We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and superb staff!”
Review of Villa Marmarine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siquijor Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Marmarine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed at Villa Marmarine 22-28 of December 2013. The place is really well kept, especially compared to the general standard in the Philippines.
We stayed in Sayuri, which was the biggest (?) cabin there. Being just two persons in an enormous family cabin was a bit funny, but also a nice luxury.
The tennis court was in superb condition. We had the chance to play with the staff (very good at tennis) and even got some technique teaching from the owner himself.
Even though the facilities were the best we had during our three week stay on Philippines, by far the best part of the place is the superb staff. I cannot think of any place where I've had a more friendly and helpful staff, who really seemed to enjoy their work.
The place is a short moped ride from the nearby towns.

Room Tip: Sayuri was enormous, however the sea view slightly blocked by the main house.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaiusP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Villa Marmarine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 244 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We arrived here and at first sight from the bar area it looked great so we decided to stay. We just had a standard for the first night which was ok. After that we had to move as the room was not available for longer. We ended up in one of the new rooms near the beach. First impressions were good until you tried to use the room. Imagine my surprise when trying to have a wet shave in a bathroom with no mirror! Nowhere at all to hang any clothes, one towel rail for all the wet towels, no lights outside the room, a fan that doesn't work, the ceiling fan that only works with the light on...
And don't get me started on the free laundry service which I thought was a great idea until my t-shirts came back looking worse than when they went!
The food here is very good and everyone is lovely, the service is typically slow though.
It's a shame more time is not spent keeping the gardens and other areas tidier as it really does look tired considering its not cheap.
Definitely needs to improve.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DarrellLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I Stayed at Marmarine for 2 nights and would have stayed longer if the weather was a little better. Since I was traveling alone, I stayed in one of the cheaper rooms near the parking area and found it clean and very comfortable. It has a private bathroom, and I thought it was a terrific value for just 500 pesos. The villa is nicely appointed along the beach, and there are quite a few cottages with ocean views and more luxurious accommodations as well. The restaurant has a beautiful deck that overlooks the beach, and serves good, fresh food. They rent scooters by the day to guests, which is a fun way to explore the island.

What really sets Villa Marmarine apart is the people. The proprietor, Mr. Harada, is a retired schoolteacher who built the place from the ground up with the help of his family. The place is more than a business - as a former educator, I believe Mr. Harada wants to help improve education for the local people. He has raised funds to improve facilities and infrastructure for the schools on Siquijor, and employs students at the hotel so that they can gain work experience. When I was there, they were also coordinating the use funds raised by rotary clubs in Japan to get direct relief to hurricane Yolanda victims. It's not something they overtly advertise, but I gathered this from reading newspaper articles they had posted in their office.

To be honest, my trip could have been a total bust because the tropical depression meant that we couldn't go diving. But meeting the wonderful people at this Villa Marmarine made up for the foul weather.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mochango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Marmarine has a selection of room types from simple fan nipa huts to fancy aircon rooms. We stayed in Fuji with a truly outstanding sea view.
The owner, Mr Harada is very warm and friendly and all of the staff were very warm, sincere and accommodating.
We took our 4 year old and she was treated like a long lost relative by all, which helped us very much.
The beach is lovely and like much of siquijor it feels very remote. If you are expecting glitz and glamour and amazing night life, siquijor is not for you. But if you want calmness, serenity and nature, then this is your place.
If you intend to swim, take some booties because, from the beach to get deep enough you have to cross some sharp rocks etc.
Marmarine is involved in local community projects and profits go to helping the local area.
So you can have a lovely relaxing time, and 'do your bit'.
Thanks to all the staff we had a lovely time! Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank matt1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Only built in 2008 and it looks like its been here for 50 years without any up keeping all these years.
The service is dramatically slow and the food quality awfully poor.
Low class decoration.
If you're looking for a good meal forget about it...

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexandraM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed 4 night at villa marmarine and would have stayed for longer if it wasn't for a connected flight from Dumaguete. What made this place so special was for us the staff, Miguel in the diving shop can help you with anything you ask and the owner Harada are more then happy if you want to join him and some of the staff to play tennis in the afternoon. He even arranged to play some japanese gateball on the tenniscourt one evening, if you ask nicely he will probably arrange it for you too (you have to be 10 players though).

Overall we had a great time at villa marmarine and we left with a big smile on our face.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Hanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and everything was just perfect: the view, the restaurant, the bungalow, the staff...
We realy enjoyed our stay here, it was calm, the wifi works very well and the breakfasts and dinner was deicious.

Room Tip: The Yoshi room was perfect!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tip59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siquijor Island hotels
5.9 mi away
Coco Grove Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Casa de la Playa Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Infinity Heights Resort
Infinity Heights Resort
#1 of 2 in Siquijor
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Kawayan Holiday Resort
Kawayan Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Cangmunag
75 reviews
7.0 mi away
Islandia Beach Resort
Islandia Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in San Juan
42 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tori's Paradise
Tori's Paradise
#8 of 10 in Siquijor Island
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marmarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marmarine

Address: Villa Marmarine Candanay Sur | Siquijor, 6225, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Siquijor Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Siquijor Island
Price Range: $16 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Marmarine has different types of rooms there is an air condition suite cottage and executive cottage and fan room executive, deluxe family room, standard double cottage, standard twin cottage, standard cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Marmarine Hotel Siquijor Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing