We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for outdoor pizza with a lakeside view”
Review of La Gabella

La Gabella
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Maccagno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great for outdoor pizza with a lakeside view”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a bustling, open-air pizza restaurant with the added attraction of an engaging vista of the Italian Alps that elevate abruptly out of Lake Maggiore. We could have dined on the terrace and admired their arches of jasmine, but smoking is permitted there because it’s “outside”; we therefore opted for the tobacco-free, covered section. The pizzas were good, although the calzonis were much more generously equipped. The service was friendly and efficient. As it’s so popular, reservations are advisable. Closed Mondays and Tuesdays. Best beer: Franziskaner Weissbier.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhantomTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    78
    22
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Pizzas”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great food and location. A good idea to book a table especially at weekend as it get's very busy. Also do takeaway pizzas if you want a lazy night in.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SimonB1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lake view, good food, bad service”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Because our holiday apartment is only 10min. drive time away from La Gabella, we have been in here three times. The food is delicious and with fare price. The location is perfect, just by Lago Maggiore.

But due to the poor service, I can only give three star to La Gabella.

Once a waitress took away a plate which we didn't finish without asking!

Once we were four persons, two got pasta and nearly finished, the other two were still wating for pizza for a half hour!

Yesterday, we ordered one salat, 3 pizza and 1 meat. Guess what? The pizza came very fast! Then the meat finally came when others already finished pizza, then the salat came!

Is it Italian style?!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cndechnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food and view”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We went last year compelled by the lake front view. The food matched the view. We went back twice on our visit and will go back when we visit again

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank llbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“picturesque”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Situated right on the lake with wonderful views, good food - pizza, pasta etc., friendly staff, reasonable prices, house wine cheap and tasty. Dined there 7 or 8 times, never had a bad meal. Takeaway available as well.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballyhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gabella also viewed

 
Maccagno, Lake Maggiore
 
Tronzano Lago Maggiore, Lake Maggiore
 

Been to La Gabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing