "Prakritir Pratishoota" or 'Nature's Revenge', his very first play - the piece that Tagore prized as the genesis of his literary career. Karwar is a destination. Sometimes it's the closest you reach within yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jungle Lodges Devbagh Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Lodges Devbagh Beach Hotel Karwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing