We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating and friendly staff, nice stay”
Review of Hotel David

Hotel David
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sesto Calende
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very accommodating and friendly staff, nice stay”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a work trip and Hotel David was booked when the hotel we normally used was fully booked. I was very apprehensive after reading other reviews, but was pleasantly surprised with what I found. The staff did everything within their powers to ensure we had a good stay; very attentive and friendly. The lobby was nice and modern, the breakfast buffet area was nice enough, and the breakfast was good. The rooms were modern and clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom however was quite dated, and really could do with some investment. The shower over the bath did not have a wall attachment for the shower rose, so you needed to use the hand-held shower to wet yourself down, put down the hand-held shower, wash yourself, then pick it up to rinse off. Strange, and difficult to keep the water pointed in a safe direction. Must make life tougher for the cleaners with wart going everywhere. Will I return? Possibly, but with many other choices in the local area, chances are next time I'll try somewhere different.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jscindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
5
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Good hotel to stay 3 or 4 days during passing Verviatte. It's simple, but very cozy. Good breakfast, the family that commands the hotel are very attentive. It has a video game for the guests on the lobby!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parnaiocas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is very convenient for business travelers or if you are visiting the region. It is in a cute town on the Ticino just before the magical Lago Maggiore. You can easily take the train into Milano or to the lake.

People are pleasant at the hotel. The lobby area is modern, clean and welcoming. Very well done. The rooms are a little dated and could certainly use a freshening up. The rooms are not very large. We were in a courtyard room and it was quite dark. I do not mind older bathroom or bedroom fixtures but stains on the walls there is no excuse. Paint is not expensive. There might be better rooms in the hotel but we did not see them.

Breakfast was interesting with daily challenges of nothing ever going quite right, as you would expect. The hotel was not busy so I did not understand the lack of service. One night when we returned to the hotel at 11h00 we were locked out. The desk person came from somewhere outside about 10 minutes later. We were beginning to worry. They could have left a note on the door.

One day we were not given bath towels and the front desk told us to go into the supply closet and take them. The keys were sometimes left on the desk when the desk person was not there. Anyone could have walked in and go into any of the rooms.

If you do not expect too much then this hotel and are ok with it quirks it will suit you fine. There is great potential here but they are not exploiting it. It is a pleasant property but nothing special. The town though does have its magic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph11Paris_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expat in Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

So does the people!!!
Mixed emotions.... First people we met at the reception friendly and very attentive. First room was a disaster: foul smell, very tired carpet and shabby everything. We asked to be changed and bingo! A complete difference experience: brand new roomier and much better equipped (except for the shower that had its own opinion on where the water should be going).
On the contrary the second person at the reception was quite rude. His comments about using a website for booking instead of doing it directly with the hotel were totally inappropriate. And we certainly got the impresion that this was the reason why we were given the worse room. Overall not a bad stay (after getting the right room!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misskeika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband and I were on a cycling holiday and this is the only hotel on the route that I can honestly say was terrible. There were ants in the bathroom and it did not feel like a hotel, but an old dormitory. The breakfast was not very good and I did not find the staff friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank suedto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sesto Calende hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesto Calende
0.8 mi away
Hotel Del Parco
Hotel Del Parco
#2 of 3 in Sesto Calende
49 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blue Relais
Blue Relais
#1 of 3 in Castelletto sopra Ticino
262 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#1 of 7 in Arona
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Castello Dal Pozzo
Castello Dal Pozzo
#1 of 2 in Oleggio Castello
462 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Le Palme
Hotel Le Palme
#1 of 1 in Dormelletto
192 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Conca Azzurra
Hotel Conca Azzurra
#2 of 2 in Ranco
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Via Roma 56, 21018 Sesto Calende, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Maggiore > Sesto Calende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sesto Calende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing