We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Water Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Beach - South Water Caye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

OK, so first up - this was not cheap but it was worth it.

Imagine - a pristine sandy beach, hammocks tied between palm trees, clear and clean water that you can see straight through, a mass of tropical fish, rays and the odd reef shark that you can snorkel to from the beach in a 2-3 minutes.

if you want bars, music, late nights, facebook updates, emails etc - this is not for you
If you want to be "lost" on a desert island to truly unwind or as a special getaway then this is right up there, although most people dont stay more than 5-7 days

The island itself is about 1/2 long, and made of three areas, the Pelican beach is one of these and has enough space for c25 guests in cabins. We went on the all inclusive package (all meals, water, fruit juices and unlimited supply of biscuits during the day - which is a nice touch). the food wasnt huge portions, but you could ask for seconds of any of the courses, although with the warmth and the laziness of most of the days we didnt need it. It was tasty and they took into account allergies and tastes (that they asked you when you arrived)
the trip from their main hotel (In Dangriga) to here was 25 mins by (bumpy) speedboat, across and through some of the reefs.
The island is eco friendly and there are charging points in the main reception area that guests can plug into and wifi there as well if you ask (although can be slow and a little unreliable, maybe due to demand)

Recommend the snorkel trips as well as snorkeling off the beach and also just sitting watching the pelicans eat as the sunsets into the sea.

Very friendly service for trips and dinner, lovely end to our holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpoonsNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 197 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a wonderfull time at the Pelican Beach resort. We stayed in a cabin over the water with great views. In the tree next to us an oprey was resting every night. Snorkeling at the Island is very good, but also go to the further reefs and you will love the underwaterlife, Great for fishing and there are kayaks to use. The cook has some great special dishes and the staff is very kind.
Loved to stay here.

Room Tip: The honymoonsuite andthe Oprey's cabin are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BakkerNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our family loved this hotel. Incredibly secluded - like on a deserted island. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Arranged snorkeling and fishing trips. Dinner is limited menu, but good quality and authentic cuisine. My kids loved that you could swim and snorkel right from the beach. Very quiet and peaceful -- no TVs or AC - just relaxation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NameName1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My sister and I are just back from a fabulous snorkeling trip to Belize. We stayed at the Pelican Beach Resort on South Water Caye (an outpost of the Pelican Beach Resort in Dangriga). If you are into snorkeling, this is the place to go. You can easily swim to the reef right off the beach. (My sister and I are not especially strong swimmers and we felt fine doing this.) The fish there are fantastic -- a huge variety, incredibly brightly colored, and big! We saw almost every kind of fish in the guide book we brought. Then, you can sign up for side trips on which the resort's boatman takes you on other local snorkel sites that are only 10 or 15 minutes away. Also, there is some impressive birding; and we saw several manatees on one of the side trips. There is also lots of different types of coral to see, although not as colorful as we had imagined.

The accommodations are fairly basic. Most rooms are all on stilts. There are two single-room houses and the rest have two units. The dining is fixed menu and also fairly basic. The staff is small, but adequate for the small number of guests. And Theresita, the manager, is absolutely committed to providing the very best experience possible. I think she works a 16-hour day, making travel and side-trip arrangements for guests and making sure all aspects of the property run smoothly. She speaks to each guest at meals, checking to be sure all is well. It's truly a case of: If you aren't happy, Theresita isn't happy.

This tiny island is truly a paradise. Lovely coconut palm trees, clear blue water, and a white sand beach. I would go back in an instant. (Oh, and there is intermittent WiFi in the lodge/dining building and a small library with guidebooks to fish, coral, and birds.) Feel free to email me if you have questions.

Room Tip: Rooms are very basic. This is an outdoorsy location, not a luxury location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

With great anticipation, my husband and I returned to Pelican Beach on South Water Caye for a third visit. The first two stays were fantastic and this time measured up entirely. We have really found a place that matches our tropical island fantasies. Read the description and reviews carefully to be sure that Pelican Beach is a match for you. If it is, you can’t possibly be disappointed. We go to snorkel, snorkel, snorkel and relax. Other guests diversify that mix with fishing and kayaking. Whatever activities you choose to indulge in, you will be well-supported by a wonderful staff that keeps you well-fed and “watered,” equipped, transported and comfortably accommodated in airy cottages that are just right for the site. Indoor and outdoor housekeeping is impeccable. We loved exploring the different areas accessible right from shore – from around the pier pilings and in the mangroves where many tiny “aquarium-size” fish hid out, to the lobster and moray eel-hiding rubble zone, out over the turtle grass, around the patch reefs and out to fore reef where we took a side trip with Richie and saw a “grand slam: of 3 “ballet-performing” spotted eagle rays, a hawksbill turtle, a large lionfish, (sadly a foreign invader in these waters), schools of large tarpon and permits, plus all sorts of parrotfish, butterfly fish, porcupine fish and other gorgeous marine life. We took advantage of the guided night snorkel with Francisco again and were rewarded with sights such as marauding morays, lunging lobsters, a shy octopus, sleepy squid and trunkfish. During our last afternoon on SWC, we took a long, leisurely “farewell snorkel” from the beach. Much to our surprise, a very special guest appeared to give us a memorable send-off --- a manatee!!!!!!!!! What a thrill to watch the big, gentle creature “walk” on the floor of the ocean, rise to take a curious, but wary look at us, then slowly swim around below us and eventually off into the shadows. We may never have another encounter like that again, but you better Belize that we’ll return as many times as we can to experience the more predictable delights of Pelican Beach and in anticipation of discoveries yet to be made.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tellurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We came to Pelican resort for the first 4 days of our honeymoon in Belize- and it is definately one of our highlights of the whole trip! The managers, Leonard and Teresita (and Kev), were fantastic and we got a very warm welcome. We stayed in Heron's hideaway which was a fantastic cabana with a balcony over the water so you can see the fish below- very romantic, and if your up early enough the sunrise is beautiful to watch swinging from your hammock. The beach at Pelican is stunning, and very few people on it so it felt like our own private island! You can swim out to the coral reef from the beach (beautiful) and watch loads of different types of tropical fish and stingrays. My husband did the night snorkel which we highly recomend (he saw Octopus, Squid, Lobster). It was great to spend several days relaxing on the beach, snorkelling, taking the kayaks around the island and playing volleyball. The food was fantastic, there was always seconds offered and they did a great job of catering for my dietary requirements (wheat/dairy free) which was very impressive. The drinks were great and quite reasonable- Leonard does a great Pina Colada (and many other cocktails too). It's also a good place if you want to mingle with other guests which we did (and made new friends), or have privacy if you want to spend time as a couple- a good balance. We really hope we can come back some day.

Room Tip: Heron's hideaway is very secluded, great if your on your honeymoon, lovely views over the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

‘Tranquility’ is a potent word… A term frequently exploited by marketing directors nestled in urban skyscrapers trying to sell you something that doesn’t exist. More often than not, their rhetoric proves disingenuous and the consumer arrives at an over contrived and artificial destination.

Pelican Beach Resort on South Water Caye is one of those rare exceptions. Minimally manicured but meticulously maintained, Pelican recognizes that nature is Belize’s greatest host. From its blindingly white sand, to its transparent turquoise waters, to its lazily swaying palms, South Water Caye is a dollop of paradise on a sun soaked horizon.

If one can muster the motivation to crawl beyond their seaside hammock, a second world awaits: A mature barrier reef with a rich abundance of sea life (nurse sharks, morays, green sea turtles and scores of parrot fish). Literally two yards from shore, the undersea world comes to life offering beginner snorkelers and children an unintimidating introduction. For more seasoned enthusiasts, a brief 30-yard swim in wave-less water reveals breathtaking results with tremendous visibility at a maximum depth of 20. Don’t want to lug your gear internationally? No problem. Pelican has an arsenal of contemporary masks, fins, snorkels and wetsuits to rent. Can it really be this easy? Absolutely.

A review would not be complete without a nod to Pelican’s hospitality… Managers Theresita and her husband Leonard seem torn from the pages of the country’s Department of Tourism promotional brochure. Their Belizean warmth, friendly smiles and relaxed banter convinces you, within moments, that you have stumbled into one of Central America’s best-kept secrets. Complimented by their professional and attentive staff, Theresita and Leonard will make sure that your days are filled with snorkeling adventures on hidden reefs, fly-fishing trips for bonefish or, quite simply, no agenda at all so that you can devour the pages of that novel you’ve been waiting to read. Your only obligation, of course, is to visit the open air-dining quarters to consume the daily menu and over-indulge in the endless supply of homemade cookies and bottomless coffee.

Looking for tranquility? Your search is over.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passportpages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Water Caye
5.3 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
1,058 reviews
16.8 mi away
Isla Marisol Resort
Isla Marisol Resort
#1 of 1 in Glovers Reef Atoll
195 reviews
22.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in South Water Caye
92 reviews
5.6 mi away
Thatch Caye, a Muy'Ono Resort
Thatch Caye, a Muy'Ono Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
600 reviews
12.7 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 13 in Hopkins
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Beach - South Water Caye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Beach - South Water Caye

Address: Dangriga, South Water Caye 00000, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > South Water Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Water Caye
Price Range: $221 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Beach - South Water Caye 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two special locations, one great vacation - South Water Caye and Dangriga! South Water Caye, our island getaway-seaside cottages and rooms with fantastic views and cooling trade winds. On a gorgeous beach, atop the barrier reef and within South Water Caye Marine Reserve. Snorkel from shore, dive, fish, kayak or do nothing at all. Environmentally-friendly facilities with separate student group accommodations. For the simple pleasures - spending time together, sharing new adventures and making new friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelican Beach - South Water Caye Hotel South Water Caye
Pelican Beach - South Water Caye Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing