We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value walking distance to bromo”
Review of Cafe Lava Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bromo Tengger Semeru National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cafe Lava Hostel
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and negotiated a discount based on a two night stay. We had a standard room for 290 thousand per night, it had a private broom, TV , plenty of blankets and free drinking water. I wouldn't use the in room hot water for fear of carbon monoxide poisining as the boiler looked like it would have been condemned 30 years ago in the UK and the room was poorly ventilated. It was good value in comparison to the other places I checked out in cemoro lawang before deciding on this one. The staff were very nice and helpful and advised us on things not related to tours. In fact we didnt do any tours and instead did our own walks around the crater and surrounding villages. The villages are so beautiful and tengarru (bad spelling) people open and friendly and good humoured with our walks. Rooms were quite damp but we felt right at home with this as we are from the UK. Breakfast was fine and did the job cooked eggs on request. We ate in the evening too which was also fine and we stuck to the Indonesian fare to be on the safe side. It was priced for tourists to be expected on the top of a mountain.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherineg186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 360 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is located just a few miles away from Lava view lodge where you can see Mount Bromo and Mount Batok at sunset.
Room cleanliness is still acceptable.
Old water heater in bathroom looks dangerous as it uses gas and fire to heat up the water.

Room Tip: Room cleanliness is ok Old water heater in bathroom looks dangerous as it uses gas and fire to heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyLiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stay at café lava for 1 night before heading to Bromo at dawn,
we rent a superior triple room and it is enough to fit 4 person :-)
the room is nice,clean and complete with hot shower (very important)

we also have our dinner at their café, food was good but service a little bit slow, but no worries, it have a WiFi to killed your boredom while waiting for your food.

they serve simple breakfast, but it is really good.
their staff is friendly too and can speak good English.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dzuliza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I showed up without a reservation hoping to get an economy (budget room). Luckily they had one avaliable. The room was 160,000Rp for the first night and 190,000Rp for the second night. The second night was higher because of some local holiday that we were told is a "red calendar day". Since we stayed two nights they included the breakfast buffet on the first morning after we returned from the view point, and a simple egg toast fruit breakfast the morning we left.

We found cafe lava very clean, the rooms and the restaurant were kept in good shape. All the economy rooms are quite small but cozy. The nights here get a bit cold and we had read there were no blankets provided but our room had two blankets for the double bed.

The staff were friendly and spoke good english. There were two shared bathrooms for the economy rooms with hot water showers. Both hot water showers were working fine. There is a
great view down the valley from outside the economy rooms.

The Lonely Planet guide book mentioned the food was horrible but both of us found it to be quite good. The Gado Gado is great and the banana pancake with chocolate is fantastic. The food may not be resort quality but considering where we were, it was great.

The location of this place could not get any better. The hostel is located 50m from the park entrance and a 2 hour hike to the highest view point.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maclean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Like many others, we picked this hotel/hostel to do the sunrise tour of Bromo. The location is great for that, being very near to the edge of the (inner) caldera and therefore meters from the park entrance.

The staff are polite and friendly, but alas pretty clueless when it comes to running a hotel (God bless them). Service is very slow. When we stayed the hotel was pretty full: all foreigners visiting Bromo and all wanting a nice beer to go along with their dinner. Alas, despite a selection of beers on the menu, they had no stock of beer whatsoever! AND despite there being a small supermarket next door, well stocked with beer, they made no attempt to actually re-stock. So I just bought beer myself next door (which kindly they allowed me to drink in the restaurant with dinner). They did however organise our transport for the Bromo tour, which arrived on time and ran smoothly.

The food at Cafe Lava is also very basic, and indeed like the beer, some items were out of stock. One evening we had dinner at Lava View Lodge which is just around the corner. The menu us the same (same owner) but the food was much better, and both food and beer were in stock! There is also a superb view of Bromo from this hotel. I know it is slightly more expensive than Cafe Lava, but I would recommend paying the extra and staying here (but we did not see the accommodation).

Compared to hotels elsewhere in East Java, Cafe Lava is expensive for what you get. At the end of the day, you are paying for the location alone and little else. On our second night at Bromo, we moved to Java Banana, which is certainly a much better hotel, is also very overpriced for what it is, and was somewhat of a surreal experience (read my review if you want to know more).

Overall, I would recommend staying at Lava View Lodge rather than Cafe Lava, based on the food and the view alone. It is also bang on the (inner) caldera edge. Or if you want a nice room, then splash out on Java Banana (its only 10-15 mins further away by car), but again dont expect the kind of service you would normally get for the price you pay there....

For info, the location of Cafe Lava (and indeed some for Lava View Lodge) that pop up on google earth/maps and other mapping softwre are very wrong. Cafe Lave Hostel is at S 7⁰ 55' 19.56" E 112⁰ 57' 53.48. Lava View Lodge is about 400m away at S 7⁰ 55' 34.74" E 112V 58' 01.51".

Room Tip: If you insist on a nice room, stay at Java Banana!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank An0nym0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Accepts credit cards (with small surcharge). Has hot water (which is non-negotiable in chilly Cemoro Lawang). Good breakfast included, good cheap restaurant for lunch and dinner. Will ask for 125,000 rupiah for the sunrise jeep to Bromo, but will accept 100,000. Comfortable, clean standard rooms for 300,000/night with porches, private bathroom, and no view of the crater. (Asks 250,000 for transport to Probolinggo and on to Denpasar on an A/C bus--this is overpriced.) Completely acceptable...

Room Tip: Economy rooms are very small w/ shared bath. Get a standard if you will be staying more than one day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBrandt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We paid a little extra when we booked our tour to bromo to stay in this place, inspired by the terrible reviews of the other option. However, I don't think it was worth the money. The good thing was the hot shower! Quite good if you're soaked and cold after climbing bromo. Other than that the place is not so good: the interior of the rooms is weirdly dark. Even if you turn on the light you can hardly see anything. The bed was almost falling apart, and the room was real noisy so you can overhear your neighbors. Moreover, the room was small and not too clean. As for the restaurant, the food was so so and because of the low temperatures you have to eat inside where people are smoking. Yuk.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromo Tengger Semeru National Park
0.1 mi away
Bromo Permai I
Bromo Permai I
#8 of 12 in Probolinggo
277 reviews
2.2 mi away
SM Bromo Hotel
SM Bromo Hotel
#6 of 12 in Probolinggo
60 reviews
20.4 mi away
Clover Homestay
Clover Homestay
#1 of 12 in Probolinggo
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Bromo Park Hotel Probolinggo
Bromo Park Hotel Probolinggo
#2 of 12 in Probolinggo
46 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hary's Homestay
Hary's Homestay
#7 of 12 in Probolinggo
16 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jiwa Jawa Bromo
Jiwa Jawa Bromo
#1 of 2 in Sukapura
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Lava Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Lava Hostel

Address: Cemoro Lawang, Bromo Tengger Semeru National Park 67254, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Bromo Tengger Semeru National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Bromo Tengger Semeru National Park
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Cafe Lava Hotel Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing