We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visitor - so must be good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lady Elliot Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Return visitor - so must be good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have now had three trips to Lady Elliot and I love it. I like to go when the noddies are nesting and the turtles are mating (October and November) and find the sheer chaos of the noddies completely entertaining. I have been there at other times and it surprises me how quiet it is without them.

Lady Elliot is a very small island and that means that if there wind on one side, just walk to the other and you'll be in the lea. Both sides have great coral and fish and taking the manta trip was fantastic.

I have snorkelled in many places around the world but the marine life here is by far the best. I think it is because it is a marine park so nothing is fished. As a result, huge schools of often huge fish are just under the surface waiting for you to come and see them. Turtles, reef sharks and rays are there too.

The coral gardens is some of the best coral I have ever seen and an easy swim from the shore.

Food is abundant and tasty, staff are helpful and friendly and I'll keep going back. The nature and history discovery walks are really interesting and delivered with enthusiasm by the activities staff who never get tired of my constantly asking "what is it".

This is a great place to go with friends or family. A place to relax, have early nights, play board games and to see the barrier reef at its best.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    173
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
310
358
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
128 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a great place to enjoy the real sea, turtles throwing with Stones and sand trying to bury their eggs, and great breakfast and dinner treats..

The sleeping facilities are not luxurious, which noone would expect on such a small island in the middle of the coral reefs, So be happy with a bunk bed indeed.!

Room Tip: Perfect getaway for 2 days.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is a great location if you are keen to see a variety of marine life and are happy with basic accomodation.

It ticks the bucket list if you are keen to scuba diving and snorkel with manta rays as they are year round and very close to shore. There are also whales passing the island at this time of year and we were very fortunate to have them come in close to the snorkelling boat. The general variety with turtles, sharks, fish and coral is also spectacular. This is the best I have seen of the Great Barrier Reef and is truly unique.

Divers should be aware that the emphasis is on them to deal with equipment and carry tanks onto the boat. This is aimed at ensuring divers are familiar with their gear and take some self-responsibility from a safety perspective.

The accomodation itself is clean, but very basic. This fits the low key vibe of the place and the reality is you come here to be outdoors.

There are a range of activities including very worthwile reef walks (with qualified marine biologist), island walks and a short but fascinating historical tour. There are no TVs or stereos so it is really about enjoying the serenity and natural beauty.

The only disappointment would be the food. The breakfasts were monotonous and poorly done. The lunch 'buffet' was stodgy, if not weird on occasion. Eg curry chicken lasagne. Dinners were also poorly done and had a school camp feel about them. Whilst acknowledging the remote location other resorts with similar challenges in Australia and overseas do a far better job. There is also no real option for a morning or afternoon tea, or even to buy a snack other than lollies, which isn't great for kids or hungry divers.

The absolute highlight of the resort though is the naturally friendly and hardworking staff. This was universal but we would single out Kylie (bar) Maggie (marine biologist/tours) and Garry for their efforts.

Room Tip: Have a good look at the resort map and descriptions to get the right choice. All are very close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mlear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

What a great spot. We went for the weekend while in Brisbane for business and had a once in a lifetime trip. Amazing snorkelling and diving. we snorkelled with sea turtles, manta rays, and amazing fish. It was all just a walk off the beach to the coral and the wildlife no boat needed. Accomodations are somewhat Spartan but still very comfortableable. Highly recommend for any bucket list.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

The accomodation is okay, the food is nice and staff is friendly and especially asks visitors to take care of the coral. In half an hour you can walk around the island, so it's really small. We stayed for two nights, and though it costs a bit, I think it's still quite a good deal for a couple of nights in this paradise. We did one dive and went out snorkelling regularly and it's unbelievable what we saw in the crystal clear water: turtles, reef sharks, a variety of big and small tropical fish and happily also a manta ray (jawdropping). I would recommand it to everybody and I hope the owners of the hotel manage to keep this place as beautiful as it was when I visited.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterBelgium17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Lady Elliot Island is an absolute treasure! This place, with its infinite beauty and integrity captured our hearts from the first second. Everything was as it should be: the staff were amazingly friendly, (Kylie in the restaurant being exceptionally great), the rooms were lovely with a red tailed tropic bird on a nest right outside our door, the food was great, morning, night and noon, and the snorkelling topped our wildest expectations! What a pleasure!

Room Tip: The suites are worth the extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, QLD, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed over Easter weekend. 2 adults and 2 x 5 year olds. We were greeted by a very cheery staff member, with the biggest smile you will ever see, who took us on a tour of the resort before showing us our simple but comfortable and clean rooms

There were a few issues with getting my certified husband out to have a scuba which was the whole reason we were there, but it was nice to know that once he was booked they put safety first and as he hadn't been down for over 12 months and did a thorough follow-up in the pool.

This is an Eco island, hence the accommodation is basic, the food edible but nothing fancy and where the wildlife die, they are left. But what this makes for is a very unique environment. It is pristine, the staff respect the environment and are very knowledgable.

We were very impressed with the Reef Ranger Leader (I have forgotten her name) but she was so beautiful with the children and the fact she was a marine biologist, enamoured our children with her.

Easter Sunday was fabulous, the staff had organised a kids evening full of games and fun. The GM got involved and was more than generous with the prizes and made it a fun evening for all.

We are not the type of people to generally go back to the same place, but we had a wonderful weekend, they made my husbands surprise 40th trip a memorable event and would recommend t to anyone...who likes glamping!

The snorkelling was awesome, our kids loved the viewing board as they could see the turtles they were swimming with (free for rec room). We even got to see turtle hatchlings Easter Sunday night,

You must go with proper reef shoes, the ones that you can pull in at the ankles as the coral paths are a killer as they keep getting into croc's thongs etc

We were unable to secure beachfront, in hindsight it didn't matter we were only 4 paces beyond the beachfront Accom and could see the beach from our verandah.

3 nights was enough for us...felt like a week away!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kirra99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lady Elliot Island
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Long Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mantra Sirocco
Mantra Sirocco
#2 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort

Property: Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort
Address: Lady Elliot Island, Queensland 4216, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Lady Elliot Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lady Elliot Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lady Elliot is a true coral cay island located at the southern tip of the Great Barrier Reef, north of Fraser Island. The island is regarded as one of the best snorkeling and diving destinations on the Great Barrier Reef and is famous for its unspoilt coral reef and amazing array of spectacular marine life including turtles and manta rays. Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort provides a range of low key accommodation options ranging from 2BR Island Suites to Eco Cabins for those on a budget. The overnight rate includes: Full buffet breakfast and dinner daily; One free glass bottom boat/guided snorkel tour per person; Free use of snorkel equipment (mask, snorkel, fins); Range of free guided Island activities/tours; and Environmental Management Charge. Scenic flights depart daily from Bundaberg, Hervey Bay/Fraser Coast, Brisbane (Redcliffe) and Coolangatta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lady Elliot Island Eco Hotel Lady Elliot Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing