We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$126
$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardwell at the Beach(Cardwell)(Great Value!)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arcadia Village Motel(Arcadia)(Great Value!)
$86
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lees Hotel(Ingham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails On Horseshoe(Magnetic Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
264
10
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
10
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelicopter rideouter reefinfinity poolgiant clamspicnic lunchthe great barrier reeftapas stylesecluded beachother guestsfishing tripthe general managerunderstated luxuryprivate charterincredible staffdaily excursionsguest experiencesav blanc
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 283 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Having travelled the world staying at Four Seasons, Oberoi, Westin, Peninsula etc and at Lizard Island and Hayman I feel qualified to offer a review on Orpheus.
Quite simply the promise is delivered from booking to the website to the wonderful Resort Manager Ben, the talented Chef Ari and the warm friendly staff. It is an island paradise where you can truly relax. No raft of decisions each day of what to eat or what to do its all so easy. All inclusive price is a stress free way to go. The food was amazing utilisation of fresh local seafood delicious. As a foodie I expected something nice but was blown away by the standard Ari is a top chef. The different experiences were great snorkelling the clam gardens, cultural tour of fantome island. I travelled with a baby and staff were only too happy to hold her at times when I was eating. This resort leaves hayman and others far behind on service, food, top accomodation. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GTfivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

On our first tour through Australia we chose Orpheus Island Resort for our stay to explore the Great Barrier Reef. It is a bit of trek to get there but worth the journey in every way. It is a small eco resort and the only neighbor is Earthwatch.org's research station and the birds and sea life. You arrive by boat or sea plane. The staff is kind and familial without being invasive. They will meet your needs and requests without approaching it in a sub-serviant manner, rather more like kind host. The small 'cottages' are clean and comfortable without fuss but with abundant special touches such as delicious loose leaf teas and fabulous bath products. The chef discusses meals with you and accommodates dietary requests and everything was delicious, and again abundant. We wished we could have stayed longer and we hope to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank k m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Rarely do all things line up on an Island holiday but Orpheus has the lot. All rooms look out across the water, are very spacious with very large comfortable beds & beautiful furniture & fittings. Bathroom Diantree toiletries were exrtemely good quality.The gardens are beautiful, very tropical with lots of plants & grassy areas. The common dining & lounge areas are lovely relaxing rooms with big comfy chairs perfect for sipping a drink from the 'open bar', looking out to sea or reading a book. All activities available are worthwhile esp snorkeling at the Coral Gardens, taking a private boat to a deserted Island with a gourmet picnic, a sunset cruise over giant clams.The lookout above the resort is a must see & a great place to watch the sun come down (staff will pack drinks & nibbles for you). Look out for Mr Nicholson's grave! The quality & variety of food from Uberchef Arie is absolutely outstanding. Staff were always on hand to see to our every need. We have never felt so spoiled but so relaxed at the same time. Everything is included. All you need to take is your toothbrush, some PJ's & a pair of swimmers!

Room Tip: All rooms have great sea views & are quite spacious
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Poppy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

After googleling the most romantic places in Australia to propose, my now fiancé Dave decided on the newly refurbished Orpheus Island Resort as where to take me for an amazing weekend away with a surprise that only Dave and the Orpheus staff knew about.

After landing at Townsville airport and not knowing our destination I was thrilled to take the helicopter and land on the most beautiful island I had ever seen. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and other guests. We took the dingy to the pontoon on the other side of Orpheus and had a lovely picnic.

That night Dave had planned and organised with the staff for us to have dinner on the pier with only the torches and moonlight. It was beautiful and that was where the moment happened  We were lucky enough to be there the same weekend as Cheong Liew the chef so the food was magnificent (as im sure it is whoever the chef is).

The rest of the weekend we enjoyed the infinity pool and exploring the island and we ate and drank like a king and queen. It was so relaxing and we had everything we needed and had the freedom of dining where we chose. We even got to witness a tropical thunder storm which Dave thoroughly enjoyed!

We would highly recommend a stay at Orpheus island. The staff go above and beyond to meet your every need and were great at organising with Dave his proposal. It definitely is paradise and will always have a special place in our hearts and we want to say a huge thank you to everyone at Orpheus for their hard work.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Being on an Island as beautiful as this definitely forces you to relax as this was the most relaxing holiday we have been on in years! We loved hanging around the infinity pool and reading our books, walking along the beach, going for a sail, kayak or snorkelling, all at our own pace.
All the water activities are easily accessible and the bay which is directly off the resort is very protected so you feel safe kayaking or sailing etc. There are also lots of opportunities to go snorkelling at other locations or do activities away from the island which means you get to see other parts of the area very easily.
The food was delicious and perfect for the climate and the staff were very accommodating for people with particular needs or allergies. It was also nice to have a large selection of drinks included to which you could help yourself throughout the day or night.
Also, being a smaller resort means you do get to know other guests and staff as well, especially on the trips that the resort organises such as cruises on the glass bottom boat (named Glassy!) or sunset drinks at Yanks Jetty.
We wouldn't hesitate for a moment to go back to Orpheus, we loved every minute!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Verity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews