We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Memories!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princesa Bulakna Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Princesa Bulakna Resort
Ranked #22 of 35 Siquijor Island B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite Memories!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We were at Bulakna the whole time we were in Siquijor approximately 3 weeks. Their service were more than adequate. Lovely place, lovely people. They were very friendly, dependable and considerate. If there were electricity failure they were very efficient in getting the electricity back on. We developed friendly bonds that will last forever! We look forward in returning. Our best vacation ever!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sugar1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
9
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

I find myself agreeing with the first few posters. Princesa Bulakna Resort is indeed in the middle of nowhere! We had to pass by a foresty area before we could reach the place. It's more than an hour's drive from the Larena pier. Luckily, the P500 per way (per car) transportation service the resort offers is a welcome consolation.

SERVICE. The staff were friendly. However, the food service really needs improvement! I don't recommend staying in the resort unless you have your ready stash of finger food, snacks and medicines to boot (bring Kremil-S and Diatabs). Meals normally take 3 to 4 hours to prepare. We ordered ours at 6 p.m. and didn't get to eat dinner until 10 p.m. -- every time.

ROOM. Going to our room was yet another physical challenge. We stayed in nipa-hut cottages which the resort called "bayview cabins" and we had to ascend more than 100 steps to get there. Our room was spartan but cozy. We had a bed, an airconditioner and a hot-and-cold shower. If the windows are open, there's no need to turn on the A/C as there's a breeze that blows freely in the tops. I really like the resort's complimentary soap and shampoo (Safeguard and Vaseline -- something branded and familiar, yey).

AMENITIES. None of our rooms had TV, contrary to what the website stated. Anyway, the infinity pool looked good in the photos. In actuality, the pool is quite small and - as it seemed to me - looked like a treat for kids and teenagers. I'd really like to commend the management for investing in a power generator. Power outages are common in Siquijor but thanks to the generator, we were able to use the A/C whenever we liked.

LOCATION. Again, the place is hard to find. The road is narrow and winding, and first-time guests driving to the place are sure to get lost. For honeymooners, Princesa Bulakna Resort might just be paradise - granted you have the physical endurance to pass through the steps every single day. I got leg cramps from staying at the resort.

Overall, the resort may be a romantic hide-away for some, but for a city girl like me, I would prefer to stay elsewhere convenient and accessible.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teecup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

We had a blast at princesa bulakna. It was truly a relaxation time for us. The review from the people who had been there was I should say a mistake, 2008 and today is extremely different from what they have mentioned. It was far than what we have experienced, it was a paradise, a serene moment and not to mention a superb service. No one told us what princesa bulakna was all about it was merely a click on the net and that’s just it! The price was reasonable. A reasonable price for such first class service, it was not a regret at all.
Princesa Bulakna= full of surprises
1. The pick up at Siqujior was entertaining, Kenneth was a magnificent guide. We had a 20 minute history of Siquijor and it was free since it was part of their promo- this was a surprise for us.
2. The pool was enticing! We never thought it was an infinity pool in the middle of the island! The water was clean and what’s best is that its like you are with nature, birds chirping and fresh air.
3. The food delightful, it was sooooo good that you’ll keep asking for more!
4. The room was cozy, it’s like you own pad in the middle of the forest. Very relaxing and best of all very clean.
5. The superb service of the staff, when we arrive at the hotel it was like royalty having reservation from them. They have admirable initiative in which you don’t have to tell them what you needed. They will just surprise you on what you needed.
Two thumbs up for the hospitable KENNETH, polite MERCY, handy NORMAN AND THE ever accommodating MANAGER PHIL. Our birthday wouldn’t be such splendorous if it wasn’t you who accommodate us. Your service was exceptional. This will definitely be a part of our best birthdays.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fransNjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

Stayed here with a friend over a weekend in December 2008. The complimentary van was not at the ferry when we arrived as agreed (approx 10pm) Had to be bombared by tricycle drivers/touts while we waited. It turned up 20-25 minutes late. Then a 45-minute drive over terrible roads to its location in the middle of nowhere.

The cabins are quite old-looking although they are clean. There are lots of wildflowers in the resort which are pretty. The beach is pebbly although it looks like there are efforts for it to be terraformed into a sand beach. The restaurant is SLOW with its service and and the kalamansi juice was the worst I had tasted in the Philippines.

Nice swimming pool with lovely view, and a walk down the beach is relaxing.

Asked if there was any way to hire a scooter to explore the island. None available. Went on their guided tour (which is really the only thing you can do because it's in the middle of nowhere), which consists of a drive around the island stopping at about 4-5 places total. Wanted to see the healers etc. that is supposedly the main attraction of the island but was told that was inland and could not go.

Supper at the restaurant was okay for me, although my dining companion had blue marlin tinola which was delicious.

Overall, problems with the resort:

1. Location (middle of nowhere)
2. You imagine white sand beach but end up with pebbly beach
3. Old cabins
4. Poor service and some very average food at restaurant

Good points:

1. Great for romantic getaway (eg. if you plan on staying in the cabin most of the time!)
2. Really good pool
3. Peaceful and relaxing

Would I recommend it? Not at this stage. It needs some work before I'd go again, and some way for guests to explore the island without going on the boring, overpriced tour.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jem_lonewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Siquijor Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siquijor Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa de la Playa Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Lazi Beach Club
Lazi Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Lazi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buco Beach Resort Siquijor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tori's Paradise
Tori's Paradise
#8 of 10 in Siquijor Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xylla's Guest House
Xylla's Guest House
#6 of 35 in Siquijor Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalachuchi Beach Resort
Kalachuchi Beach Resort
#3 of 6 in Siquijor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesa Bulakna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa Bulakna Resort

Property: Princesa Bulakna Resort
Address: Candaping Bay | Maria, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Siquijor Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Siquijor Island
Hotel Class:3 star — Princesa Bulakna Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Princesa Bulakna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesa Bulakna Hotel Siquijor Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing