We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
272
10
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
10
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelicopter rideouter reefinfinity poolgiant clamspicnic lunchthe great barrier reeftapas stylesecluded beachother guestsfishing tripthe general managerunderstated luxuryprivate chartergenerator noiseincredible staffdaily excursionsguest experience
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 291 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Being on an Island as beautiful as this definitely forces you to relax as this was the most relaxing holiday we have been on in years! We loved hanging around the infinity pool and reading our books, walking along the beach, going for a sail, kayak or snorkelling, all at our own pace.
All the water activities are easily accessible and the bay which is directly off the resort is very protected so you feel safe kayaking or sailing etc. There are also lots of opportunities to go snorkelling at other locations or do activities away from the island which means you get to see other parts of the area very easily.
The food was delicious and perfect for the climate and the staff were very accommodating for people with particular needs or allergies. It was also nice to have a large selection of drinks included to which you could help yourself throughout the day or night.
Also, being a smaller resort means you do get to know other guests and staff as well, especially on the trips that the resort organises such as cruises on the glass bottom boat (named Glassy!) or sunset drinks at Yanks Jetty.
We wouldn't hesitate for a moment to go back to Orpheus, we loved every minute!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Verity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We’ve just come back from 6 days in Paradise! ..Orpheus Island!
Snorkeling near yanks jetty was spectacular, bright blues, pinks and yellow coral and the fish were stunning! Especially the parrot fish – almost fluorescent in colours!!
The service and staff were ever so helpful and the food was delicious and fresh every day.
We didn’t want to leave, days by that magnificent pool, champagne by the outdoor bar at sunset, reading in the hammocks and sailing everyday gliding by turtles was just spectacular!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michshell78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We were so spoiled. Uber-chef Cheong Liew was cooking on the island with his protegee and now resident chef Arie when we visited, so it was an adventure of the table as well as the island. We are confident Arie will amaze guests with his fabulous Australian-Asian fusion food. Needless to say, it was Michelin quality.

There are few resorts on the reef with the environmental integrity of Orpheus. You know the staff really, honestly care for their beautiful island - managers Kylie and Rob used to run the nearby research station, and have lived here for 6 years, so there's not much these guys don't know about their home.

The rooms are still being finished - art work and the like - but they are well-planned in their simplicity. It will be great to see the resort complete, following its extensive renovation and the repairs after cyclone damage.

Look, if you need to be incessantly entertained, this is not your resort. We had our small baby in tow (who was adored and watched over by all staff), so we wanted to chill out, swim and explore, as well as sit up late at night talking and eating with other guests and the warm and friendly staff. We visited the nearby research station, snorkelled over giant clams, and skimmed coral reefs. The childless couple would disappear with manager Rob for epic day-long snorkelling or fishing adventures.

Getting there was half the adventure: the helicopter transfer from Townsville was a fantastic way to see the reef up close, and the pilot was so accommodating, pointing out key landmarks and local beauty spots. We loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank globalsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I've heard the phrase 'barefoot luxury' and now I now what it means. Orpheus Island is it. The accommodation is first rate and the food was truly excellent - Michelin star quality every night. But what really makes the resort stand out is the delightful staff. From Elizabeth who cleans the rooms to Kylie the manager, everyone is most helpful and cannot do enough to make your stay the most enjoyable possible. OK, it IS expensive - but everything - and I mean everything - is included so given the quality of the experience, it is not at all outrageously priced. If your idea of luxury is uniformed, sycophantic flunkies hanging around your elbow, don't go. But if you want to be looked after perfectly by a friendly, committed and enthusiastic team in a tropical island paradise - look no further.

Room Tip: They are all lovely, on the beach, with fabulous outlooks and seconds from a dip in the sea
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KimWestScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

As the first guests at a reopened orpheus Island resort we had high expectations and frankly we were not disappointed. there were a few teething problems as you would expect but they were very minor. Accommodation was excellent as was the dining experience. staff were brilliant. snorkelling on the fringing reefs and the fishing from your own private tinnies were also highlights.

although it is an expensive indulgence for a family of 4, if you can afford it do it because that feeling of personal service is well worth it and there are very few high-end private resorts where children are not only welcome but well catered for.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glenheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews