We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crap”

Merrijig Motor Inn Resort
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merrijig Motor Inn Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Merrijig
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crap”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Room full of spider webs - big ones on the room corners with 2 daddylonglegs spiders, worst soap provided, 1000 small flies in the room. $50 fine for not washing dishes ....

9pm and reception is closed...



Is just a junk

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mircea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aistropes_Stones, Owner at Merrijig Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dera Baiazid

Thank You for your feedback for our Family Owned Motel, we apologise that we did not meet your expectations as looking after our Guests is our highest priority. In answer to your comments:

We assessed the room you stayed in but as your review was 2 months after your stay there were no signs of spiders or webs, if you had commented at any time of your stay we would have gladly fixed the problem then and there.

Signs are in all rooms regarding washing dishes and extra cleaning charge, it is to be noted: rooms that leave minimal mess are not charged.

Winter hours are 7.00am - late, if there are no customers in Restaurant we leave for the night. Late arrivals find their heater and lights on in their room awaiting their arrival. As a small family owned motel......we live on site and mobile numbers are on front door for any problems clients may have.

Again Thank You for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    64
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
62
27
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Such a shame that the people were very helpful and informative even if they did hire chains to you knowing chains were not needed!

Equipment hire charges are different on website and when you're there and when you realised once back in Melbourne there's a discrepancy. Was told my husband was given back $10 cash when he wasn't - it was another couple who returned equipment and chains a day early. The overall $ discrepancy is small but it's the principle of the matter.

But what has made me upset is the fact that my daughter left her Beanie Kid Bunny on her top bunk and the staff insist its not there. Clearly the toy bunny hopped off and away.

Disappointed. Thankfully we had awesome snow. Will stay at Pinnacle or Delatite next time - both way above 2 star rating.

Room Tip: Do not choose bunk room divided by bathroom. There is a noisy machine of some sort behind 2nd room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aistropes_Stones, Owner at Merrijig Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear CJW88

Thank you for your stay with us in August and for taking the time to share feedback. We appreciate the opportunuty to clarify the points you have raised.

Chain Declaration is actuallly a law and is declared by Resort Management Board daily in the winter months. We have no control over this and it is very important that review readers
DO NOT take notice of this comment as fines apply if you are caught with no chains on a declared day and on top of that you will be sent back down the Mountain to hire chains. Please see picture posted for the day CJW88 stayed with us. Chains are declared for Customer Safety.

It is to be noted that most Hire Stores do not give money back for goods returned early and we pride ourselves for being able to offer our guests/clients the chance of swapping equipment so they can experience all the snow has to offer eg: skiing, snowboarding or tobogganing.

We are very sorry about Beanie Bunny but as you know staff went and checked straight away as we do not like upset children or guests but unfotunately Bunny was nowhere to be found.

We were pleased that you had plenty of snow for your stay and hope you will give us another try sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Booked the family room for an overnite stay for a 2 day Mt.Buller trip. Nice and warm reception from the staff, even gave us the early check-in option after we called up and said that we have a lot of snow gear and just asked if we can un-load some baggage on our 1st day. The snow hire prices were a little bit higher than what you get in Mansfield. Good food with large portion sizes, only down side was when they served just toast and jam and cereal for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kel521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here and skied 2 days at Mt Buller. The family who own and work in the business are really lovely and go out of their way to assist. We were rung on our way there to be asked about arrival time and the heater was on in our room on our arrival. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The pizzas on Friday night were excellent. We were able to leave gear and collect on our way back from our final day. The setting is lovely and would be beautiful in summer as a base from which to go walking. Thanks very much, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The staff here are wonderful, very happy to help. They had wood fired pizzas for dinner the night we stayed and our 2 boys, my husband and i felt right at home. The rooms were clean and centrally heated via a wall radiator, but in need of an update. The on site ski hire was also very handy and competitively priced. They even offered a demonstration of how to easily fit the tyre chains if needed. We went to Mt Buller for a day to toboggan with our boys and then stayed here before heading home. Breakfast was just like being at home :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myponga, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

You can see that the hosts and staff get on well. They work as a team and provide great service that's friendly.. You even get to meet some of the locals in the area with stories to tell. The food they serve is honest tasty grub.. Large serves, awesome wood fired pizza and if you ask them they can do just about anything.. You won't be disappointed. They will look after you.. As for the surrounds.. Really only 35 mins from the top and easy to manage.. Plenty of wide open spaces and close to lots of park and hiking areas.. A year round stream right out the back with trout. If you are lucky you might see a wombat.. Thanks to all the team and we will be back again..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawts D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aistropes_Stones, Owner at Merrijig Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi Lawts D
Thank you for your great review, we agree the pizzas are very tasty. It is a nice easy drive to the top from here and our accommodation is for the budget minded. Our resident wombat is frequently seen from room 17.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrijig
4.0 mi away
The Sebel Pinnacle Valley Resort
10.8 mi away
Duck Inn Mt Buller
Duck Inn Mt Buller
#1 of 8 in Mount Buller
165 reviews
10.5 mi away
Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
#2 of 8 in Mount Buller
139 reviews
10.4 mi away
Alzburg Resort
Alzburg Resort
#2 of 3 in Mansfield
171 reviews
10.5 mi away
Mansfield Motel
Mansfield Motel
#1 of 3 in Mansfield
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrijig Motor Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrijig Motor Inn Resort

Property: Merrijig Motor Inn Resort
Address: 1915 Mount Buller Rd, Merrijig, Victoria 3723, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Merrijig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Merrijig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Merrijig Motor Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Merrijig Motor Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrijig Motor Inn Resort Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing