We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far away from the typical tourist spots”
Review of Laguna de Coyuca

Laguna de Coyuca
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.00*
and up
Coyuca Lagoon, Turtle Release, and Witch Doctor Market Tour from Acapulco
More Info
$61.65*
and up
Coyuca Lagoon Tour in Acapulco and Baby Turtle Release
More Info
$81.99*
and up
Coyuca Lagoon Tour in Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This fresh-water lagoon has a bird sanctuary and restaurants and offers opportunities to engage in a variety of water sports.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Far away from the typical tourist spots”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The place is 30 minutes away from acapulco, if you don´t hit traffic, otherwise it can take much more to get there. You will not find typical tourists here, the food is average and for what you get, the prices ain`t the best. Expect to pay little, and get the same in return... There are some very nice views to either the lagoon or the sea. You cannot swim in the sea as there are always strong waves and currents which make it dangerous. I went there in December and there were toe biters everywhere, specially at night, so if you hate bugs as big as your hand stay away.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    29
    5
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great beach away from the crowds”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Barra de Coyuca, where the Lagoon is, is a great place to enjoy the magnificent Pacific Ocean, tons of white and brown pelicans (migrating, relaxin and fishing), whales, dolphins and turtles can be observed during winter time. The river and the lagoon are good places to go bird watching and on the sand bar between the ocean and the lagoon there are many "enrramadas" local restaurants where you can eat fish, shrimp and other deliciuous foods. I recomend Enrramada Brianda, where Carlos Yepi and family will take very good care of you, and where you can relax for hours in a hammock, after a swim in the lagoon or go on a river tour to enjoy nature.
By the way dogs are welcome.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pattdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Beautifull”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

great place, nice views. rent a waterscooter at tres marias and go to the end where the lagoon meets the sea. tres marias also is a nice place to have breakfast or lunch with views of the lagoon. lots of pelicans and other birds and fishermen doing their thing

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PELOWELOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the nicest places in all of Acapulco”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My family told us about an area that is a lagoon and that it is the nicest place in Acapulco. From the new Acapulco zone to get there was about 30 minutes. Not bad. Once we arrived we stooped in a restaurant ( I forget the name but will update the review if I find out), which is the thing to do. Once we arrived we were seated by the water, ordered food and drink. There were boats for water skiing, and riding around, jet skis and other water fun. We tried water skiing and jet skis and had a blast on this most serene lagoon. While everything costs money, rates are negotiable, The only thing free was the great views. Pie De La Cuesta (meaning foot of the hill) is a peninsula, which separates the ocean from the lagoon. It is a tranquil and a low pressured place. This is a must see and is not on most people's list of places to go.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HandymanMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No danger here!!!”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Have been in the area since November and all is quiet and calm -not many people(tourists) thanks to all the media hype. Must be careful but so must one be in any
place in the times we live in. been to Acapulco with no problems.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beachdog08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laguna de Coyuca also viewed

 
Acapulco, Guerrero
 

Been to Laguna de Coyuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing