We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Reef and marine life, good resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hongkong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Reef and marine life, good resort”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We have been at Lady Elliot Eco Ressort two nights and really enjoyed our time there.
The flight in a small plane is adventurous and the grass airstrip goes from one side of the island to the other.
The resort is ok, we had a garden unit - though not luxurious it was nice and clean.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The food was quite good in our opinion but don't expect fine dining.
We really loved the snorkeling trips and the reef with all the marine life around: mantas, sharks, huge turtles - You can see a big variety of fish there.
It is for sure a great place however you also have to pay quite a lot for this special experience.
We can recommend it to those who would be ok to spend this amount of money for quite a short but intensive holiday.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    178
    27
    12
    9
See reviews for
321
371
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Lady Elliot was OK, good snorkeling, plenty of Sharks, Turtles and Manta Rays but the Resort has too many rules!!!
You had to sign that you would not snorkel alone, stay within 1 body length of your snorkel buddy, wear a flotation device at all times and only enter and exit the water at marked places.
We never need floatation devices, get separated occasionally and are experienced enough to enter in shallow water without damaging any coral so felt intimidated by having to sign their rules
They also insisted you wore closed toe shoes in the water and on the boats and traveling as light as possible due to flight weigh limits we did not bring them, were not advised we needed them, were not going to wear communal shoes so just wore our open toed ones and put up with the complaints.
We never saw any stone fish and have handled dozens of Cone shells without getting impaled but they use those fears as a tactic to insist on closed toe shoes, we can also get on and off boats without having our toes crushed and I don't think closed toe shoes would save your feet anyway!!!
The terns did a tap dance on the tin roof all night every night, we did ask if they could muffle the sound, it only required something placed between the loose flashing and the roofing iron but it never happened.
As expected the place smelled of bird poo but we did get used to that unfortunately we were in Reef 1, right next to the smokers area so the room filled up with smoke when we were trying to sleep.
We did one Snorkel Safari but found we could snorkel from shore to reach all the places the Safari took us, even that took us just short of where we found the really good shark pool with loads of Grey Reef, Black Tip and White Tip sharks when we snorkeled from shore in the direction they tell you not to go.
There was far less colorful coral than expected and with an algal bloom visibility was unfortunately limited.
The catering was good, the lectures interesting, and staff friendly.
We still had a reasonable holiday but prefer the more laid back islands in the Pacific.

Room Tip: Get one away from the smoking area's unless you are a smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smandkjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEIManagement, General Manager at Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your visit to Lady Elliot Island. We're so glad to hear that you liked the island's food, lectures, and friendly staff. We try really hard to provide our guests with a great experience and usually we succeed! Yes we do have some rules, or guidelines, in place and for good reason. Sadly, we have all seen reefs and fragile eco-systems that have been damaged over the years because they have been poorly managed and people have not been educated about how to protect our environment. Many of our guests are experiencing a marine eco-system for the very first time and they embrace learning about, and protecting, the reef and the natural environment. As Lady Elliot Island is a coral cay, reef walking shoes or crocs are recommended for your personal comfort and safety.

I believe that the form you are referring is the 'Guidelines for Recreational Snorkellers' which highlights 'safe snorkelling practices' recommending that people snorkel with 'some form of buoyancy aid'. These are recommendations only. What you are signing is the Medical Declaration on the bottom of the form which clearly states that ‘if you have any concerns about a medical condition' you agree to 'wear a flotation device that will support me in a relaxed state'. I think you will find snorkel/dive guidelines and waivers standard practice on all Island Resorts in Australia and most of the world.

We have an abundance of colourful fish and hard corals on the reef surrounding Lady Elliot Island, the hard corals are often less colourful than soft corals but have amazing formations. If you know where to look, you will also find some of the more colourful soft corals whilst enjoying your snorkelling or diving adventures on the reef.

Thank you for your comments regarding Reef 1, we have discussed your concerns with Island Management who will address the issue.

We wish you all the best with your future travels :)

John Johansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We highly recommend this island resort. Fantastic snorkeling is just a walk off of the beach. The staff are very knowledgeable with their nature talks which happen days and evenings and are included in the stay. Breakfast and dinner buffer also included and extremely tasty; the desserts were to die for. Manager Andreas Supper was always accessible and the ultimate host. A very well run organisation, it is obvious that the owners are passionate about the island's natural history right down to the meticulous refurbishment of the old lighthouse.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lasandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is the most romantic Island, teeming with birds (over 90 species visit or nest here) and it has an amazingly prolific marine life made accessible to all visitors through the most enthusiastic, friendly and knowledgable staff.
The Island can only be reached by air and your first glimpse of it is truly fantastic. Efficiently managed as an Eco Resort, accommodation ranges from basic cabins set back a little, through to ensuite waterfront cabins with breathtaking views. None are luxurious but who needs pampering in such a wonderful setting. The standard of food is surprisingly good. Breakfast and dinner are included in the tariff and lunch is available as an extra.
We were here for three days. On our first evening we saw two frigate birds and a White Breasted Eagle from the deck of our waterfront cabin besides many other less spectacular species. Snorkelling is available two hours either side of high tide in the amazing lagoon but is also available 24 hours on the other side of the Island which is easily accessible as you can walk around the entire Island in not much over an hour. Diving and amazing trips in glass-bottomed boats run each day. We saw a Manta Ray, Eagle Ray, Whale Shark, Green, Loggerhead and Hawkshead Turtles and many other species.
A quite, quite wonderful and relaxing holiday venue. You just have to do it, either on a day flight basis or longer if possible.

Room Tip: For us, nothing beats the reef-side accommodation with their spectacular views of the lagoon and ree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vernonpopperbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a fantastic time on lady Elliott Island. The snorkeling was fantastic, aquatic life amazing, birds were nesting and the island lived up to its eco reputation.The staff were helpful and experts in their fields.What you see on the website is what you get. The food was great, lots of options for gluten free people.We really enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent five days on Lady Elliot Island a few weeks ago and enjoyed it very much. The accommodations are what you would call "basic," but the views from your front porch are wonderful. The various species of seabirds nesting in the trees and on the ground provide endless interest. The food is very good, considering that everything must come from the mainland, and certainly abundant. A really full breakfast buffet and excellent dinner are included, and nice lunches are available for purchase at the bar. The chef deserves accolades, for sure. A couple of things to be aware of: The lagoon side of the island has excellent snorkeling BUT only for three hours every day, just before, during, and just after high tide. When the tide is out -- i.e., all the rest of the time -- it's too shallow to snorkel, and in fact snorkeling is not allowed. The scuba diving on the other side of the island is good BUT can be arduous -- divers must walk, fully geared-up, over an expanse of coral gravel to get into the dive boat and then again to get ashore after diving, and the dive sites themselves can be subject to fairly fierce currents making underwater photography all but impossible. We saw a 12-foot manta ray, dozens of green turtles, and many smallish sharks as well as the usual Pacific reef fish on the lively reef. The Lady Elliot staff, from the manager through the dining staff through the dive staff, couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. If you don't have unrealistic expectations, this is a super place to relax, eat well, and appreciate the magnificence of nature both above and below the waterline.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are guaranteed to have wonderful views. Some of the "garden" rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

beautiful setting, amazing snorkeling & sunsets, friendly staff, food was better than what was previously reviewed....No complaints...highly recommend and can't wait to go back

Amenities are not 5 star....expect an eco resort...go for the location, not luxury

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort

Property: Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort
Address: Lady Elliot Island, Queensland 4216, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Lady Elliot Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lady Elliot Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lady Elliot is a true coral cay island located at the southern tip of the Great Barrier Reef, north of Fraser Island. The island is regarded as one of the best snorkeling and diving destinations on the Great Barrier Reef and is famous for its unspoilt coral reef and amazing array of spectacular marine life including turtles and manta rays. Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort provides a range of low key accommodation options ranging from 2BR Island Suites to Eco Cabins for those on a budget. The overnight rate includes: Full buffet breakfast and dinner daily; One free glass bottom boat/guided snorkel tour per person; Free use of snorkel equipment (mask, snorkel, fins); Range of free guided Island activities/tours; and Environmental Management Charge. Scenic flights depart daily from Bundaberg, Hervey Bay/Fraser Coast, Brisbane (Redcliffe) and Coolangatta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Elliot Island Eco Hotel Lady Elliot Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing