We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orpheus Island Weekender - TOTALLY WORTH IT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Orpheus Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orpheus Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Orpheus Island Weekender - TOTALLY WORTH IT!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

It was less than 5 hours from our front door in Sydney to the world's best ever welcome drink at Orpheus Island. That included the 2.5 hour scheduled flight and the 25 minute spectacular helicopter flight out to this lovely little National Park island on the Great Barrier Reef. My daughter and I flew up just for a weekend, wondering if the time and money was worth it .... well YES it TOTALLY IS!!

The lodge is lovely, stand out features are the huge swimming pool that sits right on the beach. They have a boat for every occassion - dinghys for novice sailors such as me, speedy ribs for snorkelling trips, a glass bottom option and another for fishing and outer reef trips. The rooms are simple, but fresh and comfortable, they are well equipped with mini-bar, coffee maker and thoughtful extras.

The three things that I loved most about Orpheus were -

1. Tony, Baraka, Chrissy, Steph, Jen, Joel, Kevin and the rest of the incredibly friendly team who looked after us so well. I noticed that they looked after a family with young children equally well too - so bring the kids!!

2. The variety of activities - this is a great island for those that are not desperate to be in the water all the time, there are lots of options - island walks, visits to nearby Phantom Island historic site, research station visits and my favourite of all - Dining with the Tides! The most amazing meal at the end of the little jetty, by lantern light - while I was there with my daughter this would be a great spot to say Happy Anything or to Pop THE Question!!

3. The food - OMG, chef Arie and his team cook up a feast for every meal and much of it is the island equivalent of 'paddock to plate' dining. They catch fresh fish and lobster, they pluck oysters from the rocks, they have chickens and a vegie patch too. Their food is inspired, Arie is Indonesian but classically French trained and his creations are a wonderful mix of his experience. I tried Kaya Toast for breakfast (kind of like the Asian equivalent of vegemite & peanut butter on toast) and the tapas style lunches were a feast of little tastings. My favourite dish was a mushroom risotto with crispy skinned barramundi topped with Indonesian fish sambal!! While my daughters was the chocolate souffle.

Two nights / 2 days is too short - I admit, but it was still a fantastic way to enjoy another world in a weekend!

Room Tip: No need to give you a tip, all the lovely new rooms overlooking the beach are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, General Manager at Orpheus Island Lodge, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi Fabulous 500
Many thanks for your review and comments of your recent stay at Orpheus. I am delighted you had such a wonderful time - all for less than 5 hours from Sydney! We are very lucky with connections over the country and to be able to escape as you did for a short period is fantastic.
It is a great team here at Orpheus, all of whom go out of their way to welcome our guests as guests in their own home - it's our people and the personal touch that does make the difference.
Yes, Orpheus is a special and unique destination that is just being discovered. I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back sooner rather than later, even if it just just for a short break!
Best wishes
Tony Barradale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    8
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
156
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We traveled to Orpheus for our Honeymoon. We had an amazing time! The place is really beautiful, the infrastructure is excellent and the staff very kind, friendly and helpful! We did many different activities: snorkeling, fishing, sunset cruise, exploring private beaches. The food is very good too! We would come back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuca_fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ban Krut, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We married 2001 on Orpheus Island and it was just amazing! This Island was the best Resort we've ever been so far. Lovely staff, perfect food and excellent hospitality!!! Although it has his price - it's worth every penny!!!
Enjoy and love it!

PS: we're still married in love - therefore it was worth it :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcguyver74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My family (including four very well-behaved and well-travelled little girls) visited Orpheus Island in early January of 2013. It is the definition of casual luxury -- this is NOT a place for the pretentious "see and be seen" crowd -- but to us the atmosphere was unique and unrivalled. The staff is top notch in terms of warmth, caring, and attentiveness. The recreational opportunities (snorkeling, fishing, exploring totally private and remote beaches) are first rate. We had amazing trips twice a day to different snorkeling paradises on the great barrier reef. A particular highlight was the food -- every meal was absolutely fantastic. Yes, there is no "choice" , but again, food was vastly superior to every other luxury resort on the Reef. Seriously -- if we could kidnap the chef back to New York we would. If Orpheus Island weren't roughly 30 hours from our home, we would be there several times a year. If you want a relaxed environment, with understated luxury, fabulous staff and insanely good meals -- this is your spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BridgerCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We traveled to Orpheus for 5 nights for our Honeymoon and it was pure perfection!

As some of the other guests indicated, it's not for everyone. If you want a pretentious atmosphere where a pool-boy spritzes you with Evian, don't go to Orpheus. If you want complete privacy (rooms away from each other), then you may want to consider another resort. But, If you want an upscale, yet relaxed and intimate atmosphere, with fantastic food, fun activities, and a beautiful setting, then Orpheus is it!

I have traveled extensively and have stayed at many fine resorts and boutique hotels in the world. Orpheus was probably my favorite! The staff is friendly, warm, and acommodating. You almost feel like old friends when you leave. The food is exceptional - Ari is as good as they come. And, the variety of activities allows ample opportunity a different adventure (or not, if you choose) every day.

A word on the diving - it's exceptional! The reefs are beautiful and very closeby. Take advantage if you can/are certified. The dive masters are great :) Also, if don't dive, definitely snorkel, especially the giant clams. They are amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss10546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
many
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We are devoted Bedarra fans of many trips. Bedarra was detroyed by cyclone Yasi, and may reopen this autumn down under. Due to that we tried something new, Orpheus!

We have been to both Lizard and Bedarra, many times. Our last 2 experiences at Lizard were not to our liking. Different people like different things. Lizard is known for its "sophistication", food, and diving. To us, the guests seem pretentious, food...took forever, and the diving..ages to get to and back. Orpheus can get in 2 dives and have you back by lunch.

Orpheus, boardies at lunch, we like! Jacket and tie for lunch at Lizard, not so much.

The food, while delivered in a different fasion from Lizard and Bedarra, was awesome. 6 plates of tapas for lunch, plenty for all. The best about lunch was it was not a long ordeal, it all came at once, which gave us hours to get back in the water. One day there was a special bbq lunch at the bar. there were 6 or 7 courses, all prepared in front of us and each one was better than the last.

Dinner was an absolute food dream! We have stayed at many high end, all inclusive places and came away from dinner hungry; this never happened at Orpheus.

They have not sold themselves as a diving destination, but we went out on their fantastic boat and did exploratory diving. We were on sites never seen before and have now been named. Do not ask about headache reef! There are miles of reefs to be discovered!

The research station is extremely interesting, and taking the dinghys, tinnies, out to your own private beach is astounding!

Alex, Kat, Chrissy, and Nathan changed the entire day's schedule to make sure all guests were accomodated to what their comfort level was.

I can not give enough credit to them and what they did for us.

The appartments are sparse, but spacious. I would find it hard to belive that one could not have a magical time at Orpheus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rcrooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kin Kin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent four nights at Orpheus Island for our honeymoon. Firstly let me say that the location is gorgeous. Unfortunatley we felt the island is run a bit like a school camp. You have to eat at a certian time, eat as a group, and particiapate in the advertised activities at certain times. There was no real privacy as the rooms were right next to each other and the island is so small that you can't "escape" i was really disappointed and didn't have a great time as i found it hard to relax. The accomadation is very basic for the price and there is no extra services such as spa or massage options. we worked really hard to pay for this trip. It would of been a nice option to relax with a massage.

While we were on the island they were putting a marketing video together. We were trying to relax, but with a helicopter flying over you for the morning this wasn't possible. The staff were having a great time though, they headed out on the rubber ducky and the ocean cruiser to make "promotional videos". The guests are welcome to use the 3.7m tinnies that have the maximum speed of 4 knots! I was lead to believe we would have access to rubber duckies. Disappointing to say the least.

We decided to have a go on the kayaks but had to return shortly after as my husbands was starting to sink...Great. We wanted to go fishing, but were told there was a fishing ban. I am not sure how these work, but it would of been nice to of known this before we arrived as we would of changed the dates of our holiday.

For $1300 a night i expected this holiday to offer me more. The food was delicious but it would be great to be able to grab a piece of fruit or a biscuit between meals. My husband was always hungry, but he is also a big eater. We requested no fish for my husband, but he was given fish on so many ocassions. This was extremely frustrating. It was also disappointing to only have xxxx beers as the complimentary beer. You can always buy other brands but these were $10 each.

I think the resort can be improved or reduce the price. We feel that it is defiantly not worth the money.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a romantic getaway, i would not recommend Orpheus Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orpheus Island
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Long Island
271 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hinchinbrook Resorts
Hinchinbrook Resorts
#3 of 3 in Lucinda
7 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hinchinbrook Marine Cove Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Lucinda Point Hotel Motel
Show Prices

Been to Orpheus Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orpheus Island Lodge

Property: Orpheus Island Lodge
Address: PO Box 549 | Garbutt East, Orpheus Island, Queensland 4810, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Orpheus Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orpheus Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Orpheus Island Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orpheus is very much a secret to the outside world, a rare island hideaway of exceptional beauty!Located just 80km north of Townsville, amidst the magical waters of the Great Barrier Reef, the island stretches across 11km of immaculate turquoise coastline, and comprises of a pristine National Park and surrounding World Heritage-listed Marine Park. Access is either via a 25 minute helicopter journey from Townsville, or an hour journey from Cairns. The newly renovated lodge accommodates just 34 indulged guests at any one time, ensuring absolute seclusion and serenity! Offering the ultimate romantic escape, a luxurious family getaway, unique outdoorsy experiences, or booked in its entirety for exclusive use, Orpheus is emerging as the ‘new’ undiscovered tropical destination on Australia’s doorstep. Orpheus boasts a plethora of once in a lifetime experiences! Its principal dive sites boast 1,100 of the 1,500 species of fish on the reef; the local waters are a fisherman's playground and home to the most sought after reef and game fish species in the world; and guests can take the helm of a dingy and discover the many pristine coves and reefs that fringe Orpheus. Alternatively, Orpheus provides the perfect backdrop for a more private interlude if guests wish to simply shut off from the outside world and succumb to the pleasure of a unique aboriginal-inspired massage. Accommodation rates are inclusive of all gourmet meals, celebrating a bounty of locally-sourced, wholesome and freshly caught and grown seasonal delights, a selection of regional wines and beers, a daily nature-based experience, and the island’s signature ‘Dining with the Tides’ experience which allows guests to enjoy an intimate dinner for two under a starlit canopy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orpheus Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orpheus Island Hotel Orpheus Island
Orpheus Island Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing