We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No A/C Bungalows only Large Comfortable Fan Rooms”
Review of Paraiso Siquijor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siquijor Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paraiso Siquijor
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Recently Paraiso was divided into two different facilities. When I first called I had assumed that they were providing me an A/C bungalow. On arrival I was told the Four A/C bungalows are no longer part of Paraiso. What remained was a single large native style bungalow with 3 separate fan rooms. The bungalow is set back and downhill from the reception/dining hall. One room has an internal bathroom, which is actually just a shower and toilet separated only by a shower curtain. The other two rooms have a separate shower stall and commode, located a few feet from the rooms.

The rooms had a queen size comfortable bed and table fan. It provided adequate circulation. However power during my stay, periodically disappeared. However they do have limited backup generator. The rooms are quite large and comfortable. The grounds of Paraiso are well manicured and quite beautiful with native flowers, plants and garden areas.

The combination reception/restaurant constructed with native materials is at the entry. It makes for a pleasant location for dining and relaxing. Their breakfast was simple, tasty and inexpensive.

It is very quiet and isolated from the village of San Juan. If you don’t have a motorbike your transportation means are very limited. The short rock strewn beach is only a few feet from your room. Sunsets are nothing short of fantastic.
I was initially disappointed that the A/C bungalows were not available but being tired and that the large fan rooms were priced at 500 php per night, I decided to stay. I was not disappointed as the ocean breezes more than adequately cooled my evening sleep. This was a bargain as smaller fan rooms were 2 to 3 times as much on the Island.

There were only 4 staff, they served as hostess, cooks, guides and were related to the owners. They were wonderful folks.

Room Tip: Simple Fan rooms, one with internal bathroom the other with seperate bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edinstk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed February 15, 2010

we just got back from our 2 weeks trip in islands like siquijor, camiguin, bohol and cdo.
we stayed first of February here, its a bit far from restaurants but the place is ok and the room was decent enough since they have very spacious room were we could move and place our things. the bungalow was new, and it was a nice although the hot/cold shower takes minutes to work. its a must to rent a motorbike since these place is a bit secluded to restaurants and other attractions. Siquijor seems to be untouched and not much of the tourist going here, but its a nice place if u want to have a very peaceful vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iloveskittles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2008

There are four brand new and very nice two story bungalows very close to the beach in Siquijor near San Juan. They are owned and run by a young French guy and his Filippina wife. The price was very good at $30 US dollars per night. Since the bungalows are brand new, everything worked and it was extremely nice compared to most worn out places in the Philippines. Good air conditioning, plenty of hot shower water and comfortable beds. The upstairs has more beds so each unit can accomodate even two couples sharing. The place is a bit isolated so unless you can ride a moped (rental available for $9 per day) you are stuck eating at the hotel and the menu is limited and relatively expensive but tasty. The beach is sandy but as is normal on this island, once in the water you're standing on shallow coral. The landscape of the place is new and spartan. If you rent a moped this place is great. Very few fish in the sea since they have all been eaten by the locals! So snorkeling is marginal but OK if you just like looking at coral. This applies to the whole island.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Homeboynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed November 9, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siquijor Island hotels
10.5 mi away
Casa de la Playa Beach Resort
11.8 mi away
Lazi Beach Club
Lazi Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Lazi
48 reviews
7.7 mi away
Islandia Beach Resort
Islandia Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in San Juan
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tori's Paradise
Tori's Paradise
#8 of 9 in Siquijor Island
59 reviews
6.1 mi away
Infinity Heights Resort
Infinity Heights Resort
#1 of 2 in Siquijor
126 reviews
2.8 mi away
White Villas Resort
White Villas Resort
#1 of 10 in San Juan
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paraiso Siquijor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraiso Siquijor

Address: | Maite, San Juan, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Siquijor Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Siquijor Island
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing