We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort
Reviews (1,128)
Filter reviews
1,128 results
Traveler rating
873
201
32
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
873
201
32
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanta raysmarine lifehervey baythe great barrier reefdive shopgarden unitglass bottom boatbuffet breakfast and dinnerhigh tideoctopusbehind the scenessmall planescenic flightscuba divingcoral gardensgreen turtlesdeeper water
Filter
Updating list...
936 - 941 of 1,128 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Five star diving and safe snorkeling with so much to see every time. Staff were knowledgeable and friendly there was opportunity to learn about the environment via varied activities.Loved not having to worry about stingers as you do further north.
It is not a luxury resort but is comfortable. We took a cabin on the lagoon, great views although we struck some windy weather. Good thing is you can retreat to the other side of the Island and you can view beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Food is homestyle, plentiful served in a guesthouse style dinning room. I snorkel end, dived every day seeing mantas, whales, turtles, giant trevally, stingrays, octopus, parrot fish just to mention a few Lots of birds too which took a bit to get used too!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a once in a lifetime experience that reminds us of the beauty and fragility of our planet. Located at the southern end of the Great Barrier Reef, it is one of only two islands ( cays) in the Reef where you can experience the Reef in residence. The housing is basic but clean as befits an eco-resort. The environment is incomparable. The reef is 20 yards from our unit with easy snorkeling to see all the aquatic life among the coral. Sunrises and sunsets are spectacular. Buffet breakfasts, lunches are included. All the staff are knowledgeable, tours organized by marine biology experts. The bartender, Kylie, was so friendly. Birds are everywhere and noisy, but remember, we are the visitors.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pacific99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Perfect island. Fantastic weather, always sunny hardly any clouds in the sky all day with no wind. Great variety of food, and wonderful reefs and island life heaps of turtles and different species and colours of fish. Only downfall is too many birds and bird poo :) magnificent overall. Definitely recommended.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jonty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our family sought 5 days of technology-free reconnection time away from a chilly Melbourne spring. Lady Elliot Island provided us with concentrated stress reduction on a tiny (an hour to walk around) speck of a coral cay in the Pacific Ocean that is a thirty minute flight from the mainland Australia. On our return it felt like we had been out of time for a week or more. Our recently renovated and simply furnished small garden view room was in a cluster of three, positioned to catch cross breezes. We could see the lagoon from our balcony, a minute's crunchy pathway walk in reef sneakers to where high tide snorkelling awaited. Diving and snorkelling are LEI's main attractions but one main distinction is its eco focus. Guests are gently encouraged to think about the energy and water impact of daily linen laundering, and to switch off lights and other room appliances when not needed. A hybrid solar power system installed in 2008 has reduced the resort's diesel consumption by 70 percent. Separated rubbish bins make responsible trash disposal a no-brainer. The co-operative message seems to work: I saw no litter anywhere during our 5 night stay. This was a holiday of simpler times; no telephone, no internet, no television in rooms - no signal at 80 kilometres from the mainland. An activities signboard offered an array of free non- water sports options. Some include a Bird Watching tour (LEI is nesting home to thousands of sea birds), guided low tide Reef Walks, and a behind the scenes tour of how the island delivers the resort's human needs for energy, fresh water and waste management. One evening Ryan led guests in a raucous game of Coconut Bowls and trivia evenings are regularly scheduled. One night we watched an excellent presentation about the graceful endangered Manta Rays, regular visitors to the LEI reef. A selection of DVDs about tropic and other marine creatures shows in the lagoon-view bar in contrast to the 'real world' of omnipresent 24 hour news cycle television. Though one night a noisy and enthusiastic group watched on that screen the AFL football semi-final; a close game that was, for the initiated followers, riveting viewing. LEI energetic staff include a marine biologist whose favourite sea creatures are sharks. Young staff went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and never seemed to be bored with answering what must have been the hundredth same guest question. Staff passion for the Great Barrier Reef in general and Lady Elliot's resident creatures in particular was obvious, and impressive. My husband and 14 year old daughter happily snorkelled the lagoon and the reef each day. During a glass bottomed boat reef snorkel trip, despite witnessing a green turtle, dolphins and a pod of humpback whales I succumbed to sea sickness. Dive staff solicitation and kindness reassured me in this embarrassing situation. After that the only Manta Ray I chose to see was painted on the floor of the salt water pool! Buffet food was plentiful and tasty: diving and snorkelling work up an appetite. For those seeking a design magazine experience, nightclubs and preening: LEI is not for you - there are other islands. For me though, even above the wonders of the Great Barrier Reef, my enduring memory of Lady Elliot Island is the people, whose passion, flexibility, hard work and respect for each other translates to a perceptive and caring guest service. Graham the manager can deservedly be proud of his work and his team. We are already saving for our next Lady Elliot Island holiday, and my daughter hopes to work there when she turns 18.

Room Tip: Only the family suites have A/C. The rest have oscillating fans only. Check whether it is bird nesting season as some may be unnerved by thousands of birds roosting in trees and bushes and be put off by their night screeching, though I had no problem sleeping. Also there is the smell factor of all that guano...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RhodyGirl02818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Took my daughter for a Birthday Treat - diving with Rays & Sharks. Great place for your Robinson Crusoe moments. This is the real thing - no frills. The full monty - warts and all - the real National Geographic Experience & photos to match. Landing on a Coral Island airstrip is not for the faint hearted ; that's for sure. Food excellent considering everything needs to be flown in - glass bottom boats was great fun - the little lighthouse a great photographic opportunity . This will be a Bucket List Experience - unforgettable and a talking point for life.

Room Tip: The 5 * experience is the Island itself.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank terence t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews