We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Siquijor Island
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveler rating
271
70
11
13
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
271
70
11
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese food play tennis the owner sea urchins free laundry service great tennis filipino staff spent two nights warm hospitality beautiful sea restaurant serves snorkeling trip free snorkeling gear japanese design local students chinese new year dive shop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 379 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2020

4 of us stayed at Marmarine over Christmas and had just such a lovely time. Daman and his team are the most friendly and lovely people and they welcomed us so warmly. We played tennis most days, and Daman organised a brilliant game of 'Gate ball' one evening (a kind of cross between croquet and golf). All felt so convivial and friendly! the resort is just beautiful - gorgeous green grounds, right next to a white sandy beach. We stayed in the Hero/Hifumi house which is beautifully designed and right by the sea. The food was super - we loved our Christmas dinner of sushi and coconut milkshakes! Went on a magical hunt for fireflies one evening and had a wonderful day out snorkelling too - just the 4 of us on our own boat with the crew who barbequed chicken out the back of the boat for lunch and led us to the best spots for tremendous snorkelling. Out of our 2 and a half week island hopping holiday, this is the place that will stay with me and that I would want to return to one day.

Room tip: go for the Hero/Hifumi house if possible!
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarmarineResort, Owner at Villa Marmarine, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Hello Ms.Jen,

Greeting's from Villa Marmarine!
We, thank you so much for sharing your experience during your stay with us.It is our pleasure to serve each of our guest with pure & heartily given Japanese Filipino service. We are looking forward for your next stay with us.
Wishing the whole family with abundant blessings to receive.

We, miss you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2019

It's good location with great view. This hotel is in front of awesome white sand beach. It's amazing. And you can eat delicious japanese food also. I really would like to recommend this hotel. Vila marmarine is best of hotel in siquijor.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Yusuke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarmarineResort, Owner at Villa Marmarine, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2019

Hello Mr/Ms Yusuki,

Greetings from Villa Marmarine!
We, thank you so much for dropping by your experience during your stay with us. Your words of appreciations motivate us to do more . We are looking forward for your next stay with us.
See you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Yes, book at Villa Marmarine …

IF …
… you want peace and quiet, though our stay was disturbed a bit by construction on the property beside the resort. But that’s not the fault of the resort.
… you don’t mind being away from where the “action” is. San Juan town is where the bars, restaurants and resorts are located one after the other, and is a 30 minute tricycle ride away for P250 each way (the sunset there is better).
… you want to be just a few steps down to a clean beach with fine white sand mixed with corals and small rocks (so best to wear aqua socks) and clear water, though there’s not much by way of marine life (you need to take a boat for a snorkeling trip in a marine sanctuary - ask the resort for the schedule and price). It's a mid-length stretch of public beach but almost private since there are very few neighbors (as of the date of our stay). Compare to the beach on San Juan (the area of Infinity Sands, Baha Bar, etc.) which has trash and dog poop (from lots of stray dogs) on the beach, and seaweed (I guess it’s the time of the year that seaweed goes to that area).

The resort has a lot of things going for it: very nice staff, onsite Japanese owners (so things run smoothly), clean rooms, reasonably priced food for a resort/hotel that’s mostly OK (best to stick to the Japanese and Filipino dishes), a rustic comfort feel except for the 2 most expensive rooms, Hero and Hifumi which are in a separate concrete structure (check the photos on their website). We stayed in Fuji room which had many of what we look for in a beach room/cottage: balcony facing the sea, hot and cold shower, TV, both airconditioning and ceiling fan coupled with screen doors and screened window on 2 sides so the windows and the sliding door to the balcony can be left open to let fresh air in (helped by the ceiling fan).

BUT … there are many small things that need improvement specially with Fuji room and which add up to lessening the quality of the stay, hence, the 3 stars instead of the 4 stars I think it deserves. These are:

– thin towels. We were originally provided with really thin, small bath towels that were almost translucent. We found out they have beach towels that are a bit thicker but are still on the small side and are frayed on the edges.
-- thin and rough toilet paper.
-- thin curtains that don’t provide any room darkening. Best to bring eye masks if you don’t want to be woken up by the sunlight early in the morning.
-- no paper or cloth napkins in the restaurant. Just a wet face towel which is typical in Japanese restaurants.
-- water in the shower has a rust smell. And the wall shows black molds. The bathroom needs to be renovated badly.
-- sink is in a separate room from the toilet. The toilet and bath are separate, almost across the room from each other. But the sink is beside the bath, so after using the toilet, one needs to walk across the room to the bathroom to wash. Again, renovation is in order.
-- there's a tiny spot to put a soap in the shower but no other shelf or other place to put your own shampoo, etc. inside the shower stall so we end up putting our stuff on the shower floor (yuck).
-- very limited and not very good wine and spirits selection. They only had 1 choice for red wine, a local gin and local rum (though Philippine rum is world class) but they had sake and shoju. We ended up walking to the bar several meters to the left of the resort (if facing the water) for proper cocktails and decent wine.

I wish I had a better review because the people there are really nice and other than the but's, it met our goal of a relaxing, comfortable stay, but those little things really bothered us.

I still recommend a stay at Villa Marmarine though as it ticks off the boxes for a serene, simple and friendly stay in Siquior with decent and reasonably priced food BUT only if you can book either of the 2 rooms in the separate concrete structure shown in the website called Hero and Hifumi which I was able to check out while they were being cleaned in-between guests so I know that they’re in better shape in terms of the condition of the in-room facilities. And I just checked the website of Villa Marmarine and they have raised their rates. Luckily, when we booked, the rate for Fuji room was still P2500 per night without breakfast. We didn’t spend more than P600 for 2 people for breakfast each day. But the new rate for Fuji is now P4500 with breakfast, or P2000 more per night. That’s more than 50% increase. With the condition of Fuji as of this writing, it isn’t reasonably priced even with breakfast and it’s not worth the higher rate. But the price for Hero and Hifumi didn’t seem to increase much. So really, stay in Villa Marmarine only if you can get either Hero or Hifumi unless they renovate Fuji (and keep the new rate).

Room tip: Hifumi or Hero unless you want rustic, then get any of the others facing the water that are separate from the main cottage.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chocoluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarmarineResort, General Manager at Villa Marmarine, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2019

Hello Ms.Eileen,

Greeting's from Villa Marmarine!
We, thank you so much for dropping by your experiences during your stay with us & we apologize for the room amenities & facilities that is out of your expectation. The management are planning to take action to each one of it and hoping for it to be finish & solve as soon as possible for the next occupant.

We will send you the finish outcome of our renovation in Fuji as soon as we finish.
We, thank you as well for dropping your good feedback regarding the services being rendered by my staff.

We are looking forward for your next stay with us!
Have a good day & wishing you abundant blessings to receive especially good health .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019 via mobile

Very nice resort!
Owner & Staff all very friendly & warm welcome!
We only stop by for lunch, super nice view!!
the chicken was sooo nice! Also my seafood pasta very yummy!!!!!
Can tell owner treat staff well, a young lady told me she have been working in the place since 15, only work part time after school and school holiday and her dad also work in same resort long time.....the young lady told me the owner builded the tennis court and he teaching the staff how to play tennis!!! Can feel the Love!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Idychung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarmarineResort, Receptionest-Boss Working Student at Villa Marmarine, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019

Hello Mr/Ms IdyChung,

Greeting's from Villa Marmarine!
We, thank you so much for dropping by your dine in experienced so do for appreciating our foods served.
We will continue serving quality foods to attain more diners & guest , for guest satisfaction is our happiness.Regarding our boss treatment , he /they treated as equal like his/their own family. Filipino's will really do their best to finish schooling inspite of puberty . Working students is one of the challenging part in life as a teenager & young individual.Lucky are we, for having our boss who wholeheartedly support & finance us in our studies. Students learned to manage their time as well ,as young as they are they will able to learned how to survive.As noted, that puberty is not a hindrance to success.We may suffer hardships and need to do hard work but in the end the fruits is "success".Our boss really help allot not just to us, but to the people in the Island for he help public schools.Many thanks, & we do hope to accommodate you in your next visit in the Island.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2019

It's our 2nd time @ Villa Marmarine, and the place is just perfect, the rooms are charming, spacious and very clean. The restaurant is excellent with lots of choices of Japanese food. The beach is cleaned every morning. The staff is very very nice, always ready to help you. The dive master, Jun Jun is excellent and very professional, he can show you some amazing stuff underwater whatever your level is. But it would be nothing without the owner, Dagman, who is always very cheerful, sets up games for the kids after dinner (crab hunt on the beach, (the crabs are released after the hunt...), Croquet game, origami, etc), helps you in every way he can, wants to play tennis with you, etc. We'll miss his Morning "Ohyo Gozaimas" or "Bonjour".

Room tip: Tomo and Hiko are nice rooms, with AC, in front of the beach.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarmarineResort, Owner at Villa Marmarine, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2019

Hello Mr.Simon,

Greeting's from Villa Marmarine!
We really thank you so much for choosing to stay with us for the second time for 9 nights. It was a days full of happiness & enjoyment. Having you as your guest give us , so much honor and privileged to know you more and with that we can conclude that you are really an amazing & friendly guest that we must treasure as always.
Thank you so much for you appreciated our simple yet from the bottom of our heart hospitality service with much to guest needs and satisfaction that we aim to provide. We are looking forward for your next stay!

We miss you here!

All the best!

Villa Marmarine Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews