We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best small hotel in Britain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Perfect location and a very warm and friendly welcome by John & Jane Bradley, the owners. Food was wonderfully prepared and presented. Service was very personal and excellent. The views from the bedroom and outside the hotel stunning. Lovely gardens to sit in and have that pre dinner drink.

Room Tip: All have wonderful views
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

It's extremely kind of you to give us such positive feedback about your experience staying and dining with us. We're so glad that the weather was beautiful during your break and that guests like yourselves were able to take full advantage of our al fresco seating area to sit with a drink and soak up the wonderful view.

Best wishes,

Jane & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Dunkery Beacon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 337 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

We booked the Dunkery Beacon from the comments made by other Tripadvisor comments we were not disappointed. John and Jane are the perfect combination, a great chef, combined with a lady of great taste. You feel like a guest in a 5 star hotel, luxury surroundings with views of Exmoor that are perfect. I believe this establishment will continue to improve as Jane continues to stamp her personality on the hotel.
We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank strawberrypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thought so highly of our country house and surroundings. Thank you also for the kind comments about John and I - we work hard together, with a very hands-on approach covering all aspects of the business and it's good to hear that you think our individual skills put together make a great combination.

We look forward to seeing you for a return visit.

Best regards,

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

If you want to stay in a hotel on Exmoor you must stay here. Perfect location, very friendly staff, comfortable rooms and great food. As for the views - can't get better:)
With a shop and post office in the village, this is the ideal spot. Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

What a lovely review. Thank you very much and we're delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay here - the atmosphere, the food and taking a trip down memory lane to reminisce about "The Dunk" and see how our TLC has brought it back to former glory!

Kind regards,

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had a most enjoyable 2 night DBB stay at the Dunkery Beacon hotel. The owners John and Jane were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, spacious and clean and, best of all, has an outstanding south facing bay window view over Exmoor. The restaurant is very good and we thought the dinner menu was well selected and excellent value. The hotel has an ideal location for walking on Exmoor - there are many good walking routes from the door without needing to take the car.

Room Tip: Room 10 has bay window with outstanding views over Exmoor
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Euroviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your 2 night stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We do hope to see you again for a return visit.

Best regards,

Jane & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Only stayed one night but we were delighted with all aspects of the hotel; the warm welcome from John and Jane, the little touches (cream tea on arrival and home made shortbread in the room), the cleanliness, quality of the room and furniture, wonderful breakfast and the outstanding location. As it was a Sun night the restaurant was closed so we went to Dunster for dinner.

All too short so we plan to return for a longer break at the earliest opportunity.

Room Tip: Check restaurant opening.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulo485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

You're quite right, one night is never enough to really appreciate the beauty of Exmoor, it must be like having a starter, but then not having the main course! Being here for the starter is always the trick of course, so we do look forward to seeing you again and thank you for taking time to post a review.
Dinner is served Wednesday to Saturday and Sunday Brunch 9.30am - 1.30pm

Best wishes

John & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had a excellent weekend at Dunkery Beacon Hotel. The owners go the extra mile to make you welcome. The acomadation is stylish and fresh. The food .......well John certainly knows how to please. We will return and thoroughly recommended a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a rom with a view across to the beacon.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear John,

Thank you for your review. Jane and I really enjoyed having you stay and are glad you found it relaxing and had time to explore the area.
There is so much to do on Exmoor, its hard to know where to start, whether you're feeling adventurous and energetic or just looking to take things at a more sedate pace, there is something for everyone and of course National Trust Members are in seventh heaven being surrounded with NT property from Dunster Castle to Selworthy Church and beyond.
We look forward to seeing you again.

John & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband & I have just come back from this amazing hotel. From the moment we arrived Jane made us so welcome and we were soon sitting down to a cream tea. Our room was spotlessly clean with an extremely comfy bed and superb bathroom. We decided to eat in and the food was delicious and all freshly prepared by John - we even saw him cutting some fennel from the garden for that nights dinner!
It was peaceful and comfortable and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and one night a group of visitors and Jane & John stood outside and star gazed happily.
No-one could be disappointed if they stayed at this beautiful hotel so caringly run. Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: No 12 was a std double & perfect
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. It was a great night for stargazing and it is always good to see the look on our guests faces when they see how clear (and dark) the skies are here. The photographs you took that night look amazing and I will have a go myself one night.
Well, we hope to see you again, maybe when the Persied meteor shower is overhead in August as this is a great spectacle to see.

Best wishes

John & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wootton Courtenay
3.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
726 reviews
19.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
609 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
967 reviews
6.1 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
13.8 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkery Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkery Beacon Hotel

Address: Dunkery Beacon Hotel Near Dunster | Somerset, Wootton Courtenay, Exmoor National Park TA24 8RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Wootton Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wootton Courtenay
Price Range: $102 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkery Beacon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful former Edwardian hunting lodge offering luxury accommodation, gourmet dining (Wed - Sat) and safe, spacious off road parking.Ideally situated for scenic country drives across Exmoor and along the coast.Seven individually decorated en-suite rooms, plus one with private bathroom, all with breathtaking views. Group bookings welcome. Children 10 years of age and over welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dunkery Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkery Beacon Exmoor
Hotel Dunkery Beacon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing