We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“School Camp - Quality”

Merrijig Motor Inn Resort
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merrijig Motor Inn Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Merrijig
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“School Camp - Quality”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Merrijig Motor Inn is a great place for school camps especially those heading to Mt Buller. The accommodation is great, rooms comfortable, meals terrific and the staff are friendly and always willing to help at any stage to ensure we have a great stay. I recommend the Motor Inn for any school groups who are thinking on travelling to the snow for camps.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    64
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
59
27
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Where to start.... The Merrijig Motor Inn is an excellent discovery! The staff are super friendly & nothing is too much trouble. The location was ideal for the perfect getaway close to river, Mt Buller. Room clean & tidy, gardens a relaxing area to read or indulge in a drink. Locals friendly & will give you a laugh.
I will be back again & again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieDaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Room fine, location excellent, hosts great company, meals excellent (esp. the steak), fair prices, directions to places we wanted to see, got us there and back ok. Really enjoyed our stay. (Brett owes me a beer!!!!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 733Lorraine_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Thanks again for having us to stay. Another enjoyable weekend.
Staff is always willing to help and rooms are clean and comfortable.
Great base for people going fishing, going to Mt Buller, motor bike riding or just checking the area out. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Our second visit . We stayed last year and were happy that the friendly owners and staff were just as helpful and pleasant as last time . Our rooms were clean and comfortable , excellent value for money and the mountain views from the verandah are beautiful . Unfortunately we didn't see the wombat this time but lots of bird-life including blue wrens.The cooked breakfasts are delicious .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Anila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Room full of spider webs - big ones on the room corners with 2 daddylonglegs spiders, worst soap provided, 1000 small flies in the room. $50 fine for not washing dishes ....

9pm and reception is closed...



Is just a junk

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aistropes_Stones, Owner at Merrijig Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dera Baiazid

Thank You for your feedback for our Family Owned Motel, we apologise that we did not meet your expectations as looking after our Guests is our highest priority. In answer to your comments:

We assessed the room you stayed in but as your review was 2 months after your stay there were no signs of spiders or webs, if you had commented at any time of your stay we would have gladly fixed the problem then and there.

Signs are in all rooms regarding washing dishes and extra cleaning charge, it is to be noted: rooms that leave minimal mess are not charged.

Winter hours are 7.00am - late, if there are no customers in Restaurant we leave for the night. Late arrivals find their heater and lights on in their room awaiting their arrival. As a small family owned motel......we live on site and mobile numbers are on front door for any problems clients may have.

Again Thank You for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Such a shame that the people were very helpful and informative even if they did hire chains to you knowing chains were not needed!

Equipment hire charges are different on website and when you're there and when you realised once back in Melbourne there's a discrepancy. Was told my husband was given back $10 cash when he wasn't - it was another couple who returned equipment and chains a day early. The overall $ discrepancy is small but it's the principle of the matter.

But what has made me upset is the fact that my daughter left her Beanie Kid Bunny on her top bunk and the staff insist its not there. Clearly the toy bunny hopped off and away.

Disappointed. Thankfully we had awesome snow. Will stay at Pinnacle or Delatite next time - both way above 2 star rating.

Room Tip: Do not choose bunk room divided by bathroom. There is a noisy machine of some sort behind 2nd room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aistropes_Stones, Owner at Merrijig Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear CJW88

Thank you for your stay with us in August and for taking the time to share feedback. We appreciate the opportunuty to clarify the points you have raised.

Chain Declaration is actuallly a law and is declared by Resort Management Board daily in the winter months. We have no control over this and it is very important that review readers
DO NOT take notice of this comment as fines apply if you are caught with no chains on a declared day and on top of that you will be sent back down the Mountain to hire chains. Please see picture posted for the day CJW88 stayed with us. Chains are declared for Customer Safety.

It is to be noted that most Hire Stores do not give money back for goods returned early and we pride ourselves for being able to offer our guests/clients the chance of swapping equipment so they can experience all the snow has to offer eg: skiing, snowboarding or tobogganing.

We are very sorry about Beanie Bunny but as you know staff went and checked straight away as we do not like upset children or guests but unfotunately Bunny was nowhere to be found.

We were pleased that you had plenty of snow for your stay and hope you will give us another try sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrijig
4.0 mi away
The Sebel Pinnacle Valley Resort
10.8 mi away
Duck Inn Mt Buller
Duck Inn Mt Buller
#1 of 8 in Mount Buller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
22.1 mi away
Bonnie Doon Hotel
Bonnie Doon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bonnie Doon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites
10.4 mi away
Alzburg Resort
Alzburg Resort
#2 of 3 in Mansfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
10.5 mi away
Mansfield Motel
Mansfield Motel
#1 of 3 in Mansfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrijig Motor Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrijig Motor Inn Resort

Property: Merrijig Motor Inn Resort
Address: 1915 Mount Buller Rd, Merrijig, Victoria 3723, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Merrijig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Merrijig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Merrijig Motor Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Merrijig Motor Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrijig Motor Inn Resort Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing