We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful holiday experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Majali Beach Village
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Karwar
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful holiday experience”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Thanks to Majali beach resort for making this one of my most memorable holidays ever. We stayed there for two nights in October. We chose non AC rooms, as at this time of the year the weather is pretty comfortable. The resort is located in the middle of a fishing village and bang on the beach. At times you'll find only yourself at the beach. The location is superb. Manager Mr. Pramod and other staff are friendly to the greatest extent. There is no room service, though I didn't feel any need for that either. Cons, as may seem to some people, no room service, no alcohol, no TV at rooms. Pros, as I found, nice courteous and helpful people, awesome location, serenity and calmness, great food just like home cooked ones, cleanliness. Overall if you love to spend a few days away from the hustle bustles of city life you must visit Majali.

Room Tip: We stayed at non AC room, didn't have a problem. This place and Karwar as a whole have a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CSanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
30
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

we stayed there for 1 day...thank god its only 1 day!
the location was awesome, thats the reason we booked the place. but the service and food is pathetic. there is no room service at all. breakfast was included in room rent, it's horrible and no hotel staff is available. cold and hard idlis . More over anything you ask (e,g, omlet instead of boiled egg) cannot be served(thats just one of many). I will never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank san_rc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

When I selected the resort I was skeptical about the quality of service and the quality of the beach. I was there during the high monsoons and hence the water rides weren't permitted by law. I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the beach. We were served with a good lunch on arrival. The menu is small but the food was authentic and served with great care. Breakfast is included in the price and other meals are charged. The manager takes personal care in preparing the food. He also personalised some services for us like setting up beach loungers and having a guy lookout for us while we enjoyed a swim in the sea. The resort also has a lake so you laze around and fish or firm up your upper body rowing a canoe. The beach is great. Its not crowded and there aren't hordes of locals staring at you while you are in the water. It is remarkably clean as well. The manager will help you out with almost anything. The icing on the cake was the beach cricket and volleyball. We had a great weekend.

Room Tip: We went for a simple non air conditioned room and it wasn't hot at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kc3981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

very calm n quiet place,u can sit back n enjoy the sea in front and lake behind ur cottage....the cottages are not luxurious as such.no tv , no room service, no beverages in a fridge(idk fo wat reason they have kept a fridge)...if u need something u can just call the manager,pramod, on his mobile number.hes a very nice guy,he helps u in whatever possible ways.when ur sleepin make sure your windows are sealed so that insects dont come in.
morning food is not at all bad,healthy , nutritious ,will fill your stomach!dinner was good too,try the chicken yellow in their menu.its kinda homely food i felt.
evening me n ma friends did kayaking in the lake,we dint get time to do other fun stuff like snorkelling,pedelling,fishing etc.(we did all dat in goa :P)
all in all we loved our stay at majali,u should give it a try!
and one thing id like to mention,before headin for majali i made a call to the sales office,mr.Abhay Pradhan to enquire about the resort.we were asked to deposit the whole amount in advance to their account.pls dont do that,they wont even let u cancel if u dint like the rooms.Better if u dont even speak to that guy !try to contact Mr.Pramod :)
njoi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank slimshady_kaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Its a nightmare !! dont even think of coming to this place... unhygienic rooms, shabby toilets, broken furniture, bad resort.....and room full of insects ! and by chance if you plan to call the sales office typically Abhay Pradhan,....then forget it ,,,,,he is one son of a B**** ! honestly they should be closed for cheating people since you cant even cancel it after seeing it ! we booked 2 rooms and could nt sleep whole night all of us stayed togather in one room inspite booking for 2 a/c cottages !! and could nt sleep because of the insects and we could nt do anything because there is no tv no telephone...in totality its a waste of money !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ManojDimri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Waking up in the morning and having to choose between a beach in the front and a small lake at the back of your room is not an everyday luxury for cityfolks. Majali provides that and much more. Its a beautiful, calm resort which gets even better if you are the only family in there during your stay. The rooms in themselves are pretty clean and the service is good but the main attraction is the location. The beach is right in front of the resort, and since not many visit this beach, most often you have it to yourself. Morning walk by the beach, sand in your feet, watching the fishermen go about their work is a treat to your senses. Added to it is the lake at the back, which although is not very clean, will do good as long as you don't slip into it. Kayaks, pedal boats and rowing boats for activities. Hammocks and Beach chairs for your relaxation. Not much of a play area for the Kids, but they sure enjoyed playing in the sand all the time and running around. We went out and tried the local cuisine most of the times, so can't really comment on their food. Breakfast was average though, and so is the service, but the eagerness and smiles of the staff makes that a pleasant experience too. The staff is non-interfering and leave you to yourselves, and at the same time are more than eager to assist you should you have any issues.The resort manager Pramod is an extremely pleasant and cordial person. All in all, it is an amazing place to Retreat, Relax and Rejuvenate yourselves.

Room Tip: We opted for the row cottages and had a pleasant experience there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShaistaBanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed there during the Republic Day weekend and the weather was at its best too... Resort manager was very helpful in guiding us to the resort as otherwise we would have missed that exit from the highway. For a family of 2 adults and 3 kids, we took the row cottage and had awesome experience.. we did nothing but relax and that is exactly what we had in mind before booking this resort.. With beach in front and and lake at the back , what more can we ask for.. There were hammocks to unwind, and kayaks and pedal boats to enjoy the lake at your convenience, of course they had life-vests too. We spend our stay playing badminton, taking walk along the beach, picking shells and eating their nice homemade food. It was great that we didnt even miss the fact that they didnt have TV or phones in the rooms... in fact thats a great idea,as we totally enjoyed spending time with nature....Only suggestion I would give is for them to have a snack vending machine or atleast some store bought snacks like lays packets etc that kids really missed while there. We didnt think about this earlier and once we were inside the resort, it was not easier to go outside to get anything of that sort. Majali's major plus is the location !! As they are in the same stretch of land that ends in Devbagh's Jungle Resorts.. At first when I didnt get availability for Devbagh resorts, I was disappointed and was paranoid to book in this resort, but after having visited and stayed here, I can now say I was 100% wrong. Infact I would prefer this than Devbagh if you take cost-experience ratio !! I would definitely recommend Majali to anyone without second thoughts and would not think again myself to stay here in future... Thanks Majali team for a great experience..

Room Tip: Get snacks ahead if you have kids with you and are planning to stay put here until you check out. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karwar
3.9 mi away
Leisure Vacations Westend, Karwar
10.3 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
294 reviews
10.9 mi away
Bhakti Kutir
Bhakti Kutir
#5 of 19 in Canacona
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
1.8 mi away
Karwar - Emerald Bay, A Sterling Holidays Resort
4.1 mi away
Aditi Comforts Service Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majali Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majali Beach Village

Property: Majali Beach Village
Address: Majali Beach, Majali Village | Uttar Kannada dist, Karwar 581345, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Uttar Kannada District > Karwar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Karwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majali Beach Village Resort is located in Majali Beach surrounded with green plants; beach is 1 minute walk from rooms. The rooms are in different categories like row cottages, 4 non ac and 2 ac facing both lake and sea standard rooms, 8 no facing lake non ac wood house, 1 tree house 1 and mini tree house 1. All are with attached bathrooms. There is no room service. Alcohol strictly prohibited in resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Majali Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing