We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$125
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lees Hotel(Ingham)
$73
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardwell at the Beach(Cardwell)(Great Value!)
$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arcadia Village Motel(Arcadia)(Great Value!)
$106
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort(Magnetic Island)(Great Value!)
$162
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
264
10
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
10
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelicopter rideouter reefinfinity poolgiant clamspicnic lunchthe great barrier reeftapas stylesecluded beachother guestsfishing tripthe general managerunderstated luxuryprivate charterincredible staffdaily excursionsguest experiencesav blanc
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 283 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We just got back from 6 days on Orpheus and overall it was a really lovely, relaxing holiday and a great way to soak in the natural environment of the Great Barrier Reef.

First all the positives-and there were many: beautiful scenery, amazing food (Ari is an awesome chef and super nice guy who is aiming to please, we had some food allergies and he was really attentive to them which we really appreciated), lots of opportunities to snorkel, kayak, connect with nature, and relax, and some really helpful staff (Jen the gardener is an absolute wealth of knowledge on all things environmental and Jackie the boat skipper is awesome too!). The sunsets are spectacular, and we were able to check out several different areas of coral to explore by snorkelling. Also, the island is not very crowded, so you really felt like you got a lot of privacy and space to yourself. The helicopter ride across from Townsville is also really scenic, and we saw several whales en route too.

There are a few minor things that we feel we should point out though. If you have been to other 5 star properties around the world, especially those in this price range, you may be disappointed. It is not of the same standard in terms of level of accommodation, service, amenities, etc. We spoke with other guests who agreed with us on this point. This is compared to top resorts in Bali, Thailand, Maldives, etc. Also, not sure about all the raves about the manager Ben in other reviews. We were there 6 nights, and never even spoke with him-he simply never approached us to check in at all-and 2 of the days we were the only guests on the entire island! We would expect that at a property of this level that the manager checks in with you, etc as has been our experience at other resorts. The place felt like it was without guidance in general, but it did just re-open recently so maybe it's still finding its feet. That being said, all the staff we did interact with were lovely and I"m sure with some direction and leadership the level of service here could be exceptional.

Also, the accommodation is quite simple. This didn't really bother us, but if you're expecting something really decadent you might be disappointed.

If you are looking to connect with nature, relax, eat delicious food, and enjoy a high level of privacy then Orpheus is definitely a great option for you. If you want serious levels of decadence in accommodation, high-end service, and lots of amenities, then you might find yourself disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank treadlightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent a very enjoyable 5 days on Orpheus Island and both agreed it was one of the best, most relaxing, short holidays we have experienced. It was also very nice to be one a few couples there; it varied from 4 to 8 guests in total. This island paradise is made so enjoyable by the staff; you can tell that they actually love being there and making the guests’ visit as nice as possible. The manager, Ben, is just terrific; he is always ready to make suggestions and help with the day’s activities if that is what you want, such as a fishing trip, a visit to other islands, snorkelling or diving, and just out on a boat to see the coral gardens with the giant clams. The fishing trips which we enjoyed with Ben at the helm were ably assisted by Linden, who knows the spots to fish and does all the helping with the lines and bait and bringing in the catch. The time disappears quickly with the breakfasts anytime between 8am and 10 am, lunch around 1.30 and dinner around 7pm. There are nice walks to picnic bay and the lookout on bush tracks, as well as along the beach at low tide to the mangroves and giant clams, or the pick oysters off the rocks. A chat with the gardener, Jen, is well worthwhile; she has been there 12 years and is a mine of information on the flora and fauna. Kim, Sam and Stef are just amazing with the service they provide, and the two chefs, Ari and Ryan, produce the most delicious food you could possible imagine. The head chef, Ari, creates some very spectacular dishes, always four or five courses at dinner, but not too much and nicely balanced; smaller but several dishes at lunch; and it is all good healthy food, lots of salads and vegetables in the mix. Absolutely no problems in catering for all kinds of allergies or dietary needs. Ari’s able assistant chef, Ryan, is always creating something new for after lunch, like the lightest chocolate brownies ever imagined, (just a taste), and Ryan’s poached eggs at breakfast are so perfect it is a shame to eat them. But they taste so good too. This is gourmet cuisine and one of the highlights of being on Orpheus. The house wines and beers are fine (all included) but there is an extensive wine list if you want to lash out. The accommodation is very good (we had a suite with a sitting room); all newly renovated units on the beachfront. Just go and enjoy this lovely island. If you want total relaxation without having to make decisions about anything, this is for you.

Room Tip: The suite was excellent
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FunTimes030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Orpheus island is THE place to visit. Tranquil surroundings, excellent service, fantastic staff, fabulous food. I can not rate this place highly enough.
If you are looking for the perfect getaway, this is it!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cat-Shilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This resort is the ideal place to chill out and enjoy excellent amenities and accommodation. The cuisine is absolutely superb which when combined with an excellent wine selection delivers an out of this world dining experience.
The activiees are great if you want to indulge and the staff are terrific. Alswasy very helpful but unobtrusive.
Highly recommended.
We will be back
Ron and Gaynor

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront room on the south side
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Excellent cuisine, accomodation and professional staff made my experience at Orpheus a memorial time. This is a home away from home experience. 5 day stay felt like a break of 14 days....so relaxing, peaceful and majestic experience - stay here, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: all rooms have excellent beach views....
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacqui A p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews