We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful taste of great local cooking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rankin's Jerk Pit

Rankin's Jerk Pit
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Bodden Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego
Level Contributor
180 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“A wonderful taste of great local cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

This place is close to where we were staying so we gave it a try. Food was simple but awesome. Do not be put off by how it looks. It is a very clean place with great staff and wonderful food. Besides the jerk try the Conch burger excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MauiMKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    58
    21
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Enterprise, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great local jerk, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Rankin's was my choice to grab a local plate of jerk while on the island - I wasn't disappointed. The large jerk plate offered a breast and thigh, rice and beans, slaw, and potatoes. It was a huge lunch and probably one of the best values we found on Grand Cayman. The walk-up window service was fast and friendly. I really wished I had the time to eat here a few more times - the menu looked great!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Always a Delicious Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stopped at Rankin's Jerk Pit after a long day of travel. We picked up take out and brought back to Turtle Nest Inn to eat and get settled. We had the ribs along with chicken dinners. The food was delicious! Our meals came with chicken, rice and beans, and macaroni salad.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Local cuisine and it was priced right! Great Lunch..we took a few platters back to the house and shared it with the family!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rankin's Jerk Pit visit April 10th”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Visited Rankin's for lunch on our first day in Grand Cayman on our trip. Delicious food and resonable prices. It is not fast, as it seems most orders are cooked/assembled as they are ordered - so be patient. Staff was friendly. Indoor and outdoor seating is available. Judging by the fact there were plenty of locals that were getting take out there while we had lunch was a good sign. Ordered a large jerk chicken, which was served with rice and beans and other sides. Portions were huge, i probably could have gotten by ordering a small order and had more than enough.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colsen_n_PalmersDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rankin's Jerk Pit also viewed

Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Gun Bay, Grand Cayman
 
Old Man Bay, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Rankin's Jerk Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing