We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is everything here.”
Review of Hotel du Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Casino
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location is everything here.”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I would split my rating on the hotel versus the restaurant here. The hotel was slightly above average and the restaurant was good. Several ratings mentioned the lack of any English speaking parties, but we found the staff to be quite accommodating and between our rudimentary French and their English, we managed to communicate. The hotel's location is extraordinary in that it sits directly on Omaha Beach. We were able to stroll out at low tide and envision the plight of the troops who landed on D-Day. We could hear the waves through our open windows of the room. Shower with no curtain, but a tub with hand held spray in the room somewhat inconvenient. The mussels in the restaurant made the visit worthwhile as did the creme brulee. The main course was fair, but our choice of the skate was likely not the best on the menu. Again, the location of the hotel on Omaha Beach is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArizonaWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    44
    16
    13
    12
See reviews for
42
60
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for four days with my grandfather in 2008. He is a D-Day vet and it was his first time back to Omaha Beach. The owners and small staff of the hotel were so welcoming, the hotel itself so inviting, and the cuisine so delicious that it provided a welcome respite from reliving his memories of the landing. It is family-owned; the hotel was originally owned by the wife's parents, was partially destroyed during the war then rebuilt closer to the beach when she was a girl. Ask to see her photo albums that she keeps at the front desk. The rooms are old san francisco home-like, the windows fold completely open, and the dining-room is all windows facing the beach. Our experience in France with my grandfather was made all the more precious due to our stay at the Hotel du Casino.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the beach are (as they are anywhere) the best. But f you prefer to sleep in, ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarra_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is a nice little hotel (12 rooms I think), but it wouldn't matter if you were sleeping on a cot. Your view out your bedroom window overlooks Omaha beach and there is a German gun placement about 25 yards away. You cant find a place to stay that will stir your emotions any more than Hotel du Casino. I wish I was there longer than 3 days. The restaurant and bar are good too, but they are a little pricey compared to the hotel.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a view of the beach, but ask to make sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gallitorojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
830 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Very nice hotel in an unbelievable location. If you are a World War II history buff you would struggle to find a better place. It is right on Omaha beach directly at the end of the Vierville draw (one of the main objectives of the first wave on D-Day). Our room was on the second floor with two windows that looked out directly on the beach. The bathroom was large (with a hard to use tub and hand held shower). The bedroom room was larger than expected and was fine (not great). The restaurant was OK but we had trouble communicating since we did not speak French and they did not speak much English.

The one isue with the locationis the nightlife in Vierville. Not a lot happening other than the hotel restaurant.

Check out the historical photos in the hotel lobby of the location before and after D-Day. The town and hotel were hit hard by the battle.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We decided to re-visit this hotel because we enjoyed our previous stay and the location is just wonderful.

The rooms had been re-furbished since we were here before and much improved. The food was simple (on demi-pension terms) but well-cooked and fresh. The service was friendly and efficient.

It's great to go to to sleep lulled by the sound of the sea!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuggleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Single dad here, traveling with 10 year old son. I have lived in France and speak French fluently.

If you want to be immersed in the haunting aura of Utah Beach you have no choice but to stay here. The location is superb.

The hotel is a typical example of a dated two star country hotel which is to say that it is fine, but far from exceptional. It’s super clean and efficiently run, so enjoy it for what it is. We stayed in room 2 which looks to the beach, but had the nauseating smell of French fries wafting into the room from the restaurant kitchen below.

I had a bad dinner experience in the bar/café, which I'll just chalk up to bad luck. There is also a more formal restaurant which I perhaps should have tried. My son ate a delicious burger for dinner at the burger/frites/crepe stand across the street while I had an omlette and salad in the hotel's cafe/bar. Fine food, completely inattentive service.

Breakfast in the dining room is fine, hostess bordering on surly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timopdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

After I booked this hotel I read several reviews that were very negative, so I was apprehensive. To our delight, the hotel staff was friendly and went out of their way to ensure our comfort. The room was spacious enough, and the view of the sea with the tide out was amazing. We could hear the tide come in during the night (we had our windows open) but when we awoke it was already out again. Dinner in the lower dining area was just ok. We didn't eat dinner upstairs nor did we have their breakfast, which was 9€ each. The American Cemetery (a must!) is close by, but the 360 theater in Arromanche (strongly recommended) was too far out of our way on this trip.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JTW1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vierville-sur-Mer
3.0 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
6.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Le Duguesclin
Hotel Le Duguesclin
#1 of 2 in Grandcamp-Maisy
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Casino

Property: Hotel du Casino
Address: Boulevard De Cauvigny, 14710 Vierville-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Vierville-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Vierville-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vierville-Sur-Mer
Hotel Du Casino Vierville-Sur-Mer, Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing