We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place with a Special Hostess”
Review of Casa La Ventana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boca de Tomatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa La Ventana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Special Place with a Special Hostess”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I had 5 magic days staying at Christina's Casa. Apart from the delicious breakfasts. Christina organised sea kayaking trips, yoga and massage, special dinners in Boca and just anything that guests wanted to do.I loved it all and we were lucky with the warm winter weather. Thank you again Christina - as well as Chuppa and Xochiel, your friendly and supportive staff. I'll be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sodifficult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
52
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend our anniversary at Casa La Ventana this past October. It is easily one of the most enjoyable places we've stayed. Christina is an excellent hostess, and went out of her way to make us feel comfortable. Our first night at CLV had that certain magical quality that good vacations produce.

I'm a birder, so I got up early the first morning and let my wife sleep in. It was pretty great watching the sun come up. It was quiet at first, but suddenly all the insects took off as soon as the sun came over the mountain, and that's when the activity began. White collared and chestnut collared swifts appeared in the sky above. Golden cheeked woodpeckers, Mexican cacique, social flycatchers, rufous backed robins, masked tityra, and orange fronted parakeet were easily viewed from my balcony.

Breakfast was delivered to us after all this excitement and was excellent. As we ate, an iguana dropped by to say hello in a tree next to the balcony. A West Mexican Chachalaca later briefly appeared right outside our front door.

We later took a suggested hike through the jungle along the coast to a restaurant that most tourists get to by boat. Christina said to keep an eye out for Military Macaws as we hiked. This suggestion proved accurate, as they flew overhead a number of times, but comically just as any view of the sky was blocked by trees.

I later saw the Military Macaws from my balcony. It was a pretty big rush. I'm very pleased with my stay there. If we ever visit PV again, we will definitely be staying here. Boca is far enough outside of PV that it is pretty tranquil, and there are a lot of birds. I'm glad we decided to spend most of our trip here, instead of San Blas, as our time at Casa La Ventana was much more enjoyable than our time up at San Blas. I also recommend hiring Alejandro Martinez Rodriguez as a guide. He got me almost everything I was looking for, including rosy thrush tanager.

I should warn those that do not like to walk that it is a bit a of trek up to the hotel, which is what makes it so special. You have to cross a bridge and hike for about 10 minutes up the hill to get to CLV. We were there at the end of the rainy season, so we also had to cross through a small stream. If you are looking for a mega hotel that could be found in Florida, look elsewhere. Casa La Ventana is for those who are looking for a more authentic experience, and the rewards that such an experience provides.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bri3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMartell, Owner at Casa La Ventana, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for this informative birder's perspective on Casa La Ventana. I am so happy to hear that it meets a professional birder's expectations. Return soon! Return often. I always love the new insights of our birder friends and find my eye being trained under your tutelage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Casa la Ventana and loved it. It is real Mexico in a lovely little fishing village situatied on the ocean. The steps to the guest rooms (about 80) and to the eating area (about 100) are not for the faint of heart and actually serve as an excellent "fitness center".
The breeze off the ocean kept our room cool and very pleasant. Christina and Don were very gracious hosts, served great breakfasts, arranged local tours and did everything they could to make our stay pleasant, enjoyable and memorable. The bus service for traveling to other locations was also excellent. I would highly recommend this retreat to anyone wanting a real taste of Mexico,..
John Heimer & Marie Meyer

Room Tip: The rooms are clean, lovely and well kept daily..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John467_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewanee, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My family and I enjoyed a wonderful vacation at Casa La Ventana. Christina is a wonderful hostess, making arrangements for adventures like zip lining and lunching while watching death defying cliff diving. Her style is casual and gracious. Her recommendations and facilitation were based on our expressed interests, and I never felt pressured to do anything. Indeed, doing nothing and doing it well were on our agenda and Casa La Ventana was a great place to sleep late, read a book by the pool and wander down to the beach for a mid-afternoon snack of coconut shrimp and cold drinks. While my immediate family numbered three, on Christmas eve we numbered six and the three spacious and luxurious guestrooms with wonderful private bathrooms accomodated us and additional family staying nearby in great comfort. We all look forward to our next visit. Some of the criteria below deserve some explanation. CLV is located in the very authentic river, mountain and beach community of Boca de Tomatlan. This is NOT cookie cutter tourist country like so much of what I saw in Puerto Vallarta. The town is full of children, friendly dogs and chickens. Morning noises include some traffic on Rt 200, some roosters crowing and some dogs barking. Late at night, the authentic banda and rancho musica wafts up from the local watering hole. My wife sleeps with ear plugs, because I snore. I don't think the early morning noises bothered her in the least. For me, the noises were less bother and more flavor. While there is no fitness center per se, I find that most in US hotels aren't worth the bother. At CLV, the self-directed yoga by the pool, the pool itself, stair runs and hikes to Colomitos and Las Animas make for plenty of fitness. Childrens activities include the mentioned fitness activities and also the many cultural and exploration opportunities which are so abundant in the local region.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoughRiderPresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Just south of Puerta Villarta is an authentic slice of Mexican culture that should not be missed. The village of Boca la Tomatlan is bisected by a clean, sand-bottomed little stream, which makes a U-turn near the ocean and forms the most delightful sand bar. It is a fantastic place to unwind. The place to stay in Boca is the Casa La Ventana. It is new and nice, and the hostess, Christina, is in a class all her own, and we have traveled the world over. If you want to add some adventure to your Mexican vacation, head for the Casa la Ventana just a few miles south of Puerta Villarta.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Even though I´ve been to Boca many times this was the first time I stayed there. To start with Christina the owner is a wonderful person who makes you feel special and right at home. Her place Casa la Ventana is so beautiful and so romantic. The rooms are very comfortable, the views incredible. You get your coffee in your terrace and breakfast as well and it feels so relaxed. All in all it was a great experience, and its the real little village feel, with its music, its roosters and donkeys and the whole atmosphere. Plus you have the beach and the river right there. I loved it.

Room Tip: They are all good with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvall, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed with Christina last November and it was the perfect trip to celebrate our anniversary. The food was delicious! It was amazing to wake up in the morning and be right in the middle of the jungle. The accomadations were beautiful and Christina was a wonderful host. From the trip to the Marietta Islands, to the hikes to the beaches south of Boca, to dinner in PV, to the massage in the tree house, it was a wonderful vacation. We can't wait to return and stay with Christina again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca de Tomatlan
1.6 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
43 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Lagunita
Hotel Lagunita
#2 of 4 in Yelapa
341 reviews
4.5 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Casa Iguana Hotel
Casa Iguana Hotel
#86 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
311 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lala Boutique Hotel
Villa Lala Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boca de Tomatlan
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa La Ventana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Ventana

Property: Casa La Ventana
Address: Rivera del Rio 17, Boca de Tomatlan, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Boca de Tomatlan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Boca de Tomatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Puerto Vallarta's South Shore in Boca de Tomatlan. This hotelito is tucked in steep jungled mountains and perched overlooking the river, the pueblo and the Boca Cove to the Bay of Banderas. Accommodations types include bed and breakfast guest quarters, one bedroom with kitchen and one guest quarter with two bedroom, two bath villa with grand balcony and great views. A great alternative to a crowded resort and an opportunity to experience real Mexico, enjoy hiking, kayaking, beach and relaxing. A new and private swimming pool and palapa lounge area was added in October, 2012. Wireless Internet provided. Coffee service delivered to your guest quarters each morning and breakfast can be served on your private balcony or in the Tree House, where views and lounging areas abound. Massage available by appointment and private catered dinner and events available in the Tree House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa La Ventana Hotel Boca De Tomatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing