We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, reasonably priced food!”
Review of Rankin's Jerk Pit

Rankin's Jerk Pit
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Bodden Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good, reasonably priced food!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We took the whole family to Rankin's for lunch the other day. The jerk chicken was good, but not as spicy as I expected. My husband has a theory that there's a difference between Cayman jerk and Jamaican jerk. Not sure that's the case, but whatever. I saw some containers of sauce by the pick-up window, and I think we probably should've grabbed some. The chicken was quite good and flavorful. My mother-in-law didn't care for the chicken curry, but she can be a picky eater. I liked that they had kid-friendly chicken tenders and fries on the menu, as well. We ended up paying an average of $10 US per person with soft drinks -- a bargain! And that's with three of us ordering the large plates of chicken! Had fun sitting under the thatched umbrella watching the chickens run around. We apologized to them for eating their cousins. ;) The ladies working the order/pick-up windows were very friendly and able to answer my questions about how the jerk chicken was prepared (confirmed that the jerk chicken there has no flour/soy sauce/beer; I have Celiac disease and had no reaction to their food).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krjminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    58
    21
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Island Food!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was our first meal on the island and it set the bar high! Knew it would be good when we had to wait in line with locals. We got a small order of jerk pork and a small order of jerk chicken and some fritters. All was delicious and more than enough for two people. We meant to go back, but we didn't ever make it for a second stop. If you stay in Bodden Town, I recommend that you eat here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank phikapphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Delicious Jerk”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stopped by here on our final day on the island and wish we had visited sooner. The jerk chicken (the small is plenty for one person) was spicy and delicious and the lightly seasoned fries were the perfect complement. I cannot wait to return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadMaxEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jerk Pork....I would like to add a couple more stars...ULTRA Excellent”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Incredible flavor, very nice place with probably the best value to be found. Ultra casual or take out, can feed everyone twice out of the same meal...yes, you get that much food in a large order.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank RumRunnerMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“4 days of not so good foods and finally! a pearl in the Caribbean!”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I really hold good food as an important part of vacation. After four poor outings we hit Rankin's Jerk Pit! This rainy miserable Cayman Island vacation now has a high note! My wife and daughter got the Jerk chicken and I decided to get the spicy ribs! Talk about instant mood change! We will be back a few times to this eatery.

The price was $37.00 use for drinks and main dishes. Good price, good food and the folks working were pleasant as well.

Viola!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichobemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rankin's Jerk Pit also viewed

Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Gun Bay, Grand Cayman
 
Old Man Bay, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Rankin's Jerk Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing