We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and good food”

Funivie del Lago Maggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Whitefish, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good service and good food”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I sometimes shy away from restaurants that have you as a captive audience at a tourist destination but the Funivie del Lago Maggiore was a delightful exception. After riding up to the top of Monte Sasso and taking in the incredible view we decided to stop for a bite to eat. The service was hospitable, menus in several languages, the food was good and the prices reasoinable. I would highly recommend this restaurant, the views, the food and the service were all very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    58
    27
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varese, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning views and delicious food”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Lovely sunny lunch overlooking the lakes. Friendly smiley staff. A great place to bring your guests for a special lunch at very reasonable prices. A fun journey up in the bucket lift. My 8 year old boys thought the lasagne, veal and chips were great, we loved the wild boar pasta, mushroom risotto, steak and tomino cheese with grilled vegetables. We thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A rare find and an unforgettable experience”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I've been to this restaurant every year for a decade, and it always delivers.
You can only access it by a bucket ride on a cable car and this has some of the most impressive views you're ever going to get.
Eating on the open terrace in front of the same views will stay with you for life.
The food is typical Italian mountain style, very well done, and is always a treat. When you then remember that all supplies have to come up in the same buckets that you did, it's truly impressive.
Some of our most relaxed and enjoyable meals have been on top of that mountain, and long may it continue. See you next year.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Up the hill in a tin bucket...”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

...to reach this restaurant on top of a mountain. You rub shoulders with hang gliders, the day's food, tourists, and the odd eagle on the way up. It's really up in the clouds, with surprisingly good food, but it's all about the view here. Service was poor, had to chase the guy for the bill.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“You won't eat in many places with a better view than this”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

First off, you have the unique experience of a twenty minute ride in a two-person bucket cable car, which is worth the trip in itself. Then you have the amazing views from the cable car itself and from the top of Sasso del Ferro (on a really clear day as far as Milan, south to the Appenines and west to Monte Rosa and the Alps, with Lago Maggiore beneath you). Given that there is no road access, running a restaurant and hotel up here is a challenge, but they do a pretty good job of it. And pick your courses accordingly - of course there is lots of polenta and stew on the menu, but I go up just for the stinco, which is always great. And I don't think it is expensive either compared to other places that are far more accessible. You can eat more refined fare in other places, but I'll bet you have to travel an extremely long way to get a view and travel experience to match. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveLaveno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funivie del Lago Maggiore also viewed

Laveno-Mombello, Lake Maggiore
Laveno-Mombello, Lake Maggiore
 
Laveno-Mombello, Lake Maggiore
Laveno-Mombello, Lake Maggiore
 
Laveno-Mombello, Lake Maggiore
Laveno-Mombello, Lake Maggiore
 

Been to Funivie del Lago Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing