We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hosts”
Review of Casa de Piedra

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boca de Tomatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Piedra
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This place is tucked away, yet an easy walk to the sleepy fishing village of Boca de Tomatlan.
The property is well kept with nice dogs hanging out. There is a pool. Screened in windows and it's sprayed for bugs. Each room is an electric piece of art. Bob and Sue are gracious hosts with big hearts.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank andrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 93 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

I usually don't write reviews on the places that I have stayed, but I felt that Casa de Piedra deserved my honest opinion.

We ventured off to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, and wanted to get away from the resort areas that people flock to on vacations. We researched B&B's and found Casa de Piedra and immediately fell in love. As soon as we stepped foot into the house, it felt like home. We stayed in the Selva room. The room was large, cozy, and clean. The bed felt like I was floating on a cloud, and it had a private kitchen and bathroom on a seperate floor. It felt like we had our own house. Our room had a porch that overlooked the property and had a nice view of the beach area.The amenities for the guests were great, including an entertainment room, tables to eat breakfast outside every morning, a wonderful pool, and a ping pong table that I found enjoyable and addicting. Bob and I engaged in a few games and he is quite the player. Breakfast every morning was delightful. The blueberry pancakes that Bob and Sue made (that everyone has raved about) were lovely. Bob and Sue really made us feel like family, which I have never experienced at any other B&B we have encountered.

There were so many good eateries in the village of Boca and you can access to other beaches by water taxi. There was even a bus stop in the village that took you to and from downtown Puerto Vallarta. The bus was very safe and cheap by the way. If buses aren't your thing, you can have Bob and Sue call a cab for you. Transportation was key for us, and glad that all of these resources were available.

After deciding to stay away from the resorts and staying at Casa de Piedra, there is no way I would even consider staying at a hotel in Puerto Vallarta again. We have stayed in many B&B's on vacations, and this is by far at the top of my list. We plan on visiting Casa de Piedra again, and would love to make this an annual destination for us.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AnonymousDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I ventured to Boca in Mid-April for our delayed honeymoon (we were married last May 2012). Upon arrival to Puerto Vallarta airport, we were picked up by Bob & Sue Berndt (Owners of Casa de Piedra) and taken to Boca (which is about a 30-40 minute drive from the airport). They drove us through downtown PV to show us the different areas of the city, pointing out all of the fun things that we could see/experience on our time there. Our week with the Berndt's was full of fun and activities. We were only there for 5 days total (2 days of traveling from the US), but we did something different everyday. The Berndt's took us and told us what there was to see during our stay and definitely allowed us to everything within such a short amount of time. From hiking to private beaches through the lush woods of Boca, zip lining further up the mountain, to taking a romantic boat tour out of the marina to a private island lit by candlelight only. The people of Boca are incredibly welcoming and friendly to you. The food in the village was great, fresh fish tacos were my favorite throughout our visit.

The rooms were beautiful & clean, the pool/garden were beautiful, the breakfast every morning was PHENOMENAL (especially those blueberry pancakes) and we can't wait to go back!

Wish we never had to leave! But we will definitely be back, hopefully sooner than later!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

GREAT trip to Boca! We visited Puerto Vallarta/Boca de Tomatlan in April and arrived to beautiful weather. We stayed a the charming and conveniently situated Casa de Piedra, from where we were able to take water taxis to many beautiful nearby beaches. We also spent a good amount of time relaxing on Boca’s very own beach. The heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta was a quick and easy 25-minute bus ride, making access to the wonderful restaurants, shops, and nightlife a breeze. Bob and Sue, the owner’s of Casa de Piedra, were wonderful hosts. They prepared delicious breakfasts daily and provided a comfortable, clean, and well-equipped apartment during our stay. We would HIGHLY recommend Casa de Piedra to anyone with even the teeniest sense of adventure seeking a comfortable and authentic Mexican refuge that is somewhat off the beaten path!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I love Mexico and have frequented the big resorts several times, but lately prefer a more authentic Mexican experience. We found it in Boca! Bob and Sue have created a wonderful oasis at Casa de Piedra. Situated in a small village complete with tienditas (little markets), being able to watch the water taxis move people from early morning to late evening, getting used to the roosters as our alarm clock each day...it all spelled a unique and fun experience. Nearby you'll find beautiful isolated beaches which can be accessed by hiking or jumping into a water taxi. Bob and Sue know a great deal about the area and for those searchers who want a real life taste of Mexico - you can't go wrong with Casa de Piedra.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Boca after a week in a resort in Nuevo Vallarta.
We had such a lovely time at Casa de Piedra that I don't know if we can do a resort vacation again! Bob and Sue made us very welcome and fed us so well each morning (which is saying something as we are a family of 5 with 3 hungry teenagers!) The apartment was very comfortable and set up with all that we needed. Boca is a beautiful spot yet to be hit by a massive tourist wave.
Bob gave a great tour of the village and was always available to help out with plans for the day. We took a trip upriver on horse back with a local guide to a swimming hole. The guide was a local artist and full of insight and wisdom. We would highly recommend this activity. We also spent an afternoon at El Eden which was a stunning lava rock swimming hole with restaurant. The kids went zip lining there which was very inexpensive. If you have your taxi driver negociate for you the rate is much less.
Sue and Bob were the most gracious of hosts. Staying at their place is an easy decision to make.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella26103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have traveled to Mexico many times and our trip to Boca de Tomatlan and stay at Casa de Piedra will be forever in our memory and hearts. We spent a wonderful week there over our son's recent Spring break. We delighted in the quaintness and authenticity of Boca and totally loved our home away from home at Casa de Piedra. Sue and Bob were fantastic hosts and through our online correspondence before arriving, we knew we would be treated like family and we were not disappointed. Sue and Bob welcomed us with open arms and instantly made us feel right at home. Casa de Piedra is a delightful B&B. The hand built stone architecture of the two buildings were surrounded by lush, tropical gardens and a lovely little pool, perfect for cooling off after a day of adventure or at the local beach. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean and pleasantly furnished with all the amenities we could possibly need. Breakfast each morning with the other guests was always great, the freshly made food was tasty and plentiful and the morning gatherings were a great opportunity to meet and connect with the other vacationers staying there. Sue and Bob provided a wealth of information about the local people, best places to eat and explore and tips about getting around and unique things to do and see while we were there. Boca is a small and unspoiled village away from the hustle and bustle of Puerto Vallarta and the surrounding area is filled with great beauty. Casa de Piedra sits alongside the Horcones River which feeds into beautiful Boca Bay. The beach is just a short stroll from the B&B over the little foot bridge and through town. We loved chilling at the local beach and being able to jump in a water taxi to take us to neighboring beaches or hop on the local bus to take us to other cool spots nearby. We simply loved the whole experience and appreciated the peace and quiet of staying in an authentic Mexican fishing village. Would we go back? Most definitely!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca de Tomatlan
1.7 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
43 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Iguana Hotel
Casa Iguana Hotel
#79 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
313 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,917 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Lagunita
Hotel Lagunita
#3 of 4 in Yelapa
346 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#8 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Piedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Piedra

Address: Al Otra Lado del Rio, Boca de Tomatlan 48292, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Boca de Tomatlan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Boca de Tomatlan
Price Range: $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa de Piedra Bed and Breakfast, the House of Stone and a landmark in Boca de Tomatlan, on the south shore of Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. A spectacular piece of authentic Mexican architecture, it was constructed in 1988 of river rock and brick by Mexican artisans. The property, surrounded by lush tropical gardens and fronting the Rio Los Horcones, offers beautiful views of the river, the Sierra Madre Mountains, and Boca Bay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing