We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'd have to go a long way to find a friendlier welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Just returned from 3 nights at the Dunkery Beacon with my parents and 2 children aged 9 and 6. What a fantastic place! Really its all been said already but Derek and Beccy are fantastic hosts from the moment you arrive with welcoming tea and homemade cake, delicious breakfasts, and endless help and advice about where to go and what to do, including pubs and restaurants to visit in the evenings. They work so hard to make sure you have a great time, its tiring just watching them and they are absolutely brilliant with kids, even annoying ones like mine! The hotel itself is spotless and rooms are really comfortable with fantastic views. The garden is lovely place to relax and meet their 4 dogs (who very nearly became 3 as my boys wanted to smuggle one out to take home). There is much to do in the local area and I have vowed to return and walk on the moor and try and capture a glimpse of the majestic stags that Derek managed to photograph so beautifully while we were there. All in all, Derek and Beccy made us feel like old friends rather than paying guests, a rare skill I'd say, and I can only echo the sentiments of another guest - I want to wholeheartedly recommend the Dunkery Beacon, but only so long as it doesn't become so popular that I can't book a room next time I want to visit!! Go and treat yourself, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruizsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 340 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2009

A group of us went to somerset and used Dunkery Beacon Hotel as our base. What a marvellous place! Derek & Beccy are very friendly and hospitable and Derek's advice on where to go/ what to do proved invaluable. The accommodation itself is very comfortable and clean, and every room has a spectacular view. The garden is a pleasure too for those that don't feel like exploring the area. The breakfasts are fab, and an added bonus for us was that we were able to have exclusive use of the lounge for our cheese & wine party...much appreciated. Highly recommended for groups as well as couples and families - we're already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flothree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

This is our fourth visit and we are already planning our fifth. Derek and Beccy are wonderfully welcoming and the views from the hotel are breathtaking. The rooms are all individually styled and each has a diffrent view of the surrounding countryside. Beccy's breakfasts are wonderful, particularly her newly introduced "special" and her homemade cakes certainly hit the mark after a day's walking. Location wise the Dunkery cannot be faulted, located near to Dunster, Porlock and Exford it is ideally placed for excellent eating venues. The tea room at Selworthy is not to be missed.
We will definitely be back in October

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandHGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Absolutely stunning views from this location,probably the best I've ever stayed in.Warm, friendly welcome from the hosts, who provided an early breakfast for my wife and myself---thank you.Pity it was on business and only for one night....would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We went mountain biking from the door of the B&B and thouroughly enjoyed our stay. The hosts were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was top notch. The surrounding area is gorgeous. We cycled to Dunster, which is also easily walkable (about 1 hr walk).

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherriekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We stayed at the Dunkery Beacon for 2 nights and our group took over the whole place. It was absolutely perfect for our requirements. As most of us had children, the sitting rooms attached to some bedrooms gave us space to have camp beds, and Becky and Derek served us truly scrumptious food in the evening at a very reasonable rate. Tea and cake on arrival was lovely and the overall atmosphere, cleanliness, quality, and friendliness made it a place we are sure to return to. I've already recommended it to many friends!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wobblefattage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

Just come back from two nights break at the Dunkery Beacon with other half. It really is a truly lovely place, the whole hotel is spotlessly clean and with a real country house feel. We were in room 10 with a view to die for! Two seats and a small table are in the bay window recess of the room and I really felt I could have sat there forever just looking at the amazing view, you just feel instantly relaxed and at home. This feeling could also be put down to Derek and Beccy the lovely hosts who made you feel right at home, by the time we left we felt we were leaving two old friends and promised to return which we most definitely will. Beccy even rang and booked our meals in the evening in the nearby Stag Hotel (really good food and service). The full english breakfasts were very tasty and even the coffee was good. I really can,t recommend this hotel enough! If you intend to visit Exmoor do stay here you will not be disappointed So thanks Derek and Beccy for a lovely stay, oh and yes thanks to the four gorgeous friendly spaniels who live in the grounds, who were there to welcome us and say goodbye to us when we left. My husband and I have stayed in many B & B's all over the UK and can honestly say this is one of the best!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neathfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wootton Courtenay
3.4 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
154 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
190 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
663 reviews
6.1 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
10.5 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkery Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkery Beacon Hotel

Address: Near Dunster | Somerset, Wootton Courtenay, Exmoor National Park TA24 8RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Wootton Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wootton Courtenay
Price Range: $113 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkery Beacon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful former Edwardian hunting lodge offering luxury accommodation, gourmet dining (Wed - Sat) and safe, spacious off road parking.Ideally situated for scenic country drives across Exmoor and along the coast.Seven individually decorated en-suite rooms, plus one with private bathroom, all with breathtaking views. Group bookings welcome. Children 10 years of age and over welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dunkery Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkery Beacon Exmoor
Hotel Dunkery Beacon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing