We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Approdo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Approdo Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Marco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Spent a week here with 'Just You' holiday company. My room was spacious, spotlessly clean and had wonderful views. The staff were all extremely helpful, friendly and polite. Breakfast, buffet style, had a wide range of choices and was extremely good. The evening meal was also good with a varied choice. One of our party was ill during the holiday and the chef went out of his way to provide her with a plainer alternative meal.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank pmfWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 493 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

For the third time we have reached l'Approdo in July to spend a week in this marvellous setting of San Marco little harbour. Each time with the same pleasure to see again the welcoming staff and manager. The rooms are very spacious and confortable, each with a balcony on the sea. Food is perfect. From here you can enjoy the beach, the pool or trips by ship to Capri and the Amalfi Coast or by car to discover the magnificent landscapes of Cilento. As a free gift, on the evening, the sunset on the distant Capri.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Francesca1080245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Just back from L'Approdo, after 2 week hols.
First observation, is really a younger family hotel, with very few English couple/families. Is very much for the Italians, but do not let this stop you going as is a really good place.
We read complaints about food, but really do not know why was stunning day after day, the buffet alone at lunchtime has 67 diff dishes, all freshly prepared, plus a massive selection of cooked to order, fish, squid, steak, chicken, sausages etc..truly brill.
The menu in evening more limiting but 3 courses, the first 2 fill you up totally !
Do not expect ANY english rubbish ! no chips/burgers/curries etc..this is the real deal ! and fantastic.
Wine massive selection from around 10 Euros a bottle, and to be fair we didn't really come across any other local bar/restaurant charging much less or more..The maitre d, is a real gent speaks perfect english and could not be more helpful.
The rooms we had 1 and our 16 year old next door, was cleaned to within an inch of its life, daily.
Very very quiet area only 3 bars in Town, but bus is brill and beaches are 10 min walk, lovely sand, great waves etc.
When being allocated sunbeds on beach, try to get central, not where sea comes in as seaweed stinks, and is cleared daily.
Agreat place..a wee bit pricey on the barbill, but that was our fault !

Room Tip: second or third floor definately, best views and balconies, we had 219/220 perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank GeoffL45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Very friendly, informative and helpful staff. Breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice. Dinners were good and as someone who is unable to eat pasta there was always plenty of choice, table wine and water included in the price. On our last night we had tiramasu as a special dessert. I had a large room which was kept spotless and towels and sheets were changed every day. I was on the first floor and had a great view over the pool, sea and harbour. San Marco di Castellabate is unspoilt, the views are stunning and the the Cilento region is very beautiful and has much to offer in the way of sight seeing and history.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Billsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

This hotel is very well located for exploring the Cilento area. Staff were very friendly & helpful with many able to speak very good English. Our room included a kitchenette with extra living space, which was very welcome, as well as having a lovely balcony with stunning views, Breakfast was a buffet style but with lots of choices and was very good. We only ate in the hotel on one evening and the food was excellent and much better than local restaurants we used. No English/Sky TV was only slight downside.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Liam060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I have just returned from here after a week's holiday with Just You, who have chosen this hotel for their first venture onto the Cilento Coast. The hotel has MANY positives, and only a few negatives that I could find.

The location in the small marina of San Marco is superb. Breathtaking scenery, and very handy for the small village, yet only 10 minutes walk to a beautiful beach. It has it's own small private beach, but sadly that was very pebbly and shingly.

My bedroom was situated on the second floor with a view looking partly over the private beach, the pool and down to the small marina. It was so close to the sea that you could hear the waves at night. The room was very spacious with a safe, fridge bar, enormous bed, and excellent bathroom. It was kept spotlessly clean at all times.

All the hotel staff speak English to a greater or lesser degree and are very helpful and friendly. We could not have felt more welcome.

The large breakfast buffet was very nicely done, with everything from scrambled eggs and bacon, to cold meats and cheeses, toast, jams, crossiants, yogurt and fresh fruit.

The evening meal was generally good. Starter of either pasta or soup, and then usually a choice of fish or meat. I never had the meat, but judging from what other people said it wasnt always cooked enough. Nice choices on the seafood though. One critism on the service is that usually it was quite slow. On our last night I gave up trying to get a dessert.

The pool area was kept very clean, and the pool looked very inviting, but I was concerned about the ladders going into it, so did not use it at all.

Due to the earliness of the season and the layout of the hotel we were generally cold at night, particulary in the dining room, although some heating had been put on, and extras blankets put on the bed.

I would sum up by saying a very positive experience on the whole

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank bondenNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The hotel is rated as a four star but we have stayed in three star hotels that are just as good.
Food was good but not exceptional.
The hotel building is an odd design and is looking a bit frowsy in places. The room layouts can differ, some open-plan, some with a seperate 'lounge' area and bedroom, ours was a sort of triangular shape but was a reasonable size and had a bigger balcony (facing the sea). Rooms facing the pool and sea had sun from early afternoon until sunset (beautiful sunsets). Rooms facing the harbour didn't appear to have any sun at all.
A pleasant part of Italy but not so much to do. No opportuity for sight-seeing. We were there for 10 days and walked and swam every day, but for us 10 days were enough.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick-Beckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mareluna
Hotel Mareluna
#2 of 3 in San Marco
272 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palazzo Belmonte
Palazzo Belmonte
#5 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
244 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Punta Licosa
Hotel Punta Licosa
#1 of 2 in Ogliastro Cilento
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Pompeo
Hotel Residence Pompeo
#13 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
64 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Garden Riviera
Hotel Garden Riviera
#4 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paradiso Residence
Hotel Paradiso Residence
#1 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Approdo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Approdo Resort

Address: Via Porto, 84048 San Marco, Castellabate, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Marco
Price Range: $229 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Approdo Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Residence L’Approdo is situated in San Marco di Castellabate, a fishing village, 120 km south of Naples, in one of the Italian National Parks.The builiding offers 41 Junior Suites and suites and 36 apartments (self-catering) for 4 or 5 persons, swimming pool and private beach, restaurant (ground floor), reception (24h), bar. All rooms and apartments have balconies with sea view. Entertainment crew in high season and centralized air conditioning (July to August) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Approdo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Approdo Hotel Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing