We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are outdated, over dates products ”

Villa Marmarine Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $6
Cuisines: Filipino, Japanese
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are outdated, minibar was not on; drinks over the date (read dating back to 2008). Nice staff and location but they really need to up their game when it comes to cleanliness of the rooms (we found long black hairs in the bathroom and confort room and old toothpaste and spit in the sink). Bedding look very old and different computer then it probably ones was. Feels disgusting. It’s definitely not worth paying €100 a night. Maybe €35 a night would be better. We really, really tried to look through it and make the best out of it, but at the end of the day I would not recommend staying here before sincerely upgrading the place and pay more attention to cleanliness. We scooters are outdated and the helmets are very dirty. We were pulled over by the local police who were even horrified and told us to complain with the hotel because of safety regulations.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 869charlottev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarmarineResort, オーナー at Villa Marmarine Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Ms.Charlotte,
Greeting's from Villa Marmarine!
We, thank you so much for sharing your experienced during your stay with us!
Just want to clarify some of your complains:
- With regards to the minibar drinks, as per checking it was not over the date . ( We do change our drinks in minibar as always and our stock is always new.)
-With regards to the cleanliness, we informed the housekeeping attendant with your well detailed description and do apologized if you feel so,but they assure and informed us that they do the "Take a last look before leaving the room after cleaning".
-It feels not worthy in your case ( the price of the room with breakfast) only but other guest don't complain about it since it is a reasonable price . We are not doing business only, but we help the people of the Island. You are lucky enough for you only paid 1 night and the 2nd night was free due to your complains.( We don't want trouble , because most of our guest value and satisfied by our pure and sincere service.)
- With regards to scooters conditioned , you must informed us the next day since you rented it at 5:30 pm upon knowing it, we can call from outside scooter for rent for you. Is it the reasons why you only admit that you used the scooter for 1 day only? were in fact you rented the motorbike at 5:30 pm last January 20 and you returned last January 21 at 9:30 pm.

Above all, we apologize and thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 62 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2019 via mobile

Really really nice Japanese food and an amazing view of the ocean, I would recommend it to anyone ! !

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank 740kaveria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarmarineResort, オーナー at Villa Marmarine Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Greeting's from Villa Marmarine Restaurant!
We, thank you so much for sharing your dine in experienced with us. We are so glad and thankful enough to received such. We are looking forward for your next dine in.See you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2019

The chef is very competent and friendly. He does Filipino very well and also the Japanese dishes with great competence. The soba noodle dishes were quite good, as was the tempura. Reasonably priced, as well, for resort living.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarmarineResort, Owner at Villa Marmarine Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019

Hello Mr.Chris,

Greeting's from Villa Marmarine Resturant!
Thank you so much for the positive reviews & appreciation.
We hope to see you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019 via mobile

I think the title says it all.
Our visit here was amazing!

They have a lovely beach to cool down while you’re waiting for you meal.

I was unfortunately recovering from food poisoning that I got in Dumaguete so I only ate rice but my partner had their sizzling squid which was excellent!!

They also went to climb for coconuts for us which was a nice touch!

Would definitely recommend. This was our best meal on the island!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank WandererCLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarmarineResort, Owner at Villa Marmarine Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

Hello
Greeting's from Villa Marmarine Restaurant!
We, thank you so much for dropping by your dine in experience with us.
We are happy to know such appreciation & satisfaction of yours.

It is our aim and goal to satisfy our dearest diners and guest with a plate of good food .
Hoping for your next dine with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2019

This place is a hidden gem: the setting is stunning, facing a beautiful beach lined with palm trees. Very peaceful, too. The restaurant offers japanese cuisine like very few other places do outside Japan. Fish and seafood are ultra fresh and there are special delicacies such as spaghetti with sea urchin sauce, green tea with mango shake... Service is impeccable. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MilongueraArgentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Marmarine Restaurant also viewed

Siquijor Island, Visayas
Siquijor Island, Visayas
 
Siquijor Island, Visayas
San Juan, Siquijor Island
 
San Juan, Siquijor Island
 

Been to Villa Marmarine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing