We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not 4 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lovere Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lovere
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good but not 4 Star”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here as part of a group for a week at the end of September. Although we had a great holiday, I would not rate this as a 4 star hotel. The location is poor, at the very end of Levere (although everything is within easy walking distance). The hotel is on what can only be described as a very busy road. There is a speed limit through the town but this does not appear to he adhered to by anyone. The road is quieter at night but still fairly noisy. We had booked a standard room and knew in advance that we had no lake view, however our room looked out onto a high wall !! The room was large, clean and the the bed was reasonably comfortable. There were extra blankets available and plenty of storage and hangers. The bathroom was also large and clean with nice white fluffy towels and a range of toiletries which were replenished daily.

Our room was above the gym and classes run until about 10:30pm. We were kept awake on a number of nights by a gentleman who talked rather loudly and incessantly until 1-2 am making it difficult to sleep with the window open.

Our group were staying on a half board basis and had a different menu to other diners in the restaurant. While I appreciate that our menu was part of our package, I expect the same level of service to be offered to all customers. The head waiter's attitude towards both his staff and the "package" diners left a lot to be desired with his priority appearing to be the "paying" diners. The other staff in the restaurant were extremely helpful and hard working, but the head waiter was arrogant and regularly shouted at the staff for what appeared to be very little and in front of the guests - this was something I really didn't like.

My main gripe is wine. I prefer rose and the first night I asked for it I was given it (at an extra charge) but on the same night another of our group was told there was none. The next night I asked the head waiter said there was none left, but some of the a la carte diners were drinking it.

Lovere is small and not yet geared to the tourist, but there were several good street cafe bars and restaurants that were not over priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogno, Direttore at Hotel Lovere Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
First of all we would like to take this opportunity for thanking you for your feedback about your stay in our hotel in September 2012 with the group organized by Preferred Travel, your travel agent.
We are very pleased that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us and at the same time are sorry about the fact that your travel agent did not inform you fully about the hotel location and the proper description of the Standard room that is a room with the rear view and no balcony (the view can be of a different building in front of the room window or of a tree or of a staff parking situated at the back of the hotel) the travel agent did come to see the hotel last year and judged the standard rooms feasible with their budget and expectations but maybe have though not clearly specified in their brochure the different descriptions such as the hotel location, the description of the hotel bedrooms and restaurant service they have booked for you.
The dinner for your group package booking was again agreed and confirmed by the travel agent needs in terms of their budget and we have been asked to provide a three course dinner with a choice between 3 first courses, three second courses, 2 desserts, vegetable buffet and mineral water that was complimentary, the other drinks were extra. With regard to our restaurant service to all of our clients, included your group, we have on offer three different solutions that are; large half board menu (with four courses and drinks included) , the group half board that is usually taken by travel agents for their groups (three courses with no drinks) and a la carte menu where the hotel guests can choose directly from the a la carte menu and pay the bill based on the actual food that has been ordered. This is the reason why the clients in the restaurant were having different type of food you commented on in your review it was never our aim to make differences between group or individual or private clientele and we are sorry to hear you understood it that way. In fact upon your arrival in hotel during a very brief meeting we did offer to provide the starter, ¼ of house wine and a coffee with a supplement of € 6,50 pp per meal but not all the members of your group did take our offer as in your case who preferred not to spend extra money for a starter and a drink on forfeit basis. We are very sorry to hear that the restaurant manager did not seem to concentrate on your group as much as you wanted him this is possibly due to the fact that during your stay we had two weddings and two different parties for some other mini groups we had in our hotel so as I am sure you can remember the restaurant on most evenings was fully booked possibly that might have been a reason that he could not spend as much time as he wanted within your group area, if this is the case please accept our sincere apologies since we will try and do better for the future
I would like to take this opportunity of thanking you once again for your suggestions and your time in writing this review about your stay here with us.
Kind Regards
Orietta Casali
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    459
    82
    16
    11
See reviews for
95
874
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed here for a business trip about a month ago. It was really nice. Lake was just accross the street and the weekend market s just two minutes with lots of fresh fruits. The staff were really nice and friendly. The rooms with turkish baths are modren. The rooms with I balcony were more classic but both are really spacious. The spa has a pool but its not big, bettre for relaxing than swimming. I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saharahmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogno, Direttore at Hotel Lovere Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Madam,
Thank you ever so much for your contribution in writing your review about your stay at our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were up to your expectations.
best Wishes
kind Regards
Orietta Casali
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North east
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 6th July. Overall we had a great stay and I would go again. We arrived on a very early flight from the UK and although check in wasn’t until 1pm we were checked in and unpacked before 11.30am. We booked a standard room but requested a lake view (superior rooms) and were delighted on checking in to have been offered a complimentary upgrade to one. The room 112 was very large with a balcony. It had a ¾ view of the lake (111 and 110 would have a very limited view so request from 114 upward to get the full view) the room was very clean, lovely sheets and towels and complementary robe and slippers – Not quite! They are for use in the spa and you will be charged if you use them for anything else. The mini bar contains soft drinks and water which is replenished daily – we also had a complementary bottle of Prosecco which was a lovely touch. Plenty of tea and coffee etc. Air-con works – but only just and cannot be altered?
Pinocchio’s restaurant served breakfast – a typical continental style with a half-hearted attempt at a cooked offering. Boiled eggs, Scrambled eggs (which turned a strange shade of light green) Frankfurters cut into small pieces and apparently bacon – which served the first 4 guests and then was gone!! The whole issue was that the food was presented at 7am and not replenished – so if you had a late start and arrived at 9 or 9.30… yuck! My advice is don’t!! Stick to the continental which was more than adequate.
Other reviews have mentioned the staff – all good from us to. They were very helpful and a special mention to Stephania on the front deck who was very customer focused. She help us book an evening Lake Cruise which I would also totally recommend.
Finally the SPA. We didn’t try it as we didn’t have that long and the weather was so good outside. In other hotels we have stayed a complimentary session in the pool area is always offered – it’s a great way to get guests using the facilities and usually results in booking treatments. I’d recommend the management consider this.
All in all a lovely little hotel for a short break.

Room Tip: 114 to 119 have the best lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lionwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogno, Direttore at Hotel Lovere Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,
First of I would like to thank you on behalf of our staff and management for your time in writing this detailed review which will definitely help us to improve the services you mentioned and the readers to make a better evaluation of our hotel – so thanks once again.
We are very happy to see you have enjoyed your stay with us even if it was for a very short time and let me tell you that Stefy was very happy to have been mentioned in your review in such a wonderful way.
With regard to the comments on how to improve our services I would like to take this opportunity to give some information to yourselves but also to anyone who is reading us at the present moment, so will try to cover all the points as follows.
Bathrobes & slippers are given on default basis to all clients who have booked beauty treatments or the Relax Path of 2 hrs or a wellness package available to all our customers on our web site but are also available to other clients, who are not interested in the spa but would like to have them with no extra charge so I believe seeing your comments that maybe there was some kind of misunderstanding along the line, if this was the case please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.
With regard to the air conditioning it is possible to adjust it by five degrees directly from the bedroom thermostat positioned next to the bedroom entrance (to the left) it is a small black appliance attached to the wall with arrows pointed up showing how to increase and arrows pointing down showing how to decrease the temperature, reading your review I can only think that either you have not been shown by our staff how the thermostat works or maybe have just requested the reception to adjust the temperature to your liking which is of course possible having the direct link to all thermostats of all bedrooms we have within our hotel possibly leading you to believe that the only way to change it was to deal directly with reception.
I am very sorry to hear you did not like our cooked breakfast, I really do appreciate your suggestions because as I usually say that is the only way to improve so we welcome the constructive comments as yours. With regard to the cooked breakfast, possibly due to your short stay you may not have noticed that the cooked breakfast menu does change on daily basis changing bacon with frankfurters or with a homemade selection of sausages the only food that is always available as part of a cooked b’fast are the boiled eggs, scrambled eggs which have a greenish color since we only use homemade eggs from our farm and the virgin olive oil from our olive groves (much greener in color then the olive oil you buy in normal shops due to the procedure we use to get the oil out of the olives – please forgive my English since the Italian word is “olive spremute a freddo” which I am not able to translate in English). We will try and input more food if this was the thing you were referring to by saying that the cooked breakfast was more of an attempt rather then what you would have preferred finding at breakfast time we did provide the selection mentioned above based on the comments received by other English and German clients who stayed with us and who did make useful suggestions on what to put on the cooked breakfast buffet we would be very grateful if all the clients would tell us what they think we should add or take away not only for breakfast as service but considering the whole hotel and the services we provide
We are terribly sorry that the buffet was not replenished whilst you were in the restaurant I have already spoken to our restaurant manager who did inform me that the new member of staff in fact did not replenish constantly the buffet as he should have so please do accept our apologies we will make sure it does not happen again in the future.
With regard to the free entry to the spa we do appreciate your suggestion on offering a free entrance to the spa which we do in certain packages we have on offer on our web site but not in all of them especially not on the international booking sites where it is possible only to book an overnight stay but not the spa. The reason being is that our spa is only 300sqm and not very big therefore the actual entrance gets booked well in advance since the maximum number of pax that are allowed to enter at the same time are 14 pax in order for us to be able to guarantee a relaxing atmosphere avoiding to have an overcrowded spa. Unfortunately you have arrived on Saturday when we were fully booked within our spa with clients who have booked the wellness packages or offers therefore have had their entrance guaranteed leaving no vacancies until Monday morning. If only we would have a larger spa we would be more than happy to let all of our clients in whenever they wish but unfortunately we don’t therefore we are forced to run it in a best possible way considering the space available, the client needs and most of all to guarantee a proper relaxing space and atmosphere.
With regard to the room numbers you were suggesting on your review I presume you got it slightly wrong since the superior rooms are from room number 101 to room number 113 and from 301, 302, 303, 304 and 311. The rooms 114, 119 are single Standard rooms with the rear view and no balcony – I think it is very important to inform the readers in order not to get disappointed upon their arrival.
We do hope to have answered to all of your points and are at your full disposal for any other information or suggestions you may want to make.
I would like to take this opportunity of thanking you again for your precious contribution in writing about us and more than anything else thank you for all the suggestions made on how to improve our standards which we will try and follow as much as possible.
Kind Regards
Orietta Casali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A pleasant Hotel on the north west shore of beautiful Lake Isola.Staff very pollite and helpful.Room comfortable.Breakfast satisfactory but could do better.Hotel appearance needs a refurbishing.Dilapedated building across the road does not help the ambience

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ettinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Hotel Lovere Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you ever so much for this review we are very pleased you have enjoyed the stay at our hotel and liked the welcome we reserved for you upon your arrival in hotel.
With regard to the comment about need of the refurbishing on our hotel complex I believe, considering that the hotel has been built only in 2006 you actually refer to the dilapidated building, unfortunately we are not the owners of that property and cannot do any refurbishing that it does need also because the local authorities do not allow any kind of building work unless you are a proprietor of a building.
As you can imagine we would be more then grateful to the local authorities if they would finally decide to knock it down or just do some building work in order to preserve the building in question but not being the actual owners we cannot do it.
With the hope to have answered your doubts we would like to take this opportunity of thanking you again for your contribution wishing you all the very best.
Kind Regards
Orietta Casali
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very clean spacious room with balcony however there is a lack of facilities with 30deg C plus there is a terrace but with no sun loungers. There is a pool but it is indoor and costs €10 to use.
The staff are very helpful and are very welcoming on arrival. Mountain bikes are also available free of charge but need some servicing ( not suited to the taller cyclist).
Very hard to explore the region unless you have your own mode of transport. Expected some type of organized tours to do same but none available.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngirishcouple2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Hotel Lovere Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Sir & Madam,
First of all I would like to take this opportunity for thanking you in writing this review which will definitely help other clients in evaluating our hotel for their holidays.
We are very sorry that the weather was as hot as it is even now but unfortunately in the last couple of years, as well as in other parts of the world the climate and weather is unpredictable.
With regard to your comments for which I would like to thank you, I would like to give you a few more information that I do hope you will find helpful.
First of all thank you for your precious suggestion about the sun lounges which we are going to buy in the next few days and those will be placed on the restaurant terrace and will be available to all of our clients free of charge – being this also the only possible space where to place them.
With regard to the indoor pool that you mention in your review having a spa – wellness centre and the extra charge you mention we do not have only the indoor pool but there are also the following facilities that maybe you did not see but are definitely while worth mentioning for all the people who are reading us at present, that are; Finish sauna, Turkish bath, emotional showers, ice waterfall, Kneipp therapy, relax area with chromo therapy, hydro jet, geyser and whirlpool, herbal teas, fruit and mineral water, bathrobe, towel and slippers. As you can see being a spa it does not offer only the indoor pool for the € 10,00 pp per Relax Path of 2 hrs but also the aforementioned facilities as well.
As I am sure you have noticed we have not got any space around our building to be able to build an outdoor pool even though we would be more than happy to have it but unfortunately there isn’t any space to do so, so please accept our apologies if this fact did not permit you to fully enjoy your stay at our hotel.
Unfortunately, as you mention in your review, we do not have organized excursions apart for the week end, that is Sunday where we have the guided walk about of Lovere town because all the clients we have from Friday to Sunday are leisure type of clientele whilst during the week we mainly cater for business clients who are not interested in organized trips as I am sure you can imagine and therefore not having enough number of clients we cannot guarantee them on daily basis.
Upon request it is possible though, as mentioned on our information book, to organize private excursions at a higher price with a private guide that can provide the service of a transport and guide but seeing the extra costs very few clients choose this kind of offer but prefer to hire a car and do it under their own scheme with our suggestions and information.
With the hope that the information provided was of some help we would like to take this opportunity of thanking you for you contribution and hope to see you again here in Lovere.
kind regards
Orietta Casali
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

A very good hotel, in my opinion not currently very familiar with English visitors and Groups of 50-80 year old English visitors and their needs, BUT very willing to learn and change ( according to the manager)

Room Tip: Room set back in the annex (300...) well away from the entrance and the road which runs along the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Hotel Lovere Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Sir,
I would like to take this opportunity of thanking you for your contribution in writing about us on the Trip Advisor web site.
It was a great pleasure to have you here with us and I have indeed appreciated the suggestions you made whilst here and some of them have already been put in practice with the hope to give even a better quality stay for the elderly group of clients like your group.
So thanks again also on behalf of all of our staff.
Kind regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockanje, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Hotel Lovere as part of our Mille Miglia tour from Pharos Reizen (ANWB) Netherlands. As this tour contains 6 overnight stays in 4star hotels in various parts of Italy, comparisson of quality is possible it is only fair to say that Hotel Lovere was one of the better hotels in our trip.

The warm and personal welcome is exceptional with a hotel of this size and we have experienced a very flexible and helpfull staff in helping us out with a change of room to a higher standard and with a broken navigation system, essential for our Mille Miglia tour.

The hotel is located alongside the lake Iseo, next to the center of the small village of Lovere.
Rooms are spacy, airconditioned and well equiped with coffee/thee facilities and minibar. Cleanliness and bathroom facilities are according expectations with a 4 star hotel.

We had dinner twice in the hotel's restaurant, partly due to the good quality of food, partly because of the very pleasant service. The somewhat busy road between the lake and the hotel may be a disadvantage for some.

As an experienced business traveller I can fairly judge and I would certainly recommend this hotel to my dearest friends, and will return to this hotel when visiting the region again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogno, Direttore at Hotel Lovere Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you ever so much for this very special review we are very grateful for your comments and are very happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us further more with the very nice comments made about the friendliness of our staff. We are proud and motivated to find out that we have managed to meet you expectations in terms of facilities and services provided.
We would like to thank you once again and really do hope to see you again and wish you all the very best.
Kind Regards
Orietta Casali
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovere
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Castello
Hotel Spa Castello
#2 of 6 in Lovere
67 reviews
11.6 mi away
Iseo Lago Hotel
Iseo Lago Hotel
#2 of 13 in Iseo
439 reviews
11.0 mi away
Relais I Due Roccoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Pieve di Pisogne
10.8 mi away
Cocca Hotel Royal Thai Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#3 of 6 in Lovere
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lovere Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lovere Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Lovere Resort & Spa
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 97, 24065 Lovere, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Lovere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lovere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lovere Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the north shore of the Lake Iseo is situated the beautiful town of Lovere. Surrounded by the spectacular mountains and gently caressed by the blue waters of the Lake just 50 kms from Bergamo and Brescia , Lovere has become a popular tourist centre with mild climate all year around. Here the sun rises when you wake up and sets when you decide to go to sleep; the excellent hotel offers and the great variety of facilities & things to do will make your holiday a memorable one.How to reach us... By CARFrom VeniceGo through A4 highway Milan direction, take the exit Brescia Centro and then take Statale 11 until the interchange "Rodengo - Pisogne". From MilanGo through A4 highway exit Seriate. Follow the indication Lovere and drive on Statale 42. How to reach us...By TRAINFrom Venice Take the train for Brescia station. Here take the Brescia-Iseo-Edolo line and get off in Pisogne, 6 km far from the hotel.From MilanTake the train for Bergamo station. At railway station, 50 meter far, take line C Bergamo - Lovere - Boario and get down at the bus stop in XII Martiri place, go straight on for about 600 meter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Lovere Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing