We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
272
10
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
10
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelicopter rideouter reefinfinity poolgiant clamspicnic lunchthe great barrier reeftapas stylesecluded beachother guestsfishing tripthe general managerunderstated luxuryprivate chartergenerator noiseincredible staffdaily excursionsguest experience
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 291 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My family (including four very well-behaved and well-travelled little girls) visited Orpheus Island in early January of 2013. It is the definition of casual luxury -- this is NOT a place for the pretentious "see and be seen" crowd -- but to us the atmosphere was unique and unrivalled. The staff is top notch in terms of warmth, caring, and attentiveness. The recreational opportunities (snorkeling, fishing, exploring totally private and remote beaches) are first rate. We had amazing trips twice a day to different snorkeling paradises on the great barrier reef. A particular highlight was the food -- every meal was absolutely fantastic. Yes, there is no "choice" , but again, food was vastly superior to every other luxury resort on the Reef. Seriously -- if we could kidnap the chef back to New York we would. If Orpheus Island weren't roughly 30 hours from our home, we would be there several times a year. If you want a relaxed environment, with understated luxury, fabulous staff and insanely good meals -- this is your spot.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BridgerCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We traveled to Orpheus for 5 nights for our Honeymoon and it was pure perfection!

As some of the other guests indicated, it's not for everyone. If you want a pretentious atmosphere where a pool-boy spritzes you with Evian, don't go to Orpheus. If you want complete privacy (rooms away from each other), then you may want to consider another resort. But, If you want an upscale, yet relaxed and intimate atmosphere, with fantastic food, fun activities, and a beautiful setting, then Orpheus is it!

I have traveled extensively and have stayed at many fine resorts and boutique hotels in the world. Orpheus was probably my favorite! The staff is friendly, warm, and acommodating. You almost feel like old friends when you leave. The food is exceptional - Ari is as good as they come. And, the variety of activities allows ample opportunity a different adventure (or not, if you choose) every day.

A word on the diving - it's exceptional! The reefs are beautiful and very closeby. Take advantage if you can/are certified. The dive masters are great :) Also, if don't dive, definitely snorkel, especially the giant clams. They are amazing!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miss10546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We are devoted Bedarra fans of many trips. Bedarra was detroyed by cyclone Yasi, and may reopen this autumn down under. Due to that we tried something new, Orpheus!

We have been to both Lizard and Bedarra, many times. Our last 2 experiences at Lizard were not to our liking. Different people like different things. Lizard is known for its "sophistication", food, and diving. To us, the guests seem pretentious, food...took forever, and the diving..ages to get to and back. Orpheus can get in 2 dives and have you back by lunch.

Orpheus, boardies at lunch, we like! Jacket and tie for lunch at Lizard, not so much.

The food, while delivered in a different fasion from Lizard and Bedarra, was awesome. 6 plates of tapas for lunch, plenty for all. The best about lunch was it was not a long ordeal, it all came at once, which gave us hours to get back in the water. One day there was a special bbq lunch at the bar. there were 6 or 7 courses, all prepared in front of us and each one was better than the last.

Dinner was an absolute food dream! We have stayed at many high end, all inclusive places and came away from dinner hungry; this never happened at Orpheus.

They have not sold themselves as a diving destination, but we went out on their fantastic boat and did exploratory diving. We were on sites never seen before and have now been named. Do not ask about headache reef! There are miles of reefs to be discovered!

The research station is extremely interesting, and taking the dinghys, tinnies, out to your own private beach is astounding!

Alex, Kat, Chrissy, and Nathan changed the entire day's schedule to make sure all guests were accomodated to what their comfort level was.

I can not give enough credit to them and what they did for us.

The appartments are sparse, but spacious. I would find it hard to belive that one could not have a magical time at Orpheus.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rcrooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent four nights at Orpheus Island for our honeymoon. Firstly let me say that the location is gorgeous. Unfortunatley we felt the island is run a bit like a school camp. You have to eat at a certian time, eat as a group, and particiapate in the advertised activities at certain times. There was no real privacy as the rooms were right next to each other and the island is so small that you can't "escape" i was really disappointed and didn't have a great time as i found it hard to relax. The accomadation is very basic for the price and there is no extra services such as spa or massage options. we worked really hard to pay for this trip. It would of been a nice option to relax with a massage.

While we were on the island they were putting a marketing video together. We were trying to relax, but with a helicopter flying over you for the morning this wasn't possible. The staff were having a great time though, they headed out on the rubber ducky and the ocean cruiser to make "promotional videos". The guests are welcome to use the 3.7m tinnies that have the maximum speed of 4 knots! I was lead to believe we would have access to rubber duckies. Disappointing to say the least.

We decided to have a go on the kayaks but had to return shortly after as my husbands was starting to sink...Great. We wanted to go fishing, but were told there was a fishing ban. I am not sure how these work, but it would of been nice to of known this before we arrived as we would of changed the dates of our holiday.

For $1300 a night i expected this holiday to offer me more. The food was delicious but it would be great to be able to grab a piece of fruit or a biscuit between meals. My husband was always hungry, but he is also a big eater. We requested no fish for my husband, but he was given fish on so many ocassions. This was extremely frustrating. It was also disappointing to only have xxxx beers as the complimentary beer. You can always buy other brands but these were $10 each.

I think the resort can be improved or reduce the price. We feel that it is defiantly not worth the money.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a romantic getaway, i would not recommend Orpheus Island.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Orpheus Island is a undiscovered treasure!! it delivered on our expectations and beyond... From the moment the helicopter landed until the time we waved goodbye. The facilities, activities and food were amazing and a special thankyou to the wonderful staff, Ari, Ryan, Kristy, Gab, Steph, Jason, Alex and Katherine.

Room Tip: All rooms a water view - so whatever you pick you will be content.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews