We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great visibility”

Tubod Marine Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Great visibility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Entrance fee is 50pesos. The weather and timing need to be perfect in order to enjoy this sanctuary. My parents, siblings and I stayed directly in front of this marine wonderland while staying at Coco Grove Resort. We first snorkeled at 10am during an overcast morning (slight drizzle, strong winds, no sun) and the visibility was terrible. We didn't see fish & the corals all looked the same. We tried again a couple of days after when the sun was out, and boy were we blown away. I guess it was feeding time for the fish because they were all out snacking on the weeds and corals. Able to capture tons of Nemos playfully posing before our underwater video cameras. It was such an extraordinary sight. The sanctuary gets deeper as it gets farther from the shore so visibility was expectedly affected as well, but there were more fish and corals down in the deep. Tubod pales in comparison with Apo Island (a nearby island that can be visited on a day tour) but is phenomenal nonetheless. By the way, the beach was also fantastic. A snorkeler's delight if the timing is right!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank crismanila77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best sanctuary on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

You will need to pay 100PHP each but it's well worth it. Swim amounst shoals of fish.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Roaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lots of fish without having to go far from shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

footies would definitely be helpful as there can be sea urchin lurking on the beach floor. Mornings are the best time to go snorkeling as fish can be plentiful round the corals. Afternoons, not so much. Nemos and Dories abound in mornings along with starfish and parrot fish. Just watch out for the occasional sea snake. They arent really aggressive but it is best to keep some distance.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jftesoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,560 reviews
489 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,271 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the marine life!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Most of the coral was bleached and we did see various fish and were lucky to see a large turtle however i wouldnt say its teeming with marine life. Perhals Ive been spoilt by the great barrier reef in Australia.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,971 reviews
848 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4,109 helpful votes
“Reasonable snorkelling but wonderful beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

This sanctuary is accessible through Coco Grove resort. Entrance fee is 50 pesos, payable to the small concrete office near the resort's Dive Centre.

It has a fair variety of fish: not the best in the Philipines (Apo Island, not far away, is better).

The water was calm when I swam: the beach is great.

Helpful?
2 Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tubod Marine Sanctuary also viewed

Siquijor Island, Visayas
Siquijor Island, Visayas
 
Siquijor Island, Visayas
San Juan, Siquijor Island
 

Been to Tubod Marine Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing