We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't want to leave this water lovers paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave this water lovers paradise!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed 3 days at Elliot Island and enjoyed amazing experiences and fantastic service from beginning to end.

Activities:
This is a resort for nature lovers, there are birds nesting in this season so birdsong and some smells are part of the experience, the island is a beautiful coral cay so the beaches are mostly coral. If like us you enjoy taking in the wonders of the ocean then you will be in for a treat - we did boat tours, snorkelling and scuba diving all within a short distance off the island and saw amazing sea creatures consistently. We're not experienced divers at this point, although qualified but the dive team made us feel comfortable and were helpful and friendly all the way along. We saw manta rays, dolphins, reef sharks, BIG turtles and a huge variety of fish and other sea life.

The resort:
The island felt very safe and guests and staff alike were friendly - whats there to not be happy about on this island?! The manager himself was around everyday greeting and making guests feel welcome. We stayed in an Eco-cabin which was very clean and comfortable albeit basic with the ocean very close by, we spent little time in our cabin with so much to do on the water.
Food can be ordered from the menu for lunch, or you can take the buffet for breakfast, lunch or dinner. It was all well made, good value with a varied range for dining.
There is no mobile network coverage but wifi time can be purchased for use at a couple of hotspots at a reasonable rate. This went hand in hand with simply enjoying the natural surroundings
The resort is set up to have a minimal impact on the local environment without compromising a comfortable experience, and does give visitors information on keeping their own impact to a minimum, as well as a guide to the local wildlife. We really liked the fact that it is set up like this and it was a factor in staying there.

If you are a diver, or snorkeler then Lady Elliot Island is a must!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip_n_Stumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    175
    27
    12
    9
See reviews for
315
364
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bargara, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Having lived so close to Lady Elliot for so long, visiting relatives finally gave us the push we needed to visit. We flew over just as the remains of a cyclone passed over the island, which is usually the story of our holidaying lives... However, we need not have worried,as it had moved south overnight so the weather was perfect. Upon arrival, we were welcomed with a drink and a talk about how to access activities and when and how we would be fed! It was also carefully pointed out how ecologically precious the island's vegetation and wildlife is and what was expected while we were there. Snorkelling was astounding - the lagoon side best for beginners as regardless of tide, it was always possible to find your feet on sand. Coral Gardens on far side of Island was extraordinary - fish bigger, turtles more frequent ( no rays ) and the cliffs and canyons of the reef itself made for spectacular snorkelling, but more confidence required. The island takes about an hour to walk around and the birds are thick. Trees and bushes were alive with noddies and terns. Their smell was pungent, particularly after rain, while the noise was constant - all was finally quiet about 3 am! However, the bird noise wasn't disturbing - however, the smell was, from time to time. Highly recommend the trip, from the unique plane flight out (delivering your own bags to plane, the runway JUST big enough for take off) the low key accommodation and the brilliant snorkelling. Expensive but so worthwhile - I will be dribbling on about it for months! Just go.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Reef unit, which was comfortable and clean, but probably only two to three star. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ros C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Thank you to the amazingly passionate team at Lady Elliot Island for the perfect family holiday. We enjoyed seven nights during the school holidays this month and were so lucky to encounter both the professional island team, led by Andreas, and the gorgeous island/ocean wildlife.

From excellent snorkeling to saving the turtle hatchlings as they emerged from their nests and daily kids club adventures our three kids (aged 8,6 and 5) had a ball and said they had 'island-sickness' not 'home-sickness' while travelling home. Seven nights was just perfect to experience everything on the island without feeling rushed and allowing for a rainy day.

A fairly easy 4 hour drive up to Hervey Bay airport from Brisbane and then a scenic 35 min flight to the island.

We loved our ocean front family suite which had everything we needed (small fridge/sink/tea & coffee facilities). If your kids snack all day (rather than three big meals) like ours I would recommend bringing some kid-friendly snack food for in between meals.

As a coeliac the kitchen happily catered for my dietary needs and even presented lactose free milk for my protein drinks - I haven't had such great service and understanding of my food needs at a resort before.

Couple of points: you can get wifi on the back deck to check emails - for a week, checking emails 1hr per day I only spent $5 so very cheap rates.. Check tides before you go with small kids so they can snorkel in the lagoon during easy day time hours. Adults and older kids can snorkel all day on the other side of the island

We will be back, during school holidays to take advantage of the kids club/reef rangers, and to experience the whales later in the year next visit.

Thanks again for a great week.

Room Tip: We loved our family suite which faced directly onto the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
152 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

From the flights out (from Hervey Bay Airport), to the reception at the island and all through our stay the service was excellent and thoughtful. The accommodation is a bit basic, presumably in keeping with their 'Eco-resort' tag and the food is also basic though reasonable quality. The resort really scores as it is turtle breeding island, mostly green turtles but some hawksbills too. The snorkelling and diving are very good. We joined the snorkel safari which was very well run and we swam with huge manta rays, a real bonus. The diving too was excellent, a great dive crew make each dive special. The education centre was excellent , as were the talks given each evening on various aspects of life on the Great Barrier Reef.

We stayed for four nights, which was about enough for us, given that bird noise at night disturbed our sleep a great deal. Would go again.

Room Tip: A range of accommodation is offered. We chose a garden unit as it had an ensuite bathroom (rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandRKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had not been for 5 years, but could not think of a better place to take our (now grown up) family, so back we went, a little fearful that it would not live up to our memories. We were not disappointed, the fish were bigger and fatter and friendlier and the staff were even more helpful and professional. The buffet food was amazing and nothing seemed too much trouble for the head chef. We observed the staff for a week, coming and going, answering all the daft questions that were thrown at them with calm, polite answers. One staff member was observed in the pool giving snorkelling lessons 20 minutes before hopping on a plane to head off for his leave. They really gave it their all. We love the island and the resort. Sure its not a 5 star Hilton, but we were there for the snorkelling and the diving not the noisy night life. We'll be back :)

Room Tip: We stay in the eco tents, basic but adequate. There are more luxurious rooms and units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 63AnitaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Our 4th one-week visit to this wonderful island with its fantastic eco-resort didn't disappoint us, on the contrary. As usual a fantastic scenic flight with a small plane from Hervey Bay. This year we had a kind of personal reception and service by the manager, Andreas, who is a warm and friendly character indeed. As repeating visitors we received a delicious "sunset-platter" with champagne. Andreas provided us with a lot of insight and backstage-info about this great resort. The entire staff is well informed and super friendly. The suite we stayed in was a real treat. Snorkeling in the Great Barrier Reef was a National Geographic delight. We really recommend a short or longer visit to this eco-paradise!

Patrick and Chris Vanhelmont-Meyers from Belgium

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_Vanhelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Unlike most other entry points to the Great Barrier Reef, you can fly into Lady Elliot Island rather than take a long boat ride through potentially choppy waters, and once you're there you can snorkel by walking in right from the beach. No crowds, no schedules, no giant pontoon boat rocking in the waves. You sacrifice nothing in making this choice. The water is clear and warm and the underwater wildlife is tremendous. If you want to experience the reef and have only a day or two, go to Lady Elliot Island. In the space of 24 hours, we saw several mantas rays, sharks, giant turtles, and more fish than you can name - all at point blank range. We even saw a baby turtle emerge from the sand and struggle down the beach and into the ocean. The rooms are fine except that most are not air conditioned and are very hot at night until they finally cool off after midnight. The food is good and the staff were very helpful. Three tips for planning your trip: (1) while you can snorkel on the deep water side of the island at any time, the best and easiest experience is to snorkel in the lagoon. The lagoon is tidal, and therefore it is critical to visit when the high tides are at convenient times. (2) for the same reason, I strongly recommend staying overnight rather than taking a day trip because on a day trip you could miss high tide altogether and thus greatly limit your snorkeling opportunities. You'll also miss sunset, sunrise and gazing at the stars. STAY OVERNIGHT. (3) Ask to sit up front with the pilot on the flight over.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort

Property: Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort
Address: Lady Elliot Island, Queensland 4216, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Lady Elliot Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lady Elliot Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lady Elliot is a true coral cay island located at the southern tip of the Great Barrier Reef, north of Fraser Island. The island is regarded as one of the best snorkeling and diving destinations on the Great Barrier Reef and is famous for its unspoilt coral reef and amazing array of spectacular marine life including turtles and manta rays. Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort provides a range of low key accommodation options ranging from 2BR Island Suites to Eco Cabins for those on a budget. The overnight rate includes: Full buffet breakfast and dinner daily; One free glass bottom boat/guided snorkel tour per person; Free use of snorkel equipment (mask, snorkel, fins); Range of free guided Island activities/tours; and Environmental Management Charge. Scenic flights depart daily from Bundaberg, Hervey Bay/Fraser Coast, Brisbane (Redcliffe) and Coolangatta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Elliot Island Eco Hotel Lady Elliot Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing